Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4328233 - 01/13/17 02:19 AM A way to play on lower resolutions like 1366x768...  
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
ACHTUNG Offline
Junior Member
ACHTUNG  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
I am as of current, using a laptop with the usual 1366x768 built in limit for it's monitor... And while it is indeed lower than the recommended height I am still able to have use of select SAM systems in the Sim

This program is needed

To do it first open up Altmove since we're going to need one of it's features for this...


Press the stop button on all but the first option since none of those are needed for this (though if you like those features then feel free to leave them on)


Next open the first option up by clicking on the maximize box and make sure the settings are as follows...


Now open up the Sim and if you're on a laptop or have a monitor limited to 1366x768 like I am, this is about as much of the menu window you will be able to see.



However if you hold alt and click and then drag on any part of the window you can pull it up out of the bottom of the screen and view the bits that are cut off...

Now this is not a complete fix to lower resolutions but it does allow usage of select SAM systems...

The 9k33M2 (SA-8B) is fully functional as far as the manual dictates it's use is...


The only source of problems will be the firing officer's station because the buttons for automatic and manual tracking options are cutoff at the bottom.


However if you use altmove to move the panel up a bit you can see the tops of the buttons, which will give you access to their functionality.

Note: I'm still curious as to what all the other fiddly buttons and switches and knobs do since they're not mentioned in the manual...

The S-200VE Vega-E (SA-5B Gammon) likewise is also fully functional...



The target acquisition officer's radar display and the target tracking officer's control panel are both cutoff at the bottom.



Using the altmove function on these windows reveal that thankfully they are not cutoff at the bottom. Now if we just pull up the target acquisition officer's radar and the target tracking officer's control panel as well as the range and Doppler dials we can now have full use of the system as dictated by the manual...


Of note is that while the most important panels (the ones at the bottom on the manual) are full and not cutoff even if they're pulled out from the bottom of the screen using altmove, the other panels are still missing their bottom bits like the launch indicator... However the top of the switch to change from GSN to KRO is still visible and retains its functionality...

Last edited by ACHTUNG; 01/13/17 02:20 AM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4328234 - 01/13/17 02:29 AM Re: A way to play on lower resolutions like 1366x768... [Re: ACHTUNG]  
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
ACHTUNG Offline
Junior Member
ACHTUNG  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
The S-75M3 Volhov (SA-3E Guideline) is usable but not all of it's features are available...



The fuse settings and the boresight offset switch is accessible and retain full functionality when the panel is pulled up using altmove from the bottom of the screen... However usage of LORO and narrow beam mode is impossible as well as the ground mode (although it's still possible to destroy ground targets in Asuluk with certain settings)...

I don't know what makes some panels be cutoff from the bottom even when pulled up with altmove while others like that of the S-200's target acquisition radar display and target tracking control panel are fine... If all the windows/panels behaved like the latter then we might be able to have full functionality of all the SAM systems on lower resolutions albeit with the use of programs like altmove...

Last edited by ACHTUNG; 01/13/17 02:29 AM.
#4328289 - 01/13/17 09:56 AM Re: A way to play on lower resolutions like 1366x768... [Re: ACHTUNG]  
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 617
Alien_MasterMynd Offline
Member
Alien_MasterMynd  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 617
Czech Republic
By the way, another and much better from my point of view is to make a virtual PC and run SAMSIM in it. Then you can freely scroll the screen (also in the SIM itself).

#4328374 - 01/13/17 07:21 PM Re: A way to play on lower resolutions like 1366x768... [Re: Alien_MasterMynd]  
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
ACHTUNG Offline
Junior Member
ACHTUNG  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Yes that is indeed better... If one wants to go through the trouble of setting up a virtual machine to run just Samsim... An option for those who has time and has a system with enough resources to spare to run one.

#4328906 - 01/16/17 06:54 PM Re: A way to play on lower resolutions like 1366x768... [Re: ACHTUNG]  
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 617
Alien_MasterMynd Offline
Member
Alien_MasterMynd  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 617
Czech Republic
Trouble? Download OS ISO file and run VMWare player. And that's it thumbsup

#4329689 - 01/19/17 05:03 PM Re: A way to play on lower resolutions like 1366x768... [Re: ACHTUNG]  
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
ACHTUNG Offline
Junior Member
ACHTUNG  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Yes an OS iso (bout 3GB for Windows 7 64 bit for example) and the software to run a Virtual Machine as well as the setup necessary to do that, along with a possible system reboot needed...

OR...

a 400kb program that allows you to drag about the pesky visual basics panels...


That's like going...

"Oh you want to run this program on your notebook or laptop to maybe show it to your mates or maybe spend some time running some missions in it on your coffee break... Here go download an extra 3GB iso file and a VM emulator which you will now have to dedicate some RAM and some video memory into it so you can run the simulator... Or you can spend a half a second downloading a program that will allow you to move about the visual basic coded windows the sim runs with..."


Then there's the alternative we've not talked about yet... To use CRU or to downsample the screen so it displays larger than native resolutions... An advantage is that, it allows usage of all the systems, not just three like the altmove method, and it doesn't need a 3GB download a VM emulator and ram dedicated to it...

Disadvantage is lower screen quality of display and it might not work on certain video cards...

#4329868 - 01/20/17 10:50 AM Re: A way to play on lower resolutions like 1366x768... [Re: ACHTUNG]  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,846
piston79 Offline
Member
piston79  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,846
Thanks for the info, guys!

It is really helpful! thumbsup

#4367701 - 07/06/17 03:33 AM Re: A way to play on lower resolutions like 1366x768... [Re: ACHTUNG]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
tolai_nd Offline
Junior Member
tolai_nd  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
I found out that a clean install of windows 7/8 or 10 is very easy to install SAM simulator, both 32 and 64.
Something was changed while using windows, I don't know exactly.
And thanks a lot for the tip. It worked very well on my thinkpad x220 running windows 10.

Last edited by tolai_nd; 07/06/17 03:33 AM.

Moderated by  Cat, Hpasp, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Flight Testing In The Real World
by bolox. 09/23/20 12:42 PM
MEN ARE JUST HAPPIER PEOPLE
by NoFlyBoy. 09/22/20 11:06 PM
U.S. Space Force funny gaffe
by NoFlyBoy. 09/22/20 02:20 AM
Microsoft have bought Bethesda
by WangoTango. 09/21/20 02:23 PM
Death Stranding
by Chucky. 09/21/20 11:49 AM
The most compelling anti-heroes?
by PanzerMeyer. 09/21/20 03:55 AM
didn't know they did this to airplanes.
by NoFlyBoy. 09/21/20 02:20 AM
B-25 Damaged in Crash Landing
by F4UDash4. 09/20/20 04:48 PM
I will be on vacation
by NoFlyBoy. 09/19/20 05:57 PM
Remakes??
by rwatson. 09/18/20 11:25 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0