Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4383160 - 10/04/17 08:41 PM EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 Dual Install Tutorial  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Hello chopper fans!

EECH, while being easy to install, doesn't like multiple installations, what makes flying both 1.15.4 and 1.16.0 a bit complicated.
Just like Viper1970 warned me, one has to install the game to a EECH folder, add the 1.15.4 mods, rename the folder to EECH1154, then install the game again to a new EECH folder, add the 1.16.0 mods and rename the folder to EECH1160.
Choosing which version to fly implies renaming the selected version's folder to EECH, flying, then renaming the folder back to its previous name.
Not very complicated, but a bit tedious.

The installation part can not be skipped, bur I have just found a way to make the version selection and game launching much
easier.
I have written a batch file, that asks me which version I'd like to fly, then rename the folder to EECH, launch cohokum.exe, then when the exe quits, renames the folder back. ALL BY ITSELF.
I have just tested it, and it works great!
Let me translate it from French to English, and add a few explanations about the paths required, and I'll post it here.

I was just too happy not to share it tonight straight away!


Last edited by Rhugouvi; 10/07/17 06:42 PM.

"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4383354 - 10/05/17 07:05 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Oct, 12th update:

This tutorial is now added to the EECH Central wiki.
So please visit http://eechcentral.SimHQ.com/index.php?title=Dual_Install !

Last edited by Rhugouvi; 10/12/17 07:45 AM. Reason: link to the wili added

"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4383368 - 10/05/17 07:57 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
that is serious approach)) thanks for sharing. could be added to the wiki after being properly tested.
do you have access to the source code? you may be interested to start with applying minor changes from your wish list.

Last edited by thealx; 10/05/17 07:59 PM.
#4383377 - 10/05/17 08:54 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Hey Rhugouvi,

real good idea!!! Makes parallel installations a lot easier to handle. As thealx said just ask for the source code. Would be nice to see you helping with the project, too!

Cheers Viper


Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4383457 - 10/06/17 06:18 AM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Hello / privet !

I am glad you like the idea, and it would be a great honour to contribute to the wiki which is such a goldmine!
Testing is still needed because I noticed a glitch yesterday. I created three batch files with the same code on three different locations : one on the K: drive, and two on the desktop on the C: drive. The K one worked fine but both C ones crashed (windows can not find cohokum.exe).
Must the batch file be located on the same drive as the game in order to have the code working?

About the source code, I am afraid it would be a bit too much for me at the moment. I am commited to several other simming projects (mainly with FSX), and I'd rather improve the cockpit textures of the Ka-52 as my first mod for EECH.

By the way, can one choose his helo's livery?

Last edited by Rhugouvi; 10/06/17 06:32 AM.

"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4383466 - 10/06/17 08:56 AM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Tested the issue, and I confirm that the batch file has to be located on the same drive as the cohokum.exe.
I have updated the tutorial.


"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4383467 - 10/06/17 09:20 AM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 759
Bavaria, near Munich
Hello Rhugouvi,

just finished my KA-50 cockpit, but the instruments have to be fixed and made working again. This is a job I couldn't do at the moment, because it must be done in the code and seems to be really complicated. I hope that someone of the code gurus can help here biggrin .

I also wanted to make the KA-52 the next I'm working at. I wanted to change the MFD's 3D-shape (make them a little more wide in size and put a new bezel-texture on them) to make them look more realistic. I've tried to change the textures only and make some small fast improvements but there isn't really much you can do with the textures alone, so I decide to change the complete shape and do some new textures if possible (I'm new to 3D and I must learn a lot here hahaha ).

My objective is to improve the russian helos a little bit more and fix there instruments with less effort as possible but in a useable and little bit more realistic looking way, so that we can use them for the next time. Maybe someone else is then making a "real thing" e.g. like the US choppers cockpits are or the MI-24. This is what I'm not able to do with my limited knowledge and experience. I only made texture work for repaints the last years before I started with Allmods now.

Maybe we can work together at the KA-52 if you like?

I also wanted to change the MI-28 pit again, if there is a relatively easy way to do a new pit (respectively changing and improving the original cockpit), which corresponds the real thing (two MFD's etc.) a bit more and maybe a gunner cockpit also, to equate the other helos which have a two men crew (MI-24 gunner pit exists already but have to be integrated in 1.16.0). But as said my intention is to be as realistic as possible with an commensurate amount of work, so that we have all helicopters in an useable state to enjoy them in the simulation as fast as possible.

Making real good looking and more exact cockpits is very time consuming and most people have a RL too, so it can take months or even years to see some advancements or sometimes the project never gets finished.

But in the meanwhile we have no fully working helicopters in an attack helicopter simulation. Not a good solution I think. There maybe even more to be fixed in Allmods, but the helicopters are a central content of an attack helicopter simulator and for that reason have to be in a useable and relatively realistic state. That's what I think and why I'm trying to get this done as far as I'm able to do.


Last edited by Viper1970; 10/06/17 10:19 AM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4383572 - 10/06/17 07:08 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Hurrah, the "batch file on same drive as EECH" constraint is no more!
The command prompt just needed to be switched to the EECH drive right from the start. Otherwise, Windows tries to open H:\Plane Games\...\cohokum.exe instead of K:\...\cohokum.exe.
The code is updated in the second post.

Viper1970, I have to be honest : I can't get involved in another project for the moment. When things settle down a bit, I'll be happy to contribute.

Last edited by Rhugouvi; 10/06/17 07:51 PM.

"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4383874 - 10/08/17 06:44 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Originally Posted by Rhugouvi
Hurrah, the "batch file on same drive as EECH" constraint is no more!
The command prompt just needed to be switched to the EECH drive right from the start. Otherwise, Windows tries to open H:\Plane Games\...\cohokum.exe instead of K:\...\cohokum.exe.
The code is updated in the second post.

Viper1970, I have to be honest : I can't get involved in another project for the moment. When things settle down a bit, I'll be happy to contribute.


Thanks for the instructions. If you don't have time to put them on the wiki, then I'll add a page for them if that's ok with you.

#4383875 - 10/08/17 06:59 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Actually, this thread has given me an idea. I wonder how much work it would be to create a GUI launcher, as you get in a lot of games, and it would have a dropdown to let you select which version to launch. It could also allow some of the eech.ini settings to be changed without having to edit the ini file itself.

Something else to add to the backburner...

#4384126 - 10/10/17 10:10 AM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Hello,
I am done, EECH has a new entry, listed in the Tutorials category. Hurrah!

Last edited by Rhugouvi; 10/10/17 10:19 AM.

"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4384382 - 10/11/17 02:53 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
I just tried using this. I added a few more options, as I have versions 1.15.0, 1.15.2, 1.15.4, and 1.16.0.

When I run it, I get the cmd window for he script, but another cmd window also opens.

I'm also getting shown the message below just above the options line.

'question' is not recognized as an internal or external command,operable program or batch file.

When I enter a choice, the cmd window closes, but nothing happens. The folder is not renamed.


I'm using Windows 10

Last edited by messyhead; 10/11/17 02:57 PM.
#4384400 - 10/11/17 04:07 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 dual install made easy [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Thanks for your report.
I tested the batch file on W7 64bits only.
I'll give it a try on my W10 laptop.
Pretty probable that commands have changed.


"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4384403 - 10/11/17 04:15 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 Dual Install Tutorial [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
thumbsup

#4384428 - 10/11/17 08:05 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 Dual Install Tutorial [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Inhave just tested the batch file on my W10 laptop, and everything has worked as expected.
Could you please post the code here (or send it to me by PM)?
I am quite puzzled confused


"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4384429 - 10/11/17 08:08 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 Dual Install Tutorial [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Code
START
cls
@ECHO  _________________________________________
@ECHO !
@ECHO ! EECH - Choose your version
@ECHO !_________________________________________
@ECHO.
@ECHO 1 - Version 1.15.4
@ECHO.
@ECHO 2 - Version 1.16.0
@ECHO.
@ECHO 3 - Version 1.15.0
@ECHO.
@ECHO 4 - Version 1.15.2
@ECHO.
@ECHO off
@ECHO.
question
set /p choice= Type the selected version of EECH (1/2/3/4) then press Enter?

if /I "%choice%"=="1" (goto :a)
if /I "%choice%"=="2" (goto :b)
if /I "%choice%"=="3" (goto :c)
if /I "%choice%"=="4" (goto :d)
goto :question

a
C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH1154" "EECH"
cd "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH\cohokum"
start /wait cohokum.exe
cd C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH" "EECH1154"
GOTO END

b
C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH1160" "EECH"
cd "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH\cohokum"
start /wait cohokum.exe
cd C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH" "EECH1160"
GOTO END

c
C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH1150" "EECH"
cd "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH\cohokum"
start /wait cohokum.exe
cd C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH" "EECH1150"
GOTO END

d
C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH1152" "EECH"
cd "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH\cohokum"
start /wait cohokum.exe
cd C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH" "EECH1152"
GOTO END

END

#4384442 - 10/11/17 09:36 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 Dual Install Tutorial [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
you lost : before "question", "a" and so on

What if in EECH folder is 1.16.0, and you trying to play 1.15.4. as a result in EECH1154 folder will be 1.16.0. my point - "dual install" is important condition.

#4384444 - 10/11/17 09:45 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 Dual Install Tutorial [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
Originally Posted by thealx
you lost : before "question", "a" and so on


The colon : must have been stripped from the wiki page.

Originally Posted by thealx
What if in EECH folder is 1.16.0, and you trying to play 1.15.4. as a result in EECH1154 folder will be 1.16.0. my point - "dual install" is important condition.


Yeah, good point. It doesn't rename the folder back before it exits after you exit the game. It is in the batch file, but doesn't seem to work.

Last edited by messyhead; 10/11/17 09:46 PM.
#4384445 - 10/11/17 09:50 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 Dual Install Tutorial [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
You need to change the cd C: to cd / as so;

Code
:a
C:
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH1154" "EECH"
cd "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH\cohokum"
start /wait cohokum.exe
cd /
ren "C:\Enemy Engaged\EECH" "EECH1154"
GOTO END

#4384446 - 10/11/17 10:00 PM Re: EECH 1.15.4/1.16.0 Dual Install Tutorial [Re: Rhugouvi]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,430
I've updated the wiki page, and wrapped the script in <nowiki> tags so it doesn't get formatted. I hope you don't mind me updating it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
USS Yorktown damage control
by oldgrognard. 11/20/19 08:49 PM
600,001
by Ajay. 11/20/19 01:04 PM
Ken Block's - Climbkhana Two
by David Kennard. 11/19/19 05:18 PM
New Half Life game.... but VR only?
by Khai. 11/19/19 01:31 PM
Too Funny
by vonBaur. 11/17/19 04:51 PM
Important Birthday Tomorrow
by rwatson. 11/17/19 12:00 PM
70 weeks of intense self-learning
by MarkG. 11/16/19 07:15 PM
We are about to hit peak Nicolas Cage
by Ajay. 11/16/19 12:52 AM
Legacy Rock Bands
by PanzerMeyer. 11/14/19 04:02 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0