Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 38 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 37 38
#4305249 - 10/21/16 08:42 PM Re: Mission editor Beta ***** [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Okay it is time to admit I am a Mission Editor dumb-arse.

Which of the 6 or 8 .exe files in the Java folder do I use to open and run the mission editor .jar file?

When I straight up double click on it W10 keeps asking what I want to use to open it and I keep guessing wrong.

#4305256 - 10/21/16 08:55 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
Czech Rep.
You should not bother with exe files. That sounds very strange. If you have correctly installed Java run time libraries, Windows OS should know how to execute *.jar files. It seems your W10 disallow Java on your computer or Java was not properly installed. Did you perform online test of proper Java installation (not via Chrome browser!)? Did you install correct version of Java (32 or 64 bit)? Does any other Java applications run well? Try to download other Java application and run it (eg. PWCG - Pat Wilson Campaign Generator for ROF/IL-2 BOS).

#4305262 - 10/21/16 09:07 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Yes ran "check if it works thing" after install and it said it was fine and installed.
Guess I'll keep playing with it. Sure it's some setting on my end.

#4305267 - 10/21/16 09:29 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
Czech Rep.
sigh I am very sorry you have problems with Java and I am not able to help you. I do not know how to solve that problem. However I am sure your Windows OS did not attached proper shell to execute Java files (*.jar). Maybe Windows UAC, antivir or other "safety" settings? I assume you did not extracted Mission editor to Program Files folder? Because this folder is under Windows "cover".

#4305268 - 10/21/16 09:34 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Hmmm...I was trying to run it from a folder on my Desktop. Maybe I'll try moving it to the x86 folder or something. I am an Admin but on some programs I have to remind Windows of that. Yea...some dumb setting on my end.
But you are exactly correct. Everything seems good and installed but W10 doesn't know what to use to run it - and I am no help! Hehe..

#4305269 - 10/21/16 09:35 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
Czech Rep.
I have installed it to OBD Software folder and it works OK. But yes, it seems to be Windows problem.

#4305331 - 10/22/16 01:39 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windo...6e202902?auth=1

It would appear I am not the only one having issues with .jar files and W10...

#4305377 - 10/22/16 06:04 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
Czech Rep.
Oh, W10 seems to be very "user friendly" and "all in one" system. I am very sorry for your trouble and hope you will manage to fix it in accordance with advices on the above link. And again, I am really glad I did not switch to W10 prematurely.

#4305379 - 10/22/16 07:05 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
Czech Rep.
I would recommend yout to uninstall Java and then download and install one of the JavaSE in accordance with your version of OS(I assume Windows x64).
Link: Java SE
That should help. If I remember well, one of Mission editor beta testers had the same issue and above method (Java SE installation) fixed it. Good luck and let me know result, pls.

#4305380 - 10/22/16 07:19 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Thank you sir.
We will give it a shot as, for obvious reasons, I am hot for your ME.
Also, in the many pages of the above link there is a program - that many has luck with - that tells W10 what to do with .jar files.

#4305388 - 10/22/16 08:16 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Well, well.
Considering all the g-d hours I spent trying to get ME to work yesterday the solution was amazingly simple.
For "future generations of WOFF'ers" in the same Java/W10 boat download:
http://projects.killerapplets.com/JAR_Runner/

Small program, took about 10 seconds to figure out and about 3 seconds to use.
And it works. ME is firing up!

#4305397 - 10/22/16 09:09 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
Czech Rep.
cheers thumbsup
Super you found the solution! Thanks also on behalf of other Win10 users!
Now let's fly! woot

Last edited by JJJ65; 10/22/16 09:10 AM.
#4305416 - 10/22/16 10:39 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Just playing around looking at it and reading the .pdf file.
Awesome piece of work!

One question since the .pdf predates UE...I presume I can start the ME before I start WOFF? Then when I get the pop-up in the WOFF campaign screen I can go right to ME?
And the readme says to "close" ME after I make any changes to a campaign mission. If I plan on a multi-flight session can I leave ME open for the next flight? Or is closing necessary to save the modded campaign flight? Forget to look if there was a "save now" feature in ME when it is open.

Guess I have two questions: The .pdf also states that I can alter the skill and morale of flight members. I don't necessarily see myself using this but it's a nice option for campaign quirks and to better understand ME. Are these changes permanent or just for that flight?

#4305418 - 10/22/16 11:01 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,888
Czech Rep.
Code:
Just playing around looking at it and reading the .pdf file. 
Awesome piece of work!

Thank you.

Code:
I presume I can start the ME before I start WOFF? 

Yes, you can start it anytime, ie. either prior to launch of WOFF UE or when the ME window in the WOFF pops up.

Code:
And the readme says to "close" ME after I make any changes to a campaign mission

Yes, save your changes and close Mission Editor. It must be restarted for the next mission to enable Open Mission file menu.

Code:
Guess I have two questions: The .pdf also states that I can alter the skill and morale of flight members. 
I don't necessarily see myself using this but it's a nice option for campaign quirks and to better understand ME. 
Are these changes permanent or just for that flight?

Only for this edited mission. For the next mission it returns to WOFF campaign settings.

Last edited by JJJ65; 10/22/16 11:02 AM.
#4305419 - 10/22/16 11:08 AM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Excellent!
Thank you.

#4305445 - 10/22/16 02:12 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,321
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,321
Thanks Gentlemen. I'll update the PDF with a section for UE when I have some time.

H


System: i5 8600K @ 3.6GHz,16GB DDR4 @2666MHz. RTX2080, MSI Z370 mobo, Dell 27" G-SYNC @ 144Hz. 2560x1440

#4305455 - 10/22/16 02:57 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,984
RAF_Louvert Online grunt
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Online Grunt
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,984
L'Etoile du Nord
.

JJJ65, I have the latest update of your Mission Editor installed and it is brilliant! With the new workshop setting in WOFF UE that allows for 3rd party editors it is now ridiculously easy to use yours. I have it pinned to the task bar so it is a simple one click to launch once I hit ALT-TAB to step out of WOFF and make the changes. This mod is an absolute "must have" in my opinion. Well done Sir!

.


[Linked Image]

Three RFC Brass Hats were strolling down a street in London. Two walked into a bar, the third one ducked.
_________________________________________________________________________

Former Cold War Warrior, USAF Security Service 1974-1978, E-4, Morse Systems Intercept, England, Europe, and points above.
"pippy-pahpah-pippy pah-pip-pah"

#4305472 - 10/22/16 04:07 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,319
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,319
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: RAF_Louvert
.

JJJ65, I have the latest update of your Mission Editor installed and it is brilliant! With the new workshop setting in WOFF UE that allows for 3rd party editors it is now ridiculously easy to use yours. I have it pinned to the task bar so it is a simple one click to launch once I hit ALT-TAB to step out of WOFF and make the changes. This mod is an absolute "must have" in my opinion. Well done Sir!

.


Lou, please enlighten me on one issue. I have already downloaded the editor but I have not been able to find any info regarding where to install all the files. Can it exist outside of the WOFF directory or does it have to be placed inside in a specific folder.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4305485 - 10/22/16 04:50 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,984
RAF_Louvert Online grunt
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Online Grunt
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,984
L'Etoile du Nord
.

Robert, I have it in the OBDSoftware folder itself, though I don't think it matters where it resides:



I then have a shortcut to the "WOFF UE_Mission_Editor.jar" file, (which is located in the mission editor folder highlighted in the screenie above), pinned to the task bar.

.


[Linked Image]

Three RFC Brass Hats were strolling down a street in London. Two walked into a bar, the third one ducked.
_________________________________________________________________________

Former Cold War Warrior, USAF Security Service 1974-1978, E-4, Morse Systems Intercept, England, Europe, and points above.
"pippy-pahpah-pippy pah-pip-pah"

#4305487 - 10/22/16 04:59 PM Re: Mission editor Beta [Re: RAF_Louvert]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,319
Robert_Wiggins Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Offline
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,319
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: RAF_Louvert
.

Robert, I have it in the OBDSoftware folder itself, though I don't think it matters where it resides:



I then have a shortcut to the "WOFF UE_Mission_Editor.jar" file, (which is located in the mission editor folder highlighted in the screenie above), pinned to the task bar.

.


Thanks Lou;

There is a warning in the tutorial rendered by HarryH, that once you open the editor you should not close it without importing a mission file or it will cause an error to WOFF. Not sure if this is still the case because his comments were related to WOFF3 and not WOFF UE. Hopefully someone will update the tutorial for WOFF_UE


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

Page 5 of 38 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 37 38

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Wildlife
by oldgrognard. 06/06/20 07:39 PM
For NoFlyBoy
by KraziKanuK. 06/06/20 12:40 PM
76 years ago today -- D-Day
by Sluggish Controls. 06/06/20 04:13 AM
Very educational F-22 video
by Zamzow. 06/05/20 11:35 PM
Justice for Maddie
by RossUK. 06/04/20 11:11 AM
Perhaps My Final Flight
by FishTaco. 06/04/20 02:59 AM
Blue Angel's will transition to the Rhino
by CyBerkut. 06/02/20 12:41 PM
The pancake chef...
by Mr_Blastman. 05/31/20 06:33 PM
DOSBox/MS-DOS6
by MarkG. 05/31/20 02:14 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0