Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
#4245971 - 04/03/16 06:55 AM Re: Questions about WOFF ***** [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 140
Andy73 Offline
Member
Andy73  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 140
Germany
I have this damned Problem with those Stutters since WOFF's release in 2013. My Suggestion is quite simple: It has something to do with the Graphic Settings in the Game.


I am playing with a GTX 970, 8 GB RAM and a i7-6700K with 4 GHZ. A pretty fast System, I think. Every Game on my System is running smooth as silk with High Settings, believe me. But I still have Problems with WOFF. Campaigns from April 1917 onwards are stuttering as Hell.

In OFF Phase 3 we've had more Options to tweak the Graphics. Do you remember the Graphics Config in Phase 3? You know, those Settings with the "Overrides" and "Texture Info" and so on. Tweaking with these Settings allowed the Players to adjust their Graphics, until OFF was running smooth and liquid. I am still playing OFF, and I have tweaked with those advanced Graphic Settings, and even with heavy Air Activity in 1918 I can play smooth as silk, better than it was ever before, I never see any Stutters, a very nice Gameplay.

But WOFF doesn't have these advanced Graphic Settings anymore. And THAT is the Problem IMHO. What runs good on the Dev's Systems, must NOT run good on our Computers, even if it is a similar System. I wish we had more Options to tweak the Graphics. But I have surrendered to it, surrendered to this whole Problem. THERE IS NO SOLUTION TO STOP STUTTERING.

#4245981 - 04/03/16 08:05 AM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
Perhaps in your case though it is still difficult to believe.
I have had stutters on plenty of occasions (new computer, new vid card, new OS) and have always been able to make them go away. 95% of the time it just modifying a computer setting or turning something off.

#4245999 - 04/03/16 10:36 AM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,807
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,807
EURO-zone
I think DunkelronHand does have it right, every game needs fine tuning. But I have also noticed, yep I keep repeating, that most players install Woff on the same partition as they use for the internet/office/email/webshopping etc. Make a seperate boot for Woff and keep this alone for Cfs3 based games. Now there is nothing that can interfere to this game. Tweak your OS and make it LEAN to the bone, close the internet connection (Woff does not need it) so you can remove also the firewall/virussoftware etc.
In my own system I have 3boot sectors, one win8.1 containing RoF/bos/clod on a SSD, win10 for all non gaming activities and one win7 for Woff/maw
Last two are on a normal HD.

I think it was a wise dicision to leave the Cfs config garbage and implemetate a decent on in the woff workshop. BTW I think that CFS.config file can still be used.

#4246001 - 04/03/16 10:54 AM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,593
OldHat Offline
Member
OldHat  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,593
That's very true. Even blockbuster titles need tweaking to get best eyecandy/performance. You can go into the configoverrides.xml file and adjust only some settings (e.g. the yes/no ones are mostly safe) as I've tried to make some memory value adjustments which ended up crashing WOFF. The Defaultoverrides is there for a backup.




NOTE: Some of the workshop's settings are reflected inside this file.

#4246003 - 04/03/16 11:05 AM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
Hey Dutch any tips (or better yet a link) on how to put WOFF on its own partition?
Sounds pretty cool but I get it may be tough to hold my hand in a forum.
If I google it search for "making a partition"?
Then reinstall WOFF to it? Obviously I am a little lost...

#4246006 - 04/03/16 11:24 AM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,807
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,807
EURO-zone
I'm not on my system right now but on my Apple. iphone.
For the SSD it was simple a matter of conecting the SSD and install the OS on that disk.
For making an extra boot sector on the actuall used HD I got the info from sevenforum.com, tutorials section, but in my case I did have also some free software to do this trick, without the loss of data. Also on advice from the sevenforum tutorials.

Another point in fixing problems is the use of OSD software like MSI afterburner to monitor what is causing a drop in FPS, in combination with HWinfo you can determine every problem what you are facing. This morning as a sample IHave notied a CPU load on one core that was 90%, normally this is 75% max, so dispite having an isolated Woff, there is somthing that needs further investigation before getting into problems.

#4246008 - 04/03/16 11:53 AM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
Hmmm. I suspected I would have an issue with the OS.
Just switched to W10 a month ago and WOFF seems to be working fine with it.

So the whole point is to have the partition with its own OS on it?
I still have my original W7 64-bit Pro install discs I guess I could use but, as I said WOFF works great with W10.

Would it be stupid (or possible) to have W10 on two partitions? The WOFF one all stripped down? Of course I am fairly "tweaked up" currently with junk turned off or removed as much as possible and still having a all purpose OS geared for gaming.
I guess my thought is the future and the direction that drivers and bios are going in supporting W10. But then each partition would be using its own set of drivers? W7 may be easier to really "bare bones" it...
I'll read around.

#4246021 - 04/03/16 01:18 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 237
Bronnx Offline
Member
Bronnx  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 237
I'm still searching for solutions. Maybe updating to Windows 10 would help, but i doubt it.


Intel I7 4790K / 16 GB DDR3 / Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 GB / Gigabyte GA Z97X-UD5H / GTX 1080 / 4K Samsung UE55KS7500 / TrackIR 5 / X55 Saitek
#4246025 - 04/03/16 01:38 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
If you have them with Windows 7 you will probably still have them with Windows 10...probably....maybe?

#4246039 - 04/03/16 02:12 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 237
Bronnx Offline
Member
Bronnx  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 237
Yes, i think you right
Well, i'm dissapointed


Intel I7 4790K / 16 GB DDR3 / Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 GB / Gigabyte GA Z97X-UD5H / GTX 1080 / 4K Samsung UE55KS7500 / TrackIR 5 / X55 Saitek
#4246040 - 04/03/16 02:19 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
Well a W10 test run costs you nothing and to go back to your old OS is a one-click affair.
Supposedly there are "under-the-hood" code optimizations but that's way over my head.
For WOFF I'd give it a try. It's awesome.

#4246063 - 04/03/16 03:32 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,807
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,807
EURO-zone
Originally Posted By: DukeIronHand
Hmmm. I suspected I would have an issue with the OS.
Just switched to W10 a month ago and WOFF seems to be working fine with it.

So the whole point is to have the partition with its own OS on it?
I still have my original W7 64-bit Pro install discs I guess I could use but, as I said WOFF works great with W10.

Would it be stupid (or possible) to have W10 on two partitions? The WOFF one all stripped down? Of course I am fairly "tweaked up" currently with junk turned off or removed as much as possible and still having a all purpose OS geared for gaming.
I guess my thought is the future and the direction that drivers and bios are going in supporting W10. But then each partition would be using its own set of drivers? W7 may be easier to really "bare bones" it...
I'll read around.


Win10 is the best for new hardware, looking at steam W10-64 seems to be even more used then win7. So yes stay to 10. In my case Wofff is running great and my hardware is from the Win7 period i5-2500k and a hd7970 so there is no need to change a winning team.

But a extra Win10 boot in your case is something to considder, fully optimized for Woff and no interferering by a automitic scan from a virusscanner or that nice free software downloaded by your wife but also introducing a unexpected conflict.

As apoint of intrest my whole PC life I was forced to use low spec or obsolute PC systems, so I had to tweak/overclock/use sec..hand upgrade parts, on my systems to get things running at low cost. Remember Win98lite or by bare bone WinXP-ME so that it was regonized as WinXP profesional.

#4246078 - 04/03/16 04:17 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 43
Sowercrowd Offline
Junior Member
Sowercrowd  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 43
Thuringia
Hi Bronnx !
I had some stuttering with WOFF 2 too ,really annoying ,but after having played around with nvidia control settings and nvidia inspector settings AND workshop settings for some weeks, at least some tweaks definitively reduced stuttering on my rig (i7 4770, nvidia 970gtx,240gbssd,8GB DDR3 ,win 7)to a degree it doesn't bother me no longer. It seems to be a subtle interplay between quite a lot of parameters,so it took a lot of trial-and-error based tweaking. However, although most of the time results were somewhat indifferent, some changes actually made a difference (for me). You may give it a try... 1.NvidiaControlPanel: -enabling shadercache and v-sync, texture filtering High Quality, prefer max.performance, allow negative LOD-Bias.
2.Nvidia Inspector: (select cfs3 profile),maximum prerenderedframes= prerenderlimit_app_controlled,vsyncmode=force on, frame frate monitor control=ps_frame_rate_monitor_control_optimal_setting,shader cache=ps_shaderdiskcache_on,
virtual reality prerendered frames=vrprerenderedlimit_default
3.Woff Workshop: In Graphic Details I left everything maxed out ('5'), Cloud Shadow Scale=9, Cl.Sh.Density=8 BUT reduced Terrain Shadow Detail from '3' to '2', this single step had by far the greatest influence on stuttering issue ! Best regards

#4246080 - 04/03/16 04:20 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 714
Stache Online content
Member
Stache  Online Content
Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 714
Michigan, USA
Hi,

Could someone record a session of this stuttering?
Just curious to see exactly what others are seeing?

Even on my older Notebook, Win8.1, loaded with all kinds of junk, that could do 20-40fps, if there was any stuttering, it was too minimal for me to notice with any consistency.

Thanks.


Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. A. Einstein

(System Specs:)

I7-6700k OC 4.4GHZ, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz; Gigabyte Gaming 7 MB, G1 OC'ed GTX980ti; Three-Acer XB271HU WQHD Gsync 144Mhz; Samsung 950-512GB NVMe SSD; WD 2TB-7200rpm; Cooler Master HAF XB EVO, Nepton 240M cooler, V1000 PS; Windows 10 PRO; VKB GunfighterPro Stick; Thrustmaster TPR Pedals; Saitek Throttle; Dual TM MFD panels; TrackIR 5
#4246083 - 04/03/16 04:38 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: dutch]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
Originally Posted By: dutch
Originally Posted By: DukeIronHand
Hmmm. I suspected I would have an issue with the OS.
Just switched to W10 a month ago and WOFF seems to be working fine with it.

So the whole point is to have the partition with its own OS on it?
I still have my original W7 64-bit Pro install discs I guess I could use but, as I said WOFF works great with W10.

Would it be stupid (or possible) to have W10 on two partitions? The WOFF one all stripped down? Of course I am fairly "tweaked up" currently with junk turned off or removed as much as possible and still having a all purpose OS geared for gaming.
I guess my thought is the future and the direction that drivers and bios are going in supporting W10. But then each partition would be using its own set of drivers? W7 may be easier to really "bare bones" it...
I'll read around.


Win10 is the best for new hardware, looking at steam W10-64 seems to be even more used then win7. So yes stay to 10. In my case Wofff is running great and my hardware is from the Win7 period i5-2500k and a hd7970 so there is no need to change a winning team.

But a extra Win10 boot in your case is something to considder, fully optimized for Woff and no interferering by a automitic scan from a virusscanner or that nice free software downloaded by your wife but also introducing a unexpected conflict.

As apoint of intrest my whole PC life I was forced to use low spec or obsolute PC systems, so I had to tweak/overclock/use sec..hand upgrade parts, on my systems to get things running at low cost. Remember Win98lite or by bare bone WinXP-ME so that it was regonized as WinXP profesional.




Thanks dutch!

#4246105 - 04/03/16 05:47 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 237
Bronnx Offline
Member
Bronnx  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 237
I just tested WOFF on Windows 10, i installed all the drivers, disabled some services, no antivirus, but same story.
My last hope is to follow the Sowercrowd's advices.
What do i have to select in nVidia CP / nVidia inspector ? CFS 3 or WOFF ?

Last edited by Bronnx; 04/03/16 05:48 PM.

Intel I7 4790K / 16 GB DDR3 / Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 GB / Gigabyte GA Z97X-UD5H / GTX 1080 / 4K Samsung UE55KS7500 / TrackIR 5 / X55 Saitek
#4246109 - 04/03/16 06:10 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
Good man for giving it a shot.
I wouldn't give up quite yet. You sound pretty computer savvy.
Try some of the W10 "tweaks" posted around the net. I am almost willing to bet money your solution is just one click away.
For starters try a program called (IIRC) "Eso". It is a one click program, with multiple profiles, that disables assorted Windows services. And one click to go back to default. I tried a bunch of things but I think this finally had the biggest impact.
Like to see you enjoying all WOFF has to offer.

#4246122 - 04/03/16 06:59 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
Hey dutch how big did you make your WOFF partition?
In doing some quick reading it looks like I just make the partition (Windows has the tools apparently) and d/l W10 in the ISO version and just install to the new partition. Sounds easy right?

FWIW per MS you can't make a newer Windows OS dual boot by adding an older one (like W7) to another partition.
Something about set-up and boot files being overwritten by the older OS.
That shot that down then I stumbled upon the ISO method for W10.

#4246125 - 04/03/16 07:12 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 237
Bronnx Offline
Member
Bronnx  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2016
Posts: 237
I'm getting better copter
So, i did exactly as Sowercrowd described with nVidia CP and nVidia Inspector, with those WOFF graphics settings
http://postimg.org/image/vnzk0lmwr/
Now its much better, and now i will increase / decrease each option. I want to find out which option is the most fps killer
Thank you

Last edited by Bronnx; 04/03/16 07:13 PM.

Intel I7 4790K / 16 GB DDR3 / Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 GB / Gigabyte GA Z97X-UD5H / GTX 1080 / 4K Samsung UE55KS7500 / TrackIR 5 / X55 Saitek
#4246129 - 04/03/16 07:24 PM Re: Questions about WOFF [Re: Bronnx]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
DukeIronHand Online grunt
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Online Grunt
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,276
High over the Front
Yow!
Do you even need AA with that resolution?
That's double mine...hehe

Page 5 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Nike vs B-17
by KraziKanuK. 10/18/19 08:30 PM
Grouch
by Chaz. 10/18/19 01:49 PM
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0