Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4314495 - 11/23/16 12:34 PM WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA?  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,529
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,529
High over the Front
Has anyone every done a side by side comparison of the two for graphic quality and FPS effect?
I, somewhat knee jerk perhaps, always override WOFF's in-game AA on the thought that AA thru Nvidia "must be better because it's newer."(?)

Is this, in fact, true?

Assuming everything else is equal (and I don't recall how high WOFF's AA will go) is WOFF 8x AA as good, or better, then 8x AA thru Nvidia?

And assuming things are equal graphically which will (should?) have less of a performance (FPS) impact?

Seems like I read "years ago and somewhere" that you should try to use the (whatever) games AA when you can. Was wondering if that is still true - if it ever was - but, more importantly, is it true in WOFF?

#4314513 - 11/23/16 01:20 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 232
LowDrag Offline
Member
LowDrag  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 232
I still have an ATI card, was normally using sole the driver settings and overide all aplication settings. With the new WOFF UE I had to tune down the AA to 4 samples when using Crimson settings, had otherwise a huge impact on FPS. With the new shaders the visual was still brilliant and the frames were between 60 and 90 with AA at 4.
Now I use application settings wherever possible, AA at 8 through WOFF UE workshop, and the frames are high up.
Love this sim!

There are several games where the performance seems to be better (at least for me) when using application settings with the newest versions of these games, like Falcon BMS, Steel Beasts Pro.
These games have a lot of new options regarding visual quality to choose from, maybe this is the reason why.

#4314515 - 11/23/16 01:23 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 24
Palajan Offline
Junior Member
Palajan  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 24
Switzerland
Usually, in all games with AA options, i use these - assuming they are optimized for the game.
In older games & sims (FSX for example) i use nvidia to fine tune AA settings, which is a lot better than the ingame options.

In case of WOFF, i was playing with the nvidia AA settings which reduced my FPS to 15. Now i gave it back to application controlled and it runs fine.

It depends on the game. The newer, the more i keep the ingame AA.


Win 10 PC | 8600K | MSI Pro Carbon | 32 GB DDR4 | Aorus 1080 Ti | beQuiet Dark Base 700 | Acer X34A Rev3
Cockpit ;-) | TrackIR 5 | HOTAS WarBRD + Warthog @ Monstertech | MFG Crosswinds | Throttle Quadrant | Trim Wheel
#4314517 - 11/23/16 01:25 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,725
Panama Red Offline
Member
Panama Red  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,725
Irmo, SC, USA
Normally if a game has "In-game AA", it has been optimized for that game (per a lot of articles I have read over the years), versus using the generic NVidia or ATI override AA settings.


CPU = i9 9900K, GPU = RTX 2080 Ti, Monitor = 32" 4K G-sync
#4314535 - 11/23/16 01:45 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 263
Stardog765 Offline
Member
Stardog765  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 263
Pendleton, IN
I have played with this since upgrading to my new GTX 1060 and the UE and honestly before the NVidia settings worked best by far but now I honestly believe the AA in the game works as good or better than forcing through the NVidia panel.

Now this is just what I have found myself and could just be something on my end but that is what I am seeing now.

I use 8 samples in game and application controlled in the NVidia panel. I do use the Ansio filtering from NVidia though.


Stardog765
Dogs of War
#4314543 - 11/23/16 01:55 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,303
lederhosen Offline
Member
lederhosen  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,303
Germany
well, if using SweetFX then your gona have to use Nvidia settings. I can't live with it.


make mistakes and learn from them

I5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asrock B85m Pro3, Gtx 1060 3GB
#4314546 - 11/23/16 02:09 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,529
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,529
High over the Front
Interesting all around thank you gentlemen.
I do use SweerFX only for the Lumasharpen feature.
Perhaps I will give the in game version a try then.
Always looking for the best performance and graphics in UE.

#4314559 - 11/23/16 02:58 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,509
Deacon211 Offline
Senior Member
Deacon211  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,509
Louisville, KY
So, correct me if I am wrong but doesn't disabling the AA in the NVidia panel remove access to all that fancy pants Multi, Super, and the little known Super Duper sampling?

What kind of AA does stock WOFF get you? And is it not improved by these technologies?

When I had that great improvement from using NVidia Inspector, the one setting I didn't try was stock AA, as I got the general impression from the WOFF FAQ (carried over from previous FAQs no doubt) that overriding the stock AA was the more common practice.

#4314561 - 11/23/16 03:04 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,303
lederhosen Offline
Member
lederhosen  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,303
Germany
actually stock WOFF AA aint that bad. If your happy with the pic then perhaps it is the way to go.
I thought that the GPU AA is faster/better, but I'm probably wrong.

However, for a sharper pic and deeper colors, then SwwetFX is needed, and that means in game AA has to be off.


make mistakes and learn from them

I5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asrock B85m Pro3, Gtx 1060 3GB
#4314563 - 11/23/16 03:07 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: Deacon211]  
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,593
OldHat Offline
Member
OldHat  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted By: Deacon211
So, correct me if I am wrong but doesn't disabling the AA in the NVidia panel remove access to all that fancy pants Multi, Super, and the little known Super Duper sampling?


Very true. You can't get the granular adjustments with ingame AA. NVidia inspector is still King.

#4314566 - 11/23/16 03:15 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 115
manfas Offline
Member
manfas  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 115
two words - control wires - that's why I still use Nvidia Inspector

#4314567 - 11/23/16 03:17 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 72
Tango717 Offline
Junior Member
Tango717  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 72
Abbotsford,BC
I have what would be considered a high end mid-range system and I have struggled almost two year with Nvidia and game settings but never giving up and trying many posted suggestions.

Just before Woff UE was released, (still running Woff 3) I finally found decent performance with using AA in game and no pre-rendered frames (use the 3D application).

Then when Woff UE was released, my performance increased and the presentation is very beautiful.

Tango

#4314599 - 11/23/16 04:45 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: manfas]  
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,509
Deacon211 Offline
Senior Member
Deacon211  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,509
Louisville, KY
Originally Posted By: manfas
two words - control wires - that's why I still use Nvidia Inspector



Well, you know I would generally agree with you. I just ran my daily missions with NVidia set to Application Settings and 8X in WOFF itself and the control wires were perhaps a hair (no pun intended) less smooth than with NI, but it still looked great.

I also personally think it ran better. Here's a shot or two.








I also noticed that NI didn't blank out settings for Super sampling and the rest, which I thought was odd. Are we sure, that NI doesn't give the image a second pass or anything like that? If it did, that would be great. If it tried to but just used up cycles to no end, then that would need to be something that we'd need to turn off.

#4314608 - 11/23/16 05:04 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,725
Panama Red Offline
Member
Panama Red  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,725
Irmo, SC, USA
Any time you run something through another piece of software, you slow it down, just because it still has to process it inside that software too.

This is why I quite using NVidia Inspector a while back even though I loved all the fine tweaking it allowed.


CPU = i9 9900K, GPU = RTX 2080 Ti, Monitor = 32" 4K G-sync
#4314619 - 11/23/16 05:26 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: Panama Red]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,190
Hellshade Offline
Hellshade
Hellshade  Offline
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,190
Florida
Originally Posted By: Panama Red
Any time you run something through another piece of software, you slow it down, just because it still has to process it inside that software too.

This is why I quite using NVidia Inspector a while back even though I loved all the fine tweaking it allowed.


+1. I just went back to application controlled and set it to 8X in WOFF Workshop. Things run fine, especially with all the performance increases in Ultimate Edition. I do love me some tweaking...but I love simple, workable performance even better.


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 5.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
(warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4314625 - 11/23/16 05:43 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,209
Adger Offline
Member
Adger  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,209
Are you all doing these settings on WOFF UE guys?

I may try the "workshop" settings on WOFF 3 having always used the Nvidia ones and "application control" my Nvidia settings.

If im not mistaken did POL in the past recommend overriding Workshop settings?(NOT UE)
I may be wrong and apoligize in advance if so.


"Vis unita fortior"

"United Strength is Stronger"
#4314630 - 11/23/16 05:55 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,843
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,843
EURO-zone
When it becomes to eyecandy, nothing can beat Supersampling. it only cost lots of effort .
But adger I think you are right on that.

Last edited by dutch; 11/23/16 05:57 PM.
#4314632 - 11/23/16 06:01 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,725
Panama Red Offline
Member
Panama Red  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,725
Irmo, SC, USA
You can not beat SuperSampling for eye candy, if you are willing to pay the price for using it.


CPU = i9 9900K, GPU = RTX 2080 Ti, Monitor = 32" 4K G-sync
#4314633 - 11/23/16 06:01 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: Deacon211]  
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 115
manfas Offline
Member
manfas  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 115
Originally Posted By: Deacon211
Originally Posted By: manfas
two words - control wires - that's why I still use Nvidia Inspector



Well, you know I would generally agree with you. I just ran my daily missions with NVidia set to Application Settings and 8X in WOFF itself and the control wires were perhaps a hair (no pun intended) less smooth than with NI, but it still looked great.


Let me say this frankly - I'm an idiot frown
When I tried to set ingame AA control wires in my planes looked like this:


worse than on your pictures ... but then I realized that I have enabled Sweet FX which turns off ingame multsampling.
I turned off Sweet FX and set ingame AA x8 and this is the effect

The controls wires look now almost as good as in NVIDIA Inspector AA and the performance is better
Thanks!

#4314643 - 11/23/16 06:52 PM Re: WOFF in-game AA vs Nvidia AA? [Re: Panama Red]  
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,593
OldHat Offline
Member
OldHat  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,593
Originally Posted By: Panama Red
Any time you run something through another piece of software, you slow it down, just because it still has to process it inside that software too.

This is why I quite using NVidia Inspector a while back even though I loved all the fine tweaking it allowed.


A common misconception is that NI is a stand alone software. It's not. It cannot function without the NVidia Drivers. Remember that it's not even installed on your PC.

Quote from tweakguides.com:

"Keep in mind that Nvidia Inspector is completely reliant on the GeForce driver to provide its data and functionality. The extra settings in Nvidia Inspector are simply existing GeForce driver features that are hidden in the standard NVidia Control Panel."

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Dr. J. Michael Lane was 84
by Rick_Rawlings. 10/25/20 02:08 AM
“Old” Dunkirk
by oldgrognard. 10/25/20 01:01 AM
Football
by Alicatt. 10/23/20 09:57 PM
Interesting historical blunders
by oldgrognard. 10/22/20 10:33 PM
An old farmer speaks
by KraziKanuK. 10/21/20 04:25 PM
Cyberpunk 2077 — 2077 in Style
by Crane Hunter. 10/19/20 03:21 PM
Qantas Airlines: Repair Division
by NoFlyBoy. 10/19/20 12:10 AM
Lemons on sandwiches?
by NoFlyBoy. 10/18/20 04:20 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0