Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
#4207583 - 12/18/15 06:49 PM Re: Back at WOFF after a long hiatus .... [Re: Over50]  
vonBaur Offline
vonBaur  Offline

To be fair to the school system, each year the "Big Book of History" gets bigger but the time available to learn it all remains the same. I graduated high school in 1972. There's been 43 years worth of new "history" happen since then. Mostly inconsequential stuff, like:

Major changes in the Middle East
The fall of the Soviet Union and the resulting redrawing of the map of Europe
The rise of terrorism as an international political tool

There's a lot more that needs to be taught than there was when most of us received our educations. So, unfortunately, some of what once was considered important...maybe even essential...must be rushed over as background to the current state of affairs or dropped altogether. How many of us learned Latin in high school? Not I. But my parents did. Hell, my older sister and brother did. (Not saying Latin should be brought back into the curriculum, just using that as an example of how quickly the priorities can change.)

SALUTE TO ALL!
#4207585 - 12/18/15 06:50 PM Re: Back at WOFF after a long hiatus .... [Re: Over50]  
ArisFuser Offline
ArisFuser  Offline

Thing is,...why learn anything related with History if you can google it? That´s the point in their minds. Learning is an effort for the mind, googling it is fun...

#4207609 - 12/18/15 07:44 PM Re: Back at WOFF after a long hiatus .... [Re: Over50]  
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

51 here.
I think many of us see that ArisFuser in our children - even comparing it to ourselves when that age, we know we often worked and stuck at something, loving the detail sometimes. Deep thought is no longer required you can google everything and find someone else who worked it out.