Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4337185 - 02/14/17 06:48 AM Not saving my joystick configuration  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 97
Delfi Offline
Junior Member
Delfi  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 97
Texas
I am having trouble mapping buttons to my joystick. I map everything I want on it and click apply then click save giving it a unique name. I go to load my configuration with its unique name and it loads BMS Full instead. It is getting very frustrating. I am using a Thrustmaster HOTAS X. That should not be causing a problem. I just want it to save *my* configuration and load *my* configuration without me having to get a degree in C programming and Excel just to setup my joystick.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4337373 - 02/14/17 07:23 PM Re: Not saving my joystick configuration [Re: Delfi]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Pics?

Note that BMS has the tendency to "reset" game controllers if they're not plugged in or turned on or configured the same way as you did the last time you plugged it in. To give you an example, I fly with a TM Warthog HOTAS but my specific profile needs to have both stick and throttle "combined" so that BMS sees the WH as a single controller, not a separate stick and a separate throttle. If I don't "combine" my HOTAS before BMS starts, BMS will reset all my axis settings and stuff.

The "fix" for this is to mark a couple of files as read-only, that way if I forget to "combine" my HOTAS, BMS can't re-write over my saved settings.

So make sure that you connect the controllers to the same USB ports, maybe even connect in the same sequence.... or better yet, don't disconnect anything.
Also make sure that your controllers are properly configured (ie, if you need to load up a profile) before you start BMS.

As for the BMS Full.key file, maybe you could move the default .key files from the \User\Config folder and just keep your own .key file there.

Just a few ideas...


- Ice
#4337457 - 02/14/17 10:50 PM Re: Not saving my joystick configuration [Re: Delfi]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 97
Delfi Offline
Junior Member
Delfi  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 97
Texas
My throttle is connected to the joystick via hardwired cable so that should not be a problem. I will try making a profile and making it read-only. Can I open the .key file with a text editor to see if it did save correctly? I didn't think to take screenshots last night as I was getting very flustered.

#4337807 - 02/16/17 05:59 AM Re: Not saving my joystick configuration [Re: Delfi]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 97
Delfi Offline
Junior Member
Delfi  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 97
Texas
I managed to get it fixed. smile


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Post script on our fires
by Mad Max. 02/19/20 09:43 PM
Our current approaching storm
by Ajay. 02/19/20 12:35 PM
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
HITMAN 2, et al
by DBond. 02/17/20 01:52 PM
I didn't know this. Women Top Guns.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/17/20 03:46 AM
Betelgeuse
by Red2112. 02/16/20 11:35 PM
Heck just a good jam
by rwatson. 02/16/20 01:57 PM
EPIC Games = epic PITA
by Dunolde. 02/15/20 09:05 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0