Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4234544 - 02/28/16 07:43 PM WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues?  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
If you look to Lou's post he finally got his new machine working which, hardware-wise, is quite similar to mine.
He is quite happy (naturally enough - 3 weeks of no WOFF) and says everything is great...even in performance. Mine is also good but it could always be better at low level in 1918 with 50 planes in the air.

Anyone having ANY problems with W10 and WOFF?
Didn't a couple of bold adventurers here say they switched and thought WOFF ran better?

I am not afraid to blaze new frontiers for improved WOFF'ism.

Last edited by DukeIronHand; 02/28/16 07:44 PM.
#4234560 - 02/28/16 08:17 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,168
Trooper117 Offline
Hotshot
Trooper117  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,168
UK
Not here, no problems, WoFF ran fine after my upgrade to win 10 smile

#4234572 - 02/28/16 08:57 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Thanks Trooper.
Any performance increases? If you could tell....

#4234582 - 02/28/16 09:22 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
hood Offline
Junior Member
hood  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
Sydney Australia
I tried Windows 10 and WOFF ran well.I can't say I noticed any real difference.But W10 took nearly three minutes to boot up against 25 seconds for W7 so I went back to good old W7.

#4234583 - 02/28/16 09:23 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Thanks hood.
Let me do some more checking around in the old threads here.

#4234587 - 02/28/16 09:39 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Eh. Seems a mix.
Couple of folks saying WOFF ran better but more saying they tried it and just didn't like it and went back to 7. They didn't mention WOFF improvement.

If it improves WOFF performance I would switch in a second after all my big, expensive computer is basically a WOFF machine anyway. I do little else with it. I get enough computers in the rest of my life. Hehe
Pol...didn't you say you are running W10 on your Dev machine?

#4234703 - 02/29/16 09:09 AM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 191
Russkly Offline
Member
Russkly  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 191
Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted By: DukeIronHand
If you look to Lou's post he finally got his new machine working which, hardware-wise, is quite similar to mine.
He is quite happy (naturally enough - 3 weeks of no WOFF) and says everything is great...even in performance. Mine is also good but it could always be better at low level in 1918 with 50 planes in the air.

Anyone having ANY problems with W10 and WOFF?
Didn't a couple of bold adventurers here say they switched and thought WOFF ran better?

I am not afraid to blaze new frontiers for improved WOFF'ism.


No issues.

No notable changes in performance.

#4234704 - 02/29/16 09:11 AM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: hood]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 191
Russkly Offline
Member
Russkly  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 191
Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted By: hood
I tried Windows 10 and WOFF ran well.I can't say I noticed any real difference.But W10 took nearly three minutes to boot up against 25 seconds for W7 so I went back to good old W7.


Hi Hood,

Strange, 'cos my Win 10 boots up much better than Win 7.

There is a programme called Oh Shup Up 10, which allows you to control what 'features' Win 10 employs, and I also use CCleaner to control what programmes and processes are started up at boot.

Just FYI.

#4234719 - 02/29/16 10:17 AM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
hood Offline
Junior Member
hood  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
Sydney Australia
Many thanks Russkly,I will have a look at that.Though being the complete computer dunce I don't think I would have a clue what features to turn off.

#4234721 - 02/29/16 10:27 AM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: hood]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 191
Russkly Offline
Member
Russkly  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 191
Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted By: hood
Many thanks Russkly,I will have a look at that.Though being the complete computer dunce I don't think I would have a clue what features to turn off.


There are standard set-ups too.

I'm useless with PC stuff too, and I managed it!

#4234727 - 02/29/16 10:46 AM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: Russkly]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,829
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,829
EURO-zone
Originally Posted By: Russkly
Originally Posted By: DukeIronHand
If you look to Lou's post he finally got his new machine working which, hardware-wise, is quite similar to mine.
He is quite happy (naturally enough - 3 weeks of no WOFF) and says everything is great...even in performance. Mine is also good but it could always be better at low level in 1918 with 50 planes in the air.

Anyone having ANY problems with W10 and WOFF?
Didn't a couple of bold adventurers here say they switched and thought WOFF ran better?

I am not afraid to blaze new frontiers for improved WOFF'ism.


No issues.

No notable changes in performance.


I'm also very curious on this Win10 vs win7 topic.

But isn't so that people who do make a complete clean/fresh install to Win10 will face improvements and people who only doing an upgrade on top of Win7 will notice nothing and the same improvements can achieved when doing a fresh install of any OS after running 5 years of Win7 that does contain lots of hidden leftovers and pollution.
OK, Win10 does have more service/process ballast but it can cope better to modern drivers [drivers are always developed to newest OS/games/hardware as prior #1] and it should have a far more efficient use of RAM.

#4234733 - 02/29/16 11:34 AM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
FWIW I talked to a pal of mine who is in charge of computer hardware and software for a "large organization" besides being his lifetime hobby.
His advice was to keep W7 for "as long as you can."

#4234765 - 02/29/16 01:26 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 191
Russkly Offline
Member
Russkly  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 191
Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted By: DukeIronHand
FWIW I talked to a pal of mine who is in charge of computer hardware and software for a "large organization" besides being his lifetime hobby.
His advice was to keep W7 for "as long as you can."


Hhhmmm...did he stipulate why, Duke?

#4234785 - 02/29/16 02:10 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
He did not nor did I ask. Known him for about 20 years. Told him I was looking at mainly an improvement in graphics performance (aka WOFF) and that was his reply.
Guess when I say "talked" I should have said "texted."

#4234789 - 02/29/16 02:20 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Hellshade Online content
Hellshade
Hellshade  Online Content
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Florida
I just upgraded to 10 this weekend and no problems in WOFF so far, except my Nvidia Shadowplay doesn't appear to be recording anywhere. I've updated to the latest Nvidia drivers but still no joy. I will have to keep looking for the reason, but I have the preferences pointed to my SSD "scratch" drive of D:\Videos.


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 5.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
(warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4234801 - 02/29/16 02:35 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
DukeIronHand Offline
Hotshot
DukeIronHand  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 7,528
High over the Front
Perfect!
Upgraded to 10 from...?
Improvement in WOFF performance?

#4234840 - 02/29/16 03:36 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Hellshade Online content
Hellshade
Hellshade  Online Content
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Florida
Upgraded to 10 from Windows 7 64 bit. I think performance is about the same, perhaps a little better. I haven't flown enough to be able to say, but certainly it is no worse for the change.


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 5.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
(warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4234841 - 02/29/16 03:36 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 501
kksnowbear Offline
Member
kksnowbear  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 501
Not at all to derail this thread - I am actually very interested in the subject. But, briefly, on the subject of why your friend would have suggested you avoid Windows 10:

There's any amount of reading on this subject to be found online, and I encourage everyone to study up. But, while 'forced updates', 'spying', and 'phoning home' seem to be getting a lot of mention, I find one aspect - perhaps the most insidious of all - isn't mentioned often.

It's the concept of "Windows as a Service", which - bet your bottom dollar, is precisely where all this is headed. And that term (Windows as a Service) is not something I made up. It's a real thing - check it out.

Many/most of us understand that we never really "owned" the software we use. The OS, apps, games, etc, - all were used under the terms of a 'license agreement', which means you had a license to use the software, but you didn't own anything.

But, even then, with OSes, if you bought a license for Windows back in the day, you could pretty much count on being able to use it for 6-8 years (or more) - depending on some particulars, which I'll not go into here.

Well, the most shocking aspect of Windows 10 to me is the concept that, eventually, you won't be buying a license in the sense you're used to. Windows is going to become a 'service', whereby you'll be forced to basically rent (renew your license) the software - on something like an annual service agreement. They provide the software to you as a service, much the same as cable TV or your cell phone.

And, like your phone, electricity etc...if you don't pay for a month or three, well, I'm going to go ahead and guess they'll cut you off. (This part is a guess, but it's not too far from reality I'm sure).

Anyone ever wonder why the new version of Office is called "365"? Anyone really not clear on what motivates all this, and why M$ is pushing so hard?

Right now I can (and have) bought Windows 7 licenses for <$65/unit. But, once it's deployed as a service, Windows could easily wind up being $9.95/mo...$19.95/mo...who knows, and (more important) when was the last time you had any say in what the cable or phone cost you? Even if it's only 4.95 a month, that's as much the FIRST YEAR as I've bought licenses for, and they don't require 'renewing'. I fully expect(ed) I'd get 6-8 years at least out of them...but, with a 'service' license scheme, I could pay 6-8 times that, for essentially the same thing.

So, for me, the worst part about Windows 10 isn't updates you can't control or harvesting your personal information (even though those are pretty f***ed up)...the worst part, by far, is the ultimate goal of all this is a subscription model.

Sorry for the disruption, but it's a distinction I felt important to make.

I'd respectfully recommend you seriously consider your friends advice.

Last edited by kksnowbear; 02/29/16 03:37 PM.
#4234842 - 02/29/16 03:44 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,815
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
Senior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 3,815
L'Etoile du Nord
.

Eventually the entire world will be 'pay to play' from all indications. But who's to say for sure. In the end the powers-that-be at MicroSquish may be yet another bunch on the list of "first against the wall when the revolution comes".

.


[Linked Image]

Three RFC Brass Hats were strolling down a street in London. Two walked into a bar, the third one ducked.
_________________________________________________________________________

Former Cold War Warrior, USAF Security Service 1974-1978, E-4, Morse Systems Intercept, England, Europe, and points above.
"pippy-pahpah-pippy pah-pip-pah"

#4234938 - 02/29/16 07:11 PM Re: WOFF and W10. Anyone having ANY issues? [Re: DukeIronHand]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,168
Trooper117 Offline
Hotshot
Trooper117  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 7,168
UK
Originally Posted By: DukeIronHand
Thanks Trooper.
Any performance increases? If you could tell....


Not noticed any real performance changes... it plays as well as it always does.
As to loading times, I'd say it loads just the same as before the upgrade... I have no reason to change back to the old operating system.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Covid-19 information
by oldgrognard. 04/04/20 03:58 PM
Covid 19
by KRT_Bong. 04/04/20 03:38 PM
Boooo Hissss
by bones. 04/02/20 10:45 PM
No internet = FU loyal customers
by BlueHeron. 04/02/20 12:52 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0