Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4368037 - 07/08/17 12:49 PM Second try at this.. Getting Falcon working with MS Sidewinder USB stick?  
VF9_Longbow Offline
Hotshot
VF9_Longbow  Offline
Hotshot

Tokyo, Japan
I tried to get this game going well a few months ago but ran out of free time and to be honest had a real hell of a time getting the controls mapped to my sidewinder stick. The stick has a huge lack of buttons but I have been using it for about 20 years and I consider it an extension of my arm.

How can I get this stick working and with buttons mapped as I want them? I like DCS's button mapping style, pretty straight forward, and can't really wrap my head around Falcon's these days.

I also have several flight control panels and switch panels from Saitek which I'd like to utilize for various switches, can these be recognized by Falcon? How about rotary knobs on those panels, and trim rotaries?

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4368064 - 07/08/17 03:49 PM Re: Second try at this.. Getting Falcon working with MS Sidewinder USB stick? [Re: VF9_Longbow]  
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Philippines / North East UK
Not sure about the Saitek panels... weren't these more for FSX? IIRC those don't work outside of that particular civil aviation simulator.

As for your MS stick, you can map controls directly in the in-game UI or use DirectX mappings in the .key file. I'm not sure if anyone on the official forums flies with a MS Sidey stick but it wouldn't hurt to ask over there.... that way you can get specific help. I will admit that setting up Falcon can be a pain; luckily you only need to do it once and you should be good.

- Ice
#4368199 - 07/09/17 06:42 PM Re: Second try at this.. Getting Falcon working with MS Sidewinder USB stick? [Re: VF9_Longbow]  
VF9_Longbow Offline
Hotshot
VF9_Longbow  Offline
Hotshot

Tokyo, Japan