Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4316092 - 11/29/16 09:45 AM Helios Tutorial Build Custom MCFD (Cockpit Design)  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 116
Slippery_Rat Offline
Member
Slippery_Rat  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 116
I only have a small monitor so I wanted to maximize the screen size of my MCFD so I built my own.

1. First create a panel, and name it MCFD in properties. If dont know how to create panel see my method 2 tutorial.



2. Using a graphics program create a file, with a hole the size of your desired "screen", as defined by your monitor lua script.
3. Save it to Helios images folder to use as a background,
4. In panel properties, set the background to your saved file.



5. Drag a MFD botton from toolbox to MFD panel.



6. Rename is OSB1, repeat this step 4 more.
7. Position them along the top.
8. Select them all and copy them.
9. Paste and move them all simultaneously to the bottom.
10. Create drag more buttons for OSB 6-9.
11. Position them on the right where you want them.
12. Copy and paste.
13. Move the newly pasted buttons simultaneously to the left using the arrow keys on the keyboard.
14. Rename them all to relect their real names.

Now the bindings.

15. With OSB1 (MFD1) selected in properties, click on the OUTPUT tab.
16. Since I am creating the duplicating the right MCFD.
17. Expand Interfaces > DCS A10C > Right MCFD > Push OSB1.
18. Drag from Push OSB1 to Pushed on the Output Tab.
19. Drag from Release OSB1 to Released on the Output Tab.
20. Save

So when newly created OSB1 (MFD1) button is pushed it will, push OSB1 on the Right MCFD in A10C, and when released it will release OSB1 on the Right MCFD in A10C.



Some fine tuning on position of buttons may be required, use the align and distribute button at top of main Panel Window to well position buttons into place.

This MCFD, allows significantly more "screen" real estate than the toolbox version.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4316144 - 11/29/16 03:06 PM Re: Helios Tutorial Build Custom MCFD (Cockpit Design) [Re: Slippery_Rat]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
The downside to this is that you have to be accurate to hit that tiny OSB. I've modded my MFDs so that the entire area that an OSB occupies is essentially a button. Have a look at my profile to see what I'm talking about.

Basically, you can cram a lot of stuff into a small space, but you'll have to be super-accurate with your activations.... which then brings me back into mouse-clicking a small button in the 3D pit. At least using the mouse, there's a "snap to" function that you don't have on your secondary screen. So getting a bigger screen and making the button/activation area bigger makes for an easier, more pleasant experience.

That's why you'll notice on my profile, all my switches, knobs, etc. have "space" around them which mkes the activation area bigger.


- Ice
#4316151 - 11/29/16 03:19 PM Re: Helios Tutorial Build Custom MCFD (Cockpit Design) [Re: Slippery_Rat]  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 116
Slippery_Rat Offline
Member
Slippery_Rat  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 116
Great idea!

LaLa

#4401016 - 01/20/18 01:04 AM Re: Helios Tutorial Build Custom MCFD (Cockpit Design) [Re: Slippery_Rat]  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 338
sobe Offline
Member
sobe  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 338
Bend, OR USA
Slippery_Rat

I want to add a 3rd MFD to the profile, but I can only see 2 MFDs in the A-10c interface. Do you know how to add a 3rd MFD? I am slowly preparing for the F18 in DCS.
Thanks


Trackir4, Win10 Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset, DDR3 8GB Ram,AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 16X PCIe Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Monitor 2 on right 1280x1024
#4409135 - 03/06/18 05:37 AM Re: Helios Tutorial Build Custom MCFD (Cockpit Design) [Re: sobe]  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 116
Slippery_Rat Offline
Member
Slippery_Rat  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 116
I'm rusty on this, but I think all you need is the name of the 3rd MFD (which is how DCS reference it) I dont know know that, but if you open the monitor lua file, whichever one you are using and look and see, in A10-C they are LEFT_MFCD and RIGHT_MFCD, just a guess maybe CENTER_MFCD but I dont know.


Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
WW2 still finding bodies
by Alicatt. 10/10/19 04:10 PM
That moment in time....
by Bill_Grant. 10/09/19 01:35 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0