Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 8 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
#4483514 - 07/20/19 07:05 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
OK, it's ready for testing. The Havoc Engine Gauges are working. Go to the MFD Export Upgrades thread to get it.

MFD Export Upgrade Thread

Attached Files Pic_12.jpg
Last edited by Javelin; 07/20/19 07:23 PM.
#4483515 - 07/20/19 07:13 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 590
BANITA Offline
Member
BANITA  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 590
Finally. Great news. Im only on phone one week,cant test now.

#4483575 - 07/21/19 06:44 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
Just had a quick try of this, and it looks great. Finally a fully working Havoc cockpit, like we had in EEAH. Thanks for your work Javelin.

I think this cockpit does need some love though, so probably one for a future project. I always preferred flying this helo in the game. It's like a flying tank.

There's a couple of things I noticed. The right hand gauges seem to increase quicker than the left hand ones. And only when the left hand engine NG reached max, did I get an engine over torque warning, as if that was the "real" value.

I also got a crash to desktop, but there doesn't seem to be a DEBUG.LOG generated to see what it was. So I'm not sure if it's related.

I'll do some more testing.

Edit: Actually, there was a log being generated, as a debug.txt, but it's not in the usual format as the other DEBUG.LOG files. I've attached it.

This time I got another CTD, when I pressed CTRL Q to quit free flight, I get a CTD when it quits.

Attached Files IMAGE019.jpg
debug_log.txt (31 downloads)
Last edited by messyhead; 07/21/19 07:11 AM.
#4483578 - 07/21/19 07:59 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
Done some more testing. When you do manual engine start, and throttle up, the NG bar picks up, then drops to around 60 (on the gauge) and picks up again. The same happens when throttling down.

I took a video of it.


Last edited by messyhead; 07/21/19 08:00 AM.
#4483579 - 07/21/19 08:21 AM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
I found an old image of the original cockpit. To the right of the engine gauges, there's a couple of other smaller gauges. Does anyone know wht these are for, and would it be possible to get them working?

I wonder if it's the engine NP, as at some point, someone added 2 small needles to the rotor rpm gauge for this, perhaps as it was missing from these gauges.

[Linked Image]

#4483609 - 07/21/19 02:41 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
I don't know what the log file means. It hasn't crashed on my machine at all. I can make you a debug version, or you could compile one on your end since you have the code now.

On the engines, I haven't touched any of the engine operational code at all, all I did was show the numbers on the gauges. I did also noticed that the right side is more reactive than the left. I don't know why. Temperature responds to engine rpm correctly though.

Engine rpm is on the 0 to 200 inner gauges (the top number should be 110, not 200). Someone should fix that, the values are bounded in the code to 120. I don't know what the four small gauges to the right are for. And Rotor rpm is missing. Is that the gauge just to the left of the engine gauges?

I see the glitch in the numbers when it hits 70, then drops down to 60. I'll fix it, that looks like something I did wrong.

#4483617 - 07/21/19 03:42 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
OK, I fixed the 0-60 glitch and Pushed the change up to Master. The download looks the same, I reused cohokum_test16.exe as the name for the cmake executable.

I also made a slight addition to the Hover code. The Heading while in Hover mode was drifting too much after taking out the joystick deadzone, so I added in a dampener to fix it. We don't have a Heading-Lock control like the real helicopters do, but this works just as well. When flying, the tail does it for you, it's only needed when you Hover.

#4483620 - 07/21/19 04:10 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
Originally Posted by Javelin
I don't know what the log file means. It hasn't crashed on my machine at all. I can make you a debug version, or you could compile one on your end since you have the code now.

On the engines, I haven't touched any of the engine operational code at all, all I did was show the numbers on the gauges. I did also noticed that the right side is more reactive than the left. I don't know why. Temperature responds to engine rpm correctly though.

Engine rpm is on the 0 to 200 inner gauges (the top number should be 110, not 200). Someone should fix that, the values are bounded in the code to 120. I don't know what the four small gauges to the right are for. And Rotor rpm is missing. Is that the gauge just to the left of the engine gauges?

I see the glitch in the numbers when it hits 70, then drops down to 60. I'll fix it, that looks like something I did wrong.


Rotor RPM is on the gauge on the left of the cockpit.

#4483627 - 07/21/19 05:46 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: messyhead]  
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Javelin Offline
Member
Javelin  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 268
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA
I added a Debug version of the exe into the download just for you. Boy, it takes a long time to compile the code when you do it that way. I have an abbreviated method, I only delete the obj files in the section I'm working on so it only has to recompile a few files, then link the exe together.

#4483735 - 07/22/19 05:39 PM Re: Mi-28 Working Instrument Needles [Re: Javelin]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
Originally Posted by Javelin
I added a Debug version of the exe into the download just for you. Boy, it takes a long time to compile the code when you do it that way. I have an abbreviated method, I only delete the obj files in the section I'm working on so it only has to recompile a few files, then link the exe together.


Yeah, it takes a while. Noone, as far as I know, has looked at the compile scripts to improve them. The dbug exe enables all the debug messages, and debug windows if you need to see more of what's going on.

Page 8 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
WW2 still finding bodies
by Alicatt. 10/10/19 04:10 PM
That moment in time....
by Bill_Grant. 10/09/19 01:35 PM
A minister, a priest and a rabbi ....
by Bill_Grant. 10/08/19 04:56 PM
Old folks and old tricks
by Sluggish Controls. 10/08/19 06:11 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0