Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#436620 - 01/24/05 12:11 PM Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
Tailgunner Offline
Member
Tailgunner  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
UK
I deliberately put off buying this game when it first came out since the demo had my PC crying for mercy as it displayed a series of still pictures of me failing to fly an A10....

Now...with the PC a bit beefier....and LOMAC picked up for 9.99 secondhand..I figured I would be OK.

Nope.

I could really use some setup advice to get things running smoothly. I was getting some fairly unpleasant slowdowns in external view with just a single plane. Combat is not really an option like that!

I am well within the required spec, though my Gfx card is a bit ...er....marginal ;\)

Any hints on setup / patches / tweaks to get this thing running better ? It's pretty to look at...but I want to do more than look ;\)


Athlon 64 3000 ( S939)
1024Mb DDR 400 (Don't leave home without it)
GeForce 6800GT
Abit AV8 Pro
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#436621 - 01/24/05 12:22 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,814
Plainsman Offline
Senior Member
Plainsman  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,814
Vikings Season Ticket Holder
Your graphics card is a piece of crap. That said, for the time being shut off "heat blur" in the options menu. Off! Off!

Set your res at 1024 x 768. Don't get greedy. And shut off anti-aliasing and anistropic filtering in your graphics card menu.

Your machine is as good as mine (except for your puny graphics card) and I get smooth frames in combat.


Acer: XB 280HK 28" 3840 X 2160, 1ms, w/Nvidia GSync
Corsair: White Graphite 760T Full Tower
Corsair: 16GB Vengeance LPX 2800MHz RAM
Corsair: SP2500 2.1 Gaming Speaker System
INTEL: Six-Core, i7 5820K CPU @4.2Hz
ASUS RTX OC 2080
Logitech 920 Wheel and Pedal System with Wheel Stand Pro
Saitek Pro Flight Control System with Wheel Stand Pro
Saitek X55 HOTAS
XBOX One S
Track IR5

#436622 - 01/24/05 02:55 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,410
Tom_Weiss Offline
Veteran
Tom_Weiss  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,410
3rd Planet, Sun
Quote:
Your graphics card is a piece of crap
Ouch! that hurts!

His card is graphicaly-challenged , that is the proper term.

Unfortunately, you will need to get a better one, otherwise Lock On will stutter all the time.

Sorry.

#436623 - 01/24/05 03:15 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:
Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!
This is by far the funniest topic title I've seen around here! \:D \:D \:D

#436624 - 01/24/05 03:25 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,429
enigma6584 Offline
Senior Member
enigma6584  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,429
Wisconsin, USA
Also, if you can afford it, try to get more RAM. 512MB is really just on the edge. You can run the game with this but it will run better with more.

#436626 - 01/24/05 06:32 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,410
Tom_Weiss Offline
Veteran
Tom_Weiss  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 14,410
3rd Planet, Sun
512 MB RDRAM helps a lot.

#436627 - 01/24/05 06:35 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,841
Hunedog Offline
Member
Hunedog  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,841
Vancouver BC Canada
You are one 6600 GT & 512 Meg of more Ram away from flightsim nirvana. I'm running a A64 3200 with the above hardware and it's smooth as Butter. \:\) Only stuttering I get is when I accidently fly though a recently torn in half ground vehicle with THE GUN at my disposal. ;\) Trick is to stay above the shrapnel to avoid this effect. I run out of the box settings with Vehicle traffic checked @ 1024X768. no aa no af.


"It's not about the money Son, It's about rules. You see without rules we all might as well live in trees and fling our crap at each other."
Red Foreman on That 70's Show
#436628 - 01/24/05 08:19 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
Tailgunner Offline
Member
Tailgunner  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
UK
Thanks for the tips ..... and yes...My graphics card IS crap! I know it....but the bank manager says no. So, for the short term, I am stuck with it.

I will got for the LOMAN option, plus tweak around with the settings some more. I will get this game going !!

In the meantime...I am putting all those spare pennies into a big jar labelled 'graphics card' At least if the game still stutters badly, I should have nearly enough saved by the time I complete the first mission ;\)


Athlon 64 3000 ( S939)
1024Mb DDR 400 (Don't leave home without it)
GeForce 6800GT
Abit AV8 Pro
#436629 - 01/24/05 08:30 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,827
Huey52 Offline
Hotshot
Huey52  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,827
New England
Follow all of the graphics settings insight in Matt's v1.02 read me, especially staying at 1024x768x16, turning off mirrors, and going with low water quality. Despite being graphically challenged you can still get an acceptable experience.

ref: Root Lock On folder: read_me-102 TIPS ON INCREASING PERFORMANCE

#436630 - 01/24/05 09:20 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 111,141
PanzerMeyer Online centaurian
Pro-Consul of Florida
PanzerMeyer  Online Centaurian
Pro-Consul of Florida
King Crimson - SimHQ's Top Poster

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 111,141
Miami, FL USA
Wow Tail. You have an Athlon 64 coupled with a GF Ti 4200?


That's like Stephen Hawking and Mike Tyson trying to engage in a conversation. \:D


“Whoever fights monsters should see to it that in the process he does not become a monster. And if you gaze long enough into an abyss, the abyss will gaze back into you.”
#436631 - 01/24/05 09:22 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,827
Huey52 Offline
Hotshot
Huey52  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,827
New England
LOL Exceedingly well said! \:\)

Quote:
Originally posted by PanzerMeyer:
Wow Tail. You have an Athlon 64 coupled with a GF Ti 4200?


That's like Stephen Hawking and Mike Tyson trying to engage in a conversation.

#436632 - 01/24/05 09:58 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,014
Davros Offline
Hotshot
Davros  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,014
Liverpool
i dont think your gfx card is that bad i know a few people playing lomac ok with geforce fx 5600's and yours is faster than those


SimHq's Resident Gaming God
#436633 - 01/24/05 10:12 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
The Ti 4200 is actually a wondeful card; it represents a dying example of what a good midrange card should be - a stripped-down version of the high-end, as opposed to a beefed up version of the low-end. At its release, the Ti 4200 offered a phenomenal performance/price ratio, a ratio that cannot be matched by today's midrange graphics cards.

Despite this, is is still underpowered for LOMAC, especially considering it is matched with an Athlon 64 - a clearly GPU-limited situation.

#436634 - 01/24/05 10:33 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
Tailgunner Offline
Member
Tailgunner  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
UK
Well...the old Ti4200 has been in the PC for around 2 1/2 years ... so I think it has done pretty well!

I have just recently upgraded the CPU from an old Athlon XP1700 with 512Mb of PC100 SDRAM..... but funds were limited, so I couldn't upgrade Gfx card as well. Some people advised me to invest the 250 on a Gfx card....but I knew I would have to do both really, and didn't fancy hitching a new card up to the old rig!

It's good to know I CAN get the game to run well enough....so, thanks for the pointers \:D

p.s. It was, of course, Mike Tyson who gave Prof. Hawking the idea about Unified Theory during one of their many afternoons strolling in the park, sipping tea and indulging in a little playful sparring........


Athlon 64 3000 ( S939)
1024Mb DDR 400 (Don't leave home without it)
GeForce 6800GT
Abit AV8 Pro
#436635 - 01/25/05 12:28 AM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,784
PFunk Offline
SimHQ Redneck
PFunk  Offline
SimHQ Redneck
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,784
N. Central Texas
The Ti4200 was one of the best VGA chipsets ever released. It was cheaper than a Ti4600, and only marginally less powerful. I miss mine because nothing beat it in terms of compatibility.

pfunk


"A little luck & a little government is necessary to get by, but only a fool places his complete trust in either one." - PJ O'Rourke

www.sixmanfootball.com
#436636 - 01/25/05 12:31 AM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,814
Plainsman Offline
Senior Member
Plainsman  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,814
Vikings Season Ticket Holder
Quote:
Originally posted by Sparverius:
Get LOMAN. Start tweaking. (Read the thread at Ubi -- http://forums.ubi.com/eve/ubb.x?a=tpc&s=400102&f=38610606&m=247109315 ) Lower lots of sliders.

I run a P4 2.26GHz/512 MB RDRAM/GF4 Ti4200 64MB and get very playable performance at 1024x768 and it still looks amazing to me. No constant stutter at all, but FPS may drop to 10 occasionally when there's a lot of action going on. Usually I get 25+ FPS.
You also need a new vid card. Why do you still have that antique?


Acer: XB 280HK 28" 3840 X 2160, 1ms, w/Nvidia GSync
Corsair: White Graphite 760T Full Tower
Corsair: 16GB Vengeance LPX 2800MHz RAM
Corsair: SP2500 2.1 Gaming Speaker System
INTEL: Six-Core, i7 5820K CPU @4.2Hz
ASUS RTX OC 2080
Logitech 920 Wheel and Pedal System with Wheel Stand Pro
Saitek Pro Flight Control System with Wheel Stand Pro
Saitek X55 HOTAS
XBOX One S
Track IR5

#436637 - 01/25/05 01:00 AM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 669
Hitman IF Offline
Member
Hitman IF  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 669
Aberdeen, Scotland
Quote:
Originally posted by Plainsman:
You also need a new vid card. Why do you still have that antique?
I've been managing with my old Gf3 Ti200 fairly well, and LOMAC is still a load of fun. I'm getting a Gf6600 now though, that sounds quite nice.

What's with all the hardware snobbery around here! :p


---SVBS squad is playing Lock On, ADF/TAW and Typhoon now at http://www.svbs.co.uk !---
#436638 - 01/25/05 01:39 AM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
Quote:
Originally posted by Hitman IF:
Quote:
Originally posted by Plainsman:
You also need a new vid card. Why do you still have that antique?
I've been managing with my old Gf3 Ti200 fairly well, and LOMAC is still a load of fun. I'm getting a Gf6600 now though, that sounds quite nice.

What's with all the hardware snobbery around here! :p
Good question...

Plainsman, maybe he has that "antique" because it costs money to upgrade.
:rolleyes:

#436639 - 01/25/05 12:26 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
Tailgunner Offline
Member
Tailgunner  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 677
UK
Yup...thats why I still have it!

Here's the maths ;\)

Salary - (mortgage+bills+(food for wife and children))=0

In fact, there is also a second factor I forgot to add, -Christmas which has a negative effect on the overall equation at seasonal times ....

where Christmas=(what the wife wants)+(overinflated kids demands)+(alcohol)


Athlon 64 3000 ( S939)
1024Mb DDR 400 (Don't leave home without it)
GeForce 6800GT
Abit AV8 Pro
#436641 - 01/25/05 02:12 PM Re: Holy Stutuutttuuttuuttuttutua stustustustu sttering Batman!  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 429
vmann Offline
Member
vmann  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 429
New Hampshire
In two weeks, I'll be posting a repaired or replaced 9800 pro 128mb for less than half of what a 6600gt goes for. Think about it, Tailgunner; you could STEAL a lousy hundred bucks. The wife would never know the difference.


Athlon X2 4800+, Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe, 2Gb OCZ PC4000 EB Plat, 74G 10k WD Raptor, 2 X Leadtek 7900GTX, Audigy 2 Zs, SeaSonic 600W PSU, Windows XP Home, CH Products Fighterstick, Pro Throttle, Pro Pedals USB.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Blue Angel's will transition to the Rhino
by CyBerkut. 06/02/20 12:41 PM
The pancake chef...
by Mr_Blastman. 05/31/20 06:33 PM
DOSBox/MS-DOS6
by MarkG. 05/31/20 02:14 PM
Question for gun lovers
by Blade_RJ. 05/30/20 02:54 PM
The Last British Destroyer Commander of WWII
by F4UDash4. 05/30/20 12:43 PM
I'm down to one game.....
by PanzerMeyer. 05/29/20 02:19 PM
Would you purchase a flight sim...
by MarkG. 05/28/20 04:33 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0