Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4208021 - 12/19/15 10:54 PM Map Question  
hootowl Offline
hootowl  Offline

I'm very new to this sim, but find it absolutely riveting. I'm finding it difficult to navigate via the map that comes up when you press "M", and tried the mod of this map, which I'm also finding it difficult to navigate by. I was looking through the files and found that the map that displays in WOFF (for mission briefings and what not) is located as a bmp in the uires/maps folder labeled "alt_low" I was wondering if any of you have tried to convert this map to DDS and replaced the in flight map (map_background) with this much better resolution version?

#4208049 - 12/20/15 01:01 AM Re: Map Question [Re: hootowl]  
RAF_Louvert Offline
BOC President; Pilot Extraordinaire; Humble Man
RAF_Louvert  Offline

L'Etoile du Nord

hootowl, welcome to the WOFF virtual skies and to the forum! Agreed that this sim is riveting indeed, and you'll find that it stays riveting long after other sims have gone a bit stale. To your wondering about the in-sim map, yes, it has been tried numerous times to swap it out with a high res version with better detail but to no avail. The flight map would have to be so large as to be nearly unloadable. However, there is an alternative in the standalone maps I've been building for the last year, which you can either print out in usable sizes or better yet load them on a second computer or laptop and use them as your 'in cockpit' map as you fly on your main computer. I have just finished up the Alsace region and will be adding it to the current set very soon. You can download said set from the User Mods page on the WOFF website and here is the link:

WOFF Map Set

After you have the file downloaded and unpacked look through the 'read me' and have a go.

Happy navigating hootowl. Oh, and new lads buy the drinks! cheers

[Linked Image]