Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
#4512057 - 03/21/20 05:23 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: OverDhill]  
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
J_128 Offline
Junior Member
J_128  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 1
Minnesota, USA
Originally Posted by OverDhill
Any luck finding the latest patch? The link is dead.

Here you go. I hope this proves useful. https://drive.google.com/open?id=1axxqEE4Wcpljyev0XYfu1eyFIZyxweXD smile

@Tcklbrry: If for some reason you'd rather I didn't make this publicly available, let me know, and I'll take it down.


Quote
"A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver."
--Proverbs 25:11

Quote
"A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger."
--Proverbs 15:1
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4512326 - 03/23/20 08:16 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 97
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 97
Czech Republic
Hello,
I don't know whether it is working with the Windows 10 of version 1909. It would be better to patch the executable "USAF.exe" and "ddraw.dll" library directly and don't have dependencies on some wrapper.

#4512329 - 03/23/20 09:37 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 97
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 97
Czech Republic
I have patched it, but there are transparent holes in terrain textures. I have nvidia gpu, so I don't know what about amd gpus.

#4512436 - 03/23/20 06:52 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
predat0r Offline
Junior Member
predat0r  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Canada
First, thanks J_128 for the link and Tcklbrry for the patch, really appreciated it.

I removed previous post about patching .pms files which wasn't necessary. Sorry for the confusion.

I'm not sure if it has been mentionned in the past, I found out (with NVIDIA and AMD gpu) that by doing "ALT+TAB" at the main menu AND whenever you enter a mission (Direct3D). For example, inside REFERENCE (the 3d object appears correctly afterwards) or before loading a mission file inside MISSION RECORDER (smooth playback). Somehow doing this will initialize direct3d and make things work properly on NVIDIA and AMD gpu which in my case no longer require a wrapper on all of my computers. Integrated INTEL doesn't seem to need it at least from the ones that I have. This was tested with the modified 2015 version Win7/8/10 (GetPhysicallyInstalledMemory) with updated fixes (i.e. weapon.ibx, soundmixer, d3d) that I took from the one made by Tackleberry in 2019.

Tested with 1.02F + SuperPro 9.4 + mission patch 1 + Tackleberry modified 2015 (JUTPWSS) :

[Win10 v10.0.17763.1098 ]
macbookpro retina mid-2014 i7-4980HQ@2.8GHz, 16GB, 2GB GT750M = no emulation required with ALT+TAB trick, smooth 1280x960x32
acer desktop i7-9700@3.00GHz 16GB, RTX2060 6GB = no emulation required with ALT+TAB trick, smooth 1280x960x32
hp envy recline 27 touch i7-4790T 12GB, NVIDIA GeForce 830A 2GB = no emulation required with ALT+TAB trick, smooth 1280x960x32

[Win7.32]
Toshiba L300 laptop C2D T6400@2.00GHz, 2GB, Intel 4 Series Express = no emulation required, runs smoothly

[Win7.64]
iMac mid-2011, i7-2600S@2.80GHz, 32GB, AMD Radeon HD 6700M = no emulation required with ALT+TAB trick

Used the Win-XP patch
[WinXP.32]
Eurocom D470V 512MB,P4@2.60GHz, ATI M10 GPU = no emulation required, runs smoothly

I still can't believe after 21 years... re-opening the first edition box with the original manual that came with it! Still haven't bought a flightstick yet, lol

Hope this help!

Last edited by predat0r; 03/29/20 12:37 PM. Reason: Update info
#4513269 - 03/29/20 02:42 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
predat0r Offline
Junior Member
predat0r  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Canada
Originally Posted by Tcklbrry
I have patched it, but there are transparent holes in terrain textures. I have nvidia gpu, so I don't know what about amd gpus.


For me, the NVIDIA RTX 2060 was the only one that had transparent holes in the terrain but all the other ones: NVIDIA (GT750M), AMD (Radeon HD 6700M), ATI M10 and INTEL 4 Series did not.

#4513384 - 03/29/20 06:54 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
Dornil Offline
Member
Dornil  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 209
GTX 1060 gives holes too:(

#4514916 - 04/06/20 07:13 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Vintagesimflyer Offline
Junior Member
Vintagesimflyer  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Kent
Thank you to Tcklbrry for writing the patch and to J_128 for hosting.

Using wined3d I was experiencing some (infrequent but irritating) crash to desktops. I also had to do the alt-tab trick described above every time I switched between flight and the menu.

In the end, I decided to try dgvoodoo, which appears to have stopped the crashes and I also don't need to alt-tab. The only setting change I made was in the directx tab where I chose "disable and passthru to real directx". Whatever - it works...! Without that checked, i saw glitches with smoke.

I have a dell laptop with intel 630 built-in graphics.

Just thought I'd let you know.

#4522225 - 05/24/20 06:47 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 12
Commander_Rod Offline
Junior Member
Commander_Rod  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 12
Still......all i get when i open the exe file is a crash to desktop....what am i doing wrong?

#4522461 - 05/26/20 05:02 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Commander_Rod]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
acce_2012 Offline
Junior Member
acce_2012  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 11
If I can help, that's how it worked for me since yesterday (and after almost 20 years):

From Windows 10:

1. Installed vanilla version, from cd
2. Applied the patch, but for any reason I see in the front screen v.101, so I guess it was not applied.
3. Applied the Tackelberry "obsolete" patch in modbb, as i couldn't find any other appart from the upload by J-128, wich doesn't work for me.
4. Execute USAF One Core, instead of USAF.exe

I could fly, at 1280 x 720. But graphics fail sometimes, and I cannot see my game as you can see it in some older posts here in SimHQ.

I wonder if I can have two different installs in my computer, as I'd like to test the game a bit deeper, but I don't want to mess my actual install, I'd like to enjoy it a bit before. Have you tryed two or more installs of USAF in same PC?

Thanks

#4523041 - 05/30/20 03:56 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: acce_2012]  
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
predat0r Offline
Junior Member
predat0r  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Canada
Hi acce_2012,

Here's my modified version based on Tcklbrry's USAF 1.02F patch (7/14/19) and previous 2015.
Includes the fixes that Tcklbrry made in 2019. Added compatibility with WinXP. Reintroduce the Jane's intro movies.
Tested on listed computers from my previous post.

1. Update to official 1.02F version

2. (optional) Install SuperPro9.4

3. Tcklbrry's 1.02F patch (7/14/19) from J_128.

4. overwrite with the modified "USAF.exe" file from the link below :

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1sXxPp3BWRfACtYk3W0nQe3xY4mBOAoOv/view?usp=sharing

Hope this help, but cannot guarantee it will work with your graphic card.

Last edited by predat0r; 05/30/20 04:01 AM.
#4523068 - 05/30/20 11:56 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
predat0r Offline
Junior Member
predat0r  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Canada
If you have USAF CD inserted, I just noticed that campaign videos will trigger a crash to desktop with wine emulation. Either, remove the USAF CD. Or, disabling emulation by renaming or deleting ddraw.dll from USAF main directory. All this only apply if you're using my modified version.

Last edited by predat0r; 05/30/20 11:58 AM.
#4523079 - 05/30/20 01:55 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 15
D'Ace Offline
Junior Member
D'Ace  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 15
Thanks predat0r,

I have tried your file, no luck. The sim doesn't appear, I can see a new "window" in task bar wich vanishes in some seconds, nothing appears (no logo, no spash, nothing...). My only chance was, again, a fresh install v1.01F (I did a fresh install too with your solution, after uninstalling), and direclty Tackelberry's patch (from, moddb, not the last one updated 7-4-19). If I try to apply the official update, I get same behavior, CTD without even see the splash screenOf course. So I stay in v1.01F.

I don't run USAF.exe, but USAF One Core. I have tried this same file (USAF One Core) with official update, with last Tackelberry update, with Super Pro... No luck. It's weird, I have no idea why, but is like that.

I can only run USAF in vanilla mode, with Tackelberry obsolete patch from MODDB. And through USAF One Core.bat

I play with an image, my two CD's died at least 10 years ago (they are 20!!), but I conserve them as master pieces.

#4530273 - 07/16/20 06:17 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
I have been trying to play Janes USAF on windows 10. The first time I installed the game from disks on my windows xp laptop onto a removable drive, I patched to 1.02 with the official patch, then applied the Tackleberry mod from moddb below

https://www.moddb.com/games/janes-u...tackleberrys-patches-for-usaf-iaf-and-fa

I ran this on my windows 10 desktop and it worked and was able to play a training mission with no issues. The following day I tried and now am getting the following error below
http://www.bobsyouruncle.net/images/USAF-OK.jpg

on my xp machine the error comes up as
"the procedure entry point GetPhysicallyInstalledSystemMemory could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll"

I also tried the instructions below but the screen goes black for a second and returns to desktop without running
https://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/4523041/re-janes-usaf-by-tcklbrry#Post4523041

I am wondering if you are aware of a fix or work around for these issues I could try? Any help would be great.

#4530312 - 07/17/20 12:23 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: D'Ace]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Originally Posted by D'Ace
Thanks predat0r,


I can only run USAF v1.01F, with Tackelberry obsolete patch from MODDB. And through USAF One Core.bat.


I tried this as well and i cannot get it to run this way for me either.

#4530320 - 07/17/20 07:19 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
predat0r Offline
Junior Member
predat0r  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Canada
Mr X,

Are you using Windows XP 64-bit by any chance? Could you describe more on your computer setup... what is the graphic card?

I have a dual-core desktop with nvidia 8800GT on Windows XP 64-bit which doesn't work also (blackscreen then return to desktop) using original Tackleberry patch and my version from previous post.


Last edited by predat0r; 07/17/20 07:21 AM.
#4530440 - 07/18/20 12:42 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
I have the XP laptop which i have to install the disks with and then a windows 10 desktop to play the game with, I will look up my Specs for both but just using the XP laptop for the cd installation to removable drive. Any other specs that would be helpful let me know.

Laptop: TOSHIBA TECRA M3 14” LAPTOP INTEL PENTIUM M 1.86GHZ 512MB 80GB WIN XP PRO

Desktop: Dell OptiPlex 7010, 64 bit, Windows 10 version 1809, Integrated/On-Board Graphics, Processor Speed: 3.2 GHz, Maximum RAM Capacity: 16 GB, Hard Drive Capacity: 250GB - 2TB, GPU: Integrated Intel HD Graphics, Memory: 4GB - 16 GB, Processor Type: Intel Quad Core i5 3rd Gen., SSD Capacity: 128GB - 480GB NEW SSD

Last edited by Mr X; 07/18/20 12:56 AM.
#4531067 - 07/23/20 10:40 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 97
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 97
Czech Republic
Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry

Download link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1N2HX6PvcHtao9KjwdKrvJlHsH8mMRU9b/view?usp=sharing
Archive password: pBx9TC8AHu7wcnMA

Overview

Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry is based on dgVoodoo wrapper and including fligt models created by Jupiter.
There are fixes to be able to play on modern systems and improvements like textures, field of view, terrain visibility and streaming.
ReShade is used for a better look.
Many thanks to Andromedius for testing and creating videos on his youtube channel!

Prerequisites

  • Install USAF to C:\ (not C:\Program Files\)
  • Install the patch 1.02F


Installation

  • Extract to USAF folder


Configuration

Disable fullscreen optimizations

  • Right-click on USAF.exe
  • In the context menu, select Properties
  • Go to the Compatibility tab
  • Enable the option Disable fullscreen optimizations


Select display device

  • Open USAFConfig.exe
  • Select dgVoodoo DirectX Wrapper as Display Device
  • Run Test


Select display resolution

  • Open USAF.exe
  • Go to the PREFERENCES in the main menu
  • Go to the GRAPHICS tab
  • Go to the DISPLAY tab
  • Select a DISPLAY RESOLUTION that matches the aspect ratio 4:3 (1024x768, 1280x960, 1600x1200, 1920x1440, 2048x1536 etc.)


Links

dgVoodoo: http://dege.freeweb.hu/
Flight Models: http://www.bobsyouruncle.net/mcflyhome.htm
ReShade: https://reshade.me/
Andromedius youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/andromedius/featured

Last edited by Tcklbrry; 07/26/20 03:57 PM.
#4531075 - 07/23/20 12:13 PM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 138
Andromedius Offline
I Love Camembert
Andromedius  Offline
I Love Camembert
Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 138
Nancy, North-East of FRANCE
Awesome release !!! band

You did such an amazing job. Once more you single handedly saved Jane's USAF from oblivion !

Thanks for allowing me to test your update, friend !

Fly safe,

Cheers! cheers

Andro


Last edited by Andromedius; 07/24/20 01:06 PM.

'Au Royaume des aveugles, les borgnes sont mal vus'. Pierre Dac.
In the land of the blind, one-eyed men are badly looked upon.
#4531140 - 07/24/20 01:33 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Mr X Offline
Junior Member
Mr X  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 9
Thanks Again!

I extracted the most recent files, disabled fullscreen optimizations, set dgvoodoo display in config and set display to 4:3, when I run the exe file I am getting the error below, anyone have suggestions?
https://ibb.co/VVrLLp2

Last edited by Mr X; 07/24/20 02:13 AM.
#4531149 - 07/24/20 04:48 AM Re: Jane's USAF by Tcklbrry [Re: Tcklbrry]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 97
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 97
Czech Republic
Hi!

I have updated instructions to be more clearly. smile

Cheers,
Tcklbrry

Page 5 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Euro 24
by RossUK. 06/14/24 08:28 PM
First PC... 1995
by F4UDash4. 06/13/24 05:56 PM
Scramble: Battle of Britain
by RedOneAlpha. 06/10/24 06:37 PM
Upcoming Games
by RedOneAlpha. 06/08/24 09:57 AM
Apollo 8 Astronaut William Anders was 90
by F4UDash4. 06/08/24 12:07 AM
ALIEN: Romulus first full trailer
by NoFlyBoy. 06/06/24 12:10 PM
D-Day
by F4UDash4. 06/06/24 09:58 AM
How many wet shave?
by RedOneAlpha. 06/04/24 03:05 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0