Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4354602 - 04/30/17 06:00 PM OT: Throttle suggestions  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 502
AceMedic88 Offline
Member
AceMedic88  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 502
Niagara Falls, NY
Hey all

Does anyone here use a dual throttle for adjusting the throttle as well as mixture? Didn't know if mixture could be synced with a throttle or anything.

If so, any suggestions for a brand/type?


I got fired as the door man at a sperm bank.
Apparently it's in poor taste to tell leaving customers "Thanks for coming."

Former U.S. Army Medic - SGT.
#4354631 - 04/30/17 09:34 PM Re: OT: Throttle suggestions [Re: AceMedic88]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
Lausbub78 Offline
Member
Lausbub78  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
There are not that many choices. There is a CH 6 lever Quadrant and a Saitek 3 lever Quadrant. There is also someone who offers custom made engine controls http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4140505/1 I have owned the Saitek and the CH Quadrants. Quality wise the CH is worlds ahead. Only the short travel of the levers are a downside in my opinion. The Saitek have a long travel,which is good. But the quality of the potentiometers it uses is really bad. They start to spike after a while,which is not good at all for throttle,mixture and radiator controls. Now I'm using a custom made Throttle Quadrant by spitsim.co.uk and couldn't be happier. It was expensive and some do it yourself on my part was necessary. But worth it in the end.

Last edited by Lausbub78; 04/30/17 09:38 PM.
#4354636 - 04/30/17 09:52 PM Re: OT: Throttle suggestions [Re: AceMedic88]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 502
AceMedic88 Offline
Member
AceMedic88  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 502
Niagara Falls, NY
Thanks, Lausbub. So you can control mixture through one like the throttle?


I got fired as the door man at a sperm bank.
Apparently it's in poor taste to tell leaving customers "Thanks for coming."

Former U.S. Army Medic - SGT.
#4354642 - 04/30/17 10:31 PM Re: OT: Throttle suggestions [Re: AceMedic88]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
Lausbub78 Offline
Member
Lausbub78  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
You can control mixture manually with a seperate lever. I adjust mixture with altiude,but don't see much difference in engine RPM. If you lean it too much the engine turns off though.

#4354643 - 04/30/17 10:32 PM Re: OT: Throttle suggestions [Re: AceMedic88]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 502
AceMedic88 Offline
Member
AceMedic88  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 502
Niagara Falls, NY
I've always used the keyboard for manual mixture control...sometimes it's annoying so that's why I want to use a throttle instead...same with other flight sims as well.


I got fired as the door man at a sperm bank.
Apparently it's in poor taste to tell leaving customers "Thanks for coming."

Former U.S. Army Medic - SGT.
#4354651 - 04/30/17 10:53 PM Re: OT: Throttle suggestions [Re: AceMedic88]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
Lausbub78 Offline
Member
Lausbub78  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 265
Yes,using keys for mixture control "doesn't feel right". A lever feels more natural,same with things like radiator and propeller pitch controls in other sims.

#4354710 - 05/01/17 11:39 AM Re: OT: Throttle suggestions [Re: AceMedic88]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 753
Stache Offline
Member
Stache  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 753
Michigan, USA
I have been using the Saitek throttle for a couple years now. Works good for me, good lever action. One for throttle , one for Mixture, One button for Engine Bump.

Mixture control does make a difference if you forget to do it. I do notice a few hundred RPM difference. Sometimes I pull it back when going up in altitude a bit at a time. Sometimes, I pull it back to the engine cut off then push is back up a bit.


Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. A. Einstein

(System Specs:)

I7-6700k OC 4.4GHZ, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz; Gigabyte Gaming 7 MB, G1 OC'ed GTX980ti; Three-Acer XB271HU WQHD Gsync 144Mhz; Samsung 950-512GB NVMe SSD; WD 2TB-7200rpm; Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Nepton 240M cooler, V1000 PS; Windows 10 PRO; VKB GunfighterPro Stick; Thrustmaster TPR Pedals; Saitek Throttle; Dual TM MFD panels; TrackIR 5; Windows 10 v1909

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Justice for Maddie
by RossUK. 06/04/20 11:11 AM
Perhaps My Final Flight
by FishTaco. 06/04/20 02:59 AM
Blue Angel's will transition to the Rhino
by CyBerkut. 06/02/20 12:41 PM
The pancake chef...
by Mr_Blastman. 05/31/20 06:33 PM
DOSBox/MS-DOS6
by MarkG. 05/31/20 02:14 PM
Question for gun lovers
by Blade_RJ. 05/30/20 02:54 PM
The Last British Destroyer Commander of WWII
by F4UDash4. 05/30/20 12:43 PM
I'm down to one game.....
by PanzerMeyer. 05/29/20 02:19 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0