Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#43302 - 09/14/05 04:05 PM Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
I can't get the throttle on my Cougar to control the collective in these two sims. I used the preset for Stick, Throttle, and Pedals. The stick and throttle work but I can't get the Throttle to control the collective. Any help would be appreciated greatly :thumbs_up:


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#43303 - 09/14/05 05:16 PM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 855
Amaroq Offline
Member
Amaroq  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 855
Europe
Is the game tracking another axis as the throttle?I.e. have you tried twisting a few of the other axis to see if that helps?

I don't have a cougar so that's about as far as I can help...


Don Quixote's misfortune is not his imagination, but Sancho Panza.
#43304 - 09/14/05 07:15 PM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
I specifically checked that and no buttons or switches controlled it. The Collective meter in the lower right hand corner shows about 50% the whole time when the preset is set to Stick, Throttle and Pedals.


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
#43305 - 09/15/05 02:14 AM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 401
Blind Faith Offline
Member
Blind Faith  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 401
Québec
BeerDog
My Saitek X-45 works perfectly.

Download this program, it is a M$ tool to identify the DX axis of your controler, those little apps are 100% DX compliant (after patching)

http://www.wingmanteam.com/latest_software/gadgets.htm#Poswdm%20Utility:

X and Y act as roll and pitch Z is the collective and rZ is the tail rotor

This is what is hard coded in the software you now have to use your profiler software to trick DX and swap the axies in there. Is it possible?

Good luck!

cool

#43306 - 09/25/05 09:28 PM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,922
Paradaz Offline
Senior Member
Paradaz  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,922
UK
I have the same problem with my X52.

The X45 works fine but the X52 has had the throttle mapping changed from Z-Axis to Z-Slider.

Because of the throttle change, the X52 throttle now won't be recognised. I'm fairly certain you can swap the Cougar axis so you should be able to get it working but the Saitek SST software will not allow me to do this until the next driver release.


On the Eighth day God created Paratroopers and the Devil stood to attention.
#43307 - 09/26/05 01:15 AM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,371
mbeaver Offline
Senior Member
mbeaver  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 3,371
Arizona, USA
With my CH setup I have to set the throttle axis to "Slider 0" (in CH Control Manager) for SAR4 and VME.

#43308 - 10/04/05 05:25 PM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
syncro Offline
Member
syncro  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 258
Walsall, UK
Got the same problem with my Saitek cyborg evo. Will the new driver solve this aswell?


2.8ghz Celeron, Radeon 9800pro, 1gb ram

XBOX 360
Gamer tag: Syncro360
#43309 - 10/05/05 08:23 AM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,705
Pizzicato Offline
Asleep at the Wheel
Pizzicato  Offline
Asleep at the Wheel
Member

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 1,705
Vancouver, BC
Quote
Originally posted by BeerDog:
I specifically checked that and no buttons or switches controlled it. The Collective meter in the lower right hand corner shows about 50% the whole time when the preset is set to Stick, Throttle and Pedals.
Beerdog,

I tried the SAR4 demo with my Cougar last night and had the same problem. It turns out that SAR4 thinks the Radio Knob is the collective. You just need to go into TM.exe (at least I think it's called that - I can't remember :o ) and swap the throttle and radio assignments. It worked perfectly for me.

I hope that makes sense. It's till early and I haven't quite woken up enough yet... sleepy


---------
Pizzicato
#43310 - 10/13/05 04:28 AM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 311
Heyvern69 Offline
Member
Heyvern69  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 311
San Diego, CA, 92126
Pizzicato is right. SAR4 thinks the Radio Knob is the collective.

You have to go into the FOXY programming software and switch the axis. Go to the help file and search for detailed info on how to switch two axis. It worked for me.

-Vern.

#43311 - 10/13/05 08:04 AM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,922
Paradaz Offline
Senior Member
Paradaz  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,922
UK
Quote
syncro:

Got the same problem with my saitek cyborg evo. Will the new driver solve this aswell?
Yeah, the software update (SD5) concerns all Saitek products except those running on 64-bit systems (they have seperate drivers)

Don't hold your breath though, SD5 was announced almost 2 1/2 years ago!!


On the Eighth day God created Paratroopers and the Devil stood to attention.
#43312 - 10/13/05 08:04 AM Re: Vietnam Med-Evac and SAR 4 = No throttle  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 25,144
RSColonel_131st Offline
Lifer
RSColonel_131st  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 25,144
Vienna, 2nd rock left.
All you SAR4 pilots, please check the topic right below this one...


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Russell Morash was 88
by F4UDash4. 06/23/24 02:36 PM
Small airplane accident
by oldgrognard. 06/21/24 09:31 PM
Movies with the most enigmatic endings
by PanzerMeyer. 06/21/24 05:14 PM
Donald Sutherland - RIP
by PanzerMeyer. 06/20/24 06:23 PM
Mid Atantic Air Museum P-61
by KRT_Bong. 06/20/24 01:57 PM
Willie May's was 93
by F4UDash4. 06/19/24 01:44 AM
The Korean War Youtube series
by wormfood. 06/18/24 02:37 PM
Is 56 too old to learn how to play guitar ?
by WangoTango. 06/18/24 12:42 AM
Euro 24
by RossUK. 06/14/24 08:28 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0