Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4269624 - 06/13/16 12:45 PM Help with Free Falcon 6  
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Redhat Offline
Junior Member
Redhat  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Greetings!

I have played Free Falcon in the past and I've enjoyed it very much.
A week ago I've downloaded and installed the latest version on my Win 7 machine, but I can't get it to run. Every time I start the game I get a ctd. Can anyone help me with this problem?

Here is the crashlog.

Code:
FFViper.exe caused a EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION in module ntdll.dll at 001B:77A02228, EtwEventEnabled()+465 byte(s)
Exception handler called in WinMain Thread.
Write to location 00000014 caused an access violation.
Code: ff 40 14 8b 5d f4 8b 7d f0 80 3d 82 03 fe 7f 00 
Stack dump:
Stack: 001B:77A02228 (0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x0012F404) ntdll.dll, EtwEventEnabled()+465 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:77A02137 (0x00B0CD20 0x75A3189F 0x731C2763 0x0012F404) ntdll.dll, EtwEventEnabled()+224 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:005C5D31 (0x0012F0A0 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000) FFViper.exe, movieOpen()+17 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:00404CC2 (0x0012F278 0x00000000 0x00000000 0x00000000) FFViper.exe, PlayMovie()+562 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:004042E2 (0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000 0x00000000) FFViper.exe, FalconMessageHandler()+4370 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773BC4E7 (0x004031D0 0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000) USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+463 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773BC5E7 (0x00000000 0x004031D0 0x001C0408 0x0000041C) USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+719 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773B1B31 (0xFFFF05D7 0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000) USER32.dll, PeekMessageA()+396 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773B1B57 (0xFFFF05D7 0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000) USER32.dll, CallWindowProcW()+27 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:62A7A10F (0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000 0x00000000) DINPUT8.dll, DllUnregisterServer()+375 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:62A7A407 (0x001FBA88 0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000) DINPUT8.dll, DllUnregisterServer()+1135 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:62A7A471 (0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000 0x00000000) DINPUT8.dll, DllUnregisterServer()+1241 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:62A725EC (0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000 0x00000000) DINPUT8.dll, DirectInput8Create()+22878 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:62A7A407 (0x001FBA88 0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000) DINPUT8.dll, DllUnregisterServer()+1135 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:62A7A4DC (0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000 0x00000000) DINPUT8.dll, DllUnregisterServer()+1348 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773BC4E7 (0x62A7A48A 0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000) USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+463 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773BC5E7 (0x00000000 0x62A7A48A 0x001C0408 0x0000041C) USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+719 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773B4F0E (0x010F7858 0x0000041C 0x00000000 0x00000000) USER32.dll, GetScrollBarInfo()+253 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773B4F7D (0x0012F6C0 0x00000018 0x0012F980 0x77A170A0) USER32.dll, GetScrollBarInfo()+364 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:77A170EE (0x000F7858 0x0000041C 0x00000000 0x00000000) ntdll.dll, KiUserCallbackDispatcher()+46 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773AADA9 (0x001C0408 0x0000041C 0x00000000 0x00000000) USER32.dll, SendMessageA()+73 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:00403452 (0x001C0408 0x00000401 0x00000000 0x00000000) FFViper.exe, FalconMessageHandler()+642 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773BC4E7 (0x004031D0 0x001C0408 0x00000401 0x00000000) USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+463 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773BC5E7 (0x00000000 0x004031D0 0x001C0408 0x00000401) USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+719 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773BCC19 (0x004031D0 0x00000001 0x0012FE20 0x00401CF6) USER32.dll, gapfnScSendMessage()+2305 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:773B2E41 (0x0012FD94 0x775FD9F3 0x00000000 0x00000009) USER32.dll, DispatchMessageA()+15 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:00401CF6 (0x00400000 0x00000000 0x001B206D 0x00000001) FFViper.exe, HandleWinMain()+1206 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:00401EA9 (0x00400000 0x00000000 0x001B206D 0x00000001) FFViper.exe, WinMain()+73 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:00417E53 (0x7FFDF000 0x0012FFD4 0x77A33AB3 0x7FFDF000) FFViper.exe, WinMainCRTStartup()+388 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:775FEE6C (0x7FFDF000 0x73814C95 0x00000000 0x00000000) kernel32.dll, BaseThreadInitThunk()+18 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:77A33AB3 (0x00417CCF 0x7FFDF000 0x00000000 0x00000000) ntdll.dll, RtlInitializeExceptionChain()+239 byte(s)
Stack: 001B:77A33A86 (0x00417CCF 0x7FFDF000 0x00000000 0x78746341) ntdll.dll, RtlInitializeExceptionChain()+194 byte(s)
EAX=00000000  EBX=FFFFFFFC  ECX=00000000  EDX=00000004  ESI=00B0CD20
EDI=00B0CD24  EBP=00000000  ESP=0012FFF4  EIP=00000000  FLG=00210213
CS=001B   DS=0023  SS=0023  ES=0023   FS=003B  GS=0000
Error occurred at 6/12/2016 16:35:30.
C:\FreeFalcon6\FFViper.exe, run by Redhat.
2 processor(s), type 586.
1861 MBytes physical memory.
OS: 6.1 build 7601 platform 2 Service Pack 1

Not in game
DX Model ID : 0
Texture ID  : 0

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4269722 - 06/13/16 06:10 PM Re: Help with Free Falcon 6 [Re: Redhat]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,167
MigBuster Offline
Member
MigBuster  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,167
UK
Recommend you use BMS 4.33 instead........far more modern.


As for this......do you need to install the older DX libraries (DX7??)


'Crashing and Burning since 1987'
#4270151 - 06/14/16 10:06 PM Re: Help with Free Falcon 6 [Re: Redhat]  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 850
toonces Offline
Member
toonces  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 850
Honolulu, Hawaii
I've never been good at reading FF crash logs, but it looks like it's something regarding starting a movie. If you're playing a stock campaign, is the crash happening shortly after starting the campaign?

Unfortunately, I don't know how to tell you to fix it, if that's the case. Perhaps (after backing them up) going through your install, finding the movie files and deleting them/renaming them so they don't play might help.


"A week or even a month for someone basically saying "shucks, this is pants" maybe. But their banhammer only has the forever setting. Gotta set phasers to stun for the localization of female undergarments, not kill yo." - Frederf
#4270184 - 06/15/16 12:34 AM Re: Help with Free Falcon 6 [Re: Redhat]  
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,843
Falstar Offline
Senior Member
Falstar  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,843
Edina, MN 55439
I would try setting the Windows compatibility mode to XP.

#4273917 - 06/27/16 06:42 PM Re: Help with Free Falcon 6 [Re: Redhat]  
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Redhat Offline
Junior Member
Redhat  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Nope, Win XP compatibility does not help.That was the first thing I've tried. I can't install Dx7 on my pc.
Any other guesses?

I have tried Falcon BMS, but the system requirements are too high for my notebook.

#4273942 - 06/27/16 07:43 PM Re: Help with Free Falcon 6 [Re: Redhat]  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 850
toonces Offline
Member
toonces  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 850
Honolulu, Hawaii
It looks like it is happening on start- when it's initializing or trying to start a movie.

I am guessing you are missing something you need to properly play the movie (codec or .dll?) and that is causing your crash.

Again, try deleting the movie files or renaming them and see if that fixes the problem. Freefalcon should run on Windows 7.

Last edited by toonces; 06/27/16 07:44 PM.

"A week or even a month for someone basically saying "shucks, this is pants" maybe. But their banhammer only has the forever setting. Gotta set phasers to stun for the localization of female undergarments, not kill yo." - Frederf
#4274080 - 06/28/16 09:31 AM Re: Help with Free Falcon 6 [Re: toonces]  
Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Redhat Offline
Junior Member
Redhat  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
I have Tried to install all kinds of video codecs. The FF setup file installs indeo video codec 5.11 as well.
Renaming or deleting the intro video or the whole movies folder didn't helped either.

Free Falcon worked quite well for me on Windows XP in the past, but I don't want to change my OS for just one game.

#4274984 - 07/01/16 12:23 AM Re: Help with Free Falcon 6 [Re: Redhat]  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 850
toonces Offline
Member
toonces  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 850
Honolulu, Hawaii
If you're running stock FF6 then I have nothing else to offer you haven't already tried. It could be graphic card related- FF6 doesn't like one of the big two cards, can't remember if it's NVIDIA or Radeon (I think AMD Radeon was the one it hated).

Is it crashing right on start? On game start or campaign start? Are you running as administrator?


"A week or even a month for someone basically saying "shucks, this is pants" maybe. But their banhammer only has the forever setting. Gotta set phasers to stun for the localization of female undergarments, not kill yo." - Frederf

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
The most popular games on Steam
by PanzerMeyer. 02/23/20 02:10 PM
Anyone use VoiceAtttack?
by bones. 02/21/20 01:50 PM
Fanatical Platinum Bundle
by Red2112. 02/21/20 12:21 PM
Raising the Kursk
by CyBerkut. 02/20/20 11:09 PM
Borderlands the movie?
by PanzerMeyer. 02/20/20 07:41 PM
Post script on our fires
by Mad Max. 02/19/20 09:43 PM
Our current approaching storm
by Ajay. 02/19/20 12:35 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0