Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4334040 - 02/02/17 03:58 PM It finally happened - Lost my first ship  
adlabs6 Offline
Veteran
adlabs6  Offline
Veteran

Tracy Island
Since I started playing Elite in June of 2015, I never lost a single ship. Came close a few times, but always made it out.

Last night my Fer-de-Lance was lost in a Conflict Zone (High), due to pilot error. I have never played much as a combat pilot, not engaging pirates (I even pay them) or such. And I do realize that getting involved with Conflict Zones is not the best way to get started with combat. But it makes sense within the game world (working to defend my local minor factions).

I had been in and out of Conflict Zones for the last week, maybe 12 or 15 visits and always made it out. Using all fixed weapons and working on my aim it was slow, but I managed to score 6 or 7 Combat Bonds. Scored one Bond last night before my loss.

My ship build:

FDL Build at ED Shipyard

What did I do wrong?
1. My factions were the underdogs, and I allowed myself to get drawn into a focus of enemy fire. This happens often in my CZ play, and I escape, but this time I let target fixation get the upper hand. Instead of breaking and gaining distance from the CZ furball, working from the edge, I drifted in.

2. F63 Condor swarms... My FDL turns on a dime, but even so I cannot land shots on those Condor (not with fixed guns, anyway). At least while I am turning with them, they can't hit me! But still a swarm of them is very busy.

3. Running straight away when making my escape. Probably the real fatal move.