Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4187321 - 10/28/15 02:49 PM Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 585
CW3SF Offline
Member
CW3SF  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 585
colorado & arizona
There is also a big difference in FPS from early missions to now ( last was mission 10 ).
I was at 60 FPS in all but big Furballs ( 8 on 8 ) where it went to 40 FPS or so in the early missions.

Last eve in mission 10 even with my settings down to 51131 (top to down ) Woods density Low, Skins Normal I had
20 to 40 in normal flight and less than 20 to 30 in one on one in combat.

While in QC a 10 on 10 fight is 40 to 59 FPS.

Any ideas on how to solve this??


Origin made- silverstone case,ASUS Max VI Extreme , CPU intel Core i7 4770k, cooling asotex 570LC, NVIDA 3G GTX 780 Ti , Mem 16GB Kingston Hyper X DDR3 ,game drive 120GB INTEL X25 SS, OS drive 1TB, Win 7 home Prem.Logitech G105 key board,BenQ XL2430 Gaming Monitor.
All pilots owe me a beer. Retired USAF Rescue/Survival, Special Forces, and MI (after I got old and grey).
#4187348 - 10/28/15 03:23 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Hellshade Online content
Hellshade
Hellshade  Online Content
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Florida
I noticed a change after the patch but nothing that bad. I'm running the same CPU and GPU as you are.


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 5.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
(warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4187738 - 10/29/15 12:23 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 753
gaw1 Offline
Member
gaw1  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 753
For whatever it's worth....not much probably....my key for showing framerate info was lost and I haven't bothered to reassign it. It's been great really.....instead of obsessing over framerates in a furball, over the front, or over an airfield I just enjoy flying w/out the distraction of wondering if my computer's up to par....or not. It certainly seems to be and as long as I'm not seeing a slide show....which never happens anymore except if I punch up too much time compression, it's great to just charge around w/out the inevitable dissapointment of finding my framerates aren't full on at all times. I don't miss it a bit.....try killing the key....it's nice!!

#4187807 - 10/29/15 01:50 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 907
Nietzsche Offline
Member
Nietzsche  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 907
Grevenbroich, Germany
I undestand the Problem. It does not sound like a big Issue, but fps below 30 can be very tiresome for the Eyes - especially, when you are sitting relatively close to the Screen.
I haven't discovered any Framerate-Drops due to the latest Update, yet.
FPS seems to be highly dependable on certain Weather-Conditions, Shading, probably. The more the GPU has to shade, the lower the Framerate. For Example, when you look into your Cockpit while the Sun is shining into it in a Way, that it creates a lot of Shadows of all the Objects on your Dashboard, you'll get an fps Drop.
I'm already thinking of buying a newer Graphic-Card for some Time, now...

#4187897 - 10/29/15 04:41 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,008
MudWasp Offline
Senior Member
MudWasp  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,008
a shack in da woods
Just downloaded the new patch but haven't installed yet. Now I'm kinda wondering whether or not to install it.

#4188015 - 10/29/15 06:59 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,008
MudWasp Offline
Senior Member
MudWasp  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,008
a shack in da woods
It ran fine in QC with my Camel vs 4 Dvs.
Now to try a campaign mission in pup challenge. Now that time and place wasn't great for frame rates near the front lines on two occasions for me in a DF

#4188113 - 10/29/15 09:48 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
hood Offline
Junior Member
hood  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
Sydney Australia
I have lost 5 to 8 fps since the patch.

#4188295 - 10/30/15 09:17 AM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Winding Man Offline
Member
Winding Man  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Jhb, South Africa
Hi Guys,

1) There will always be a difference in FPS between campaign and QC missions - in campaign there is a living world with up to 250 machines in the air going about their business - in QC just you and the enemy.


2) There is nothing in this patch that can alter FPS (I know no one will believe this but given that I do the code and theater, its a fact).
Any discrepancies are due to normal mission to mission activity variations that will naturally make your FPS go up and down on average depending on air activity for that mission, proximity of player to enemy craft, and numbers involved - proximity to frontlines - ground activity.

IOW no two missions are really ever the same GPU and CPU load wise....hence FPS wise.

3) The setting that will affect your FPS the most in Campaign is: Campaign Options - Regional Air Activity.
Another setting that can help is Woods/Forest Density.


WM


OBD Software
#4188468 - 10/30/15 03:45 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,008
MudWasp Offline
Senior Member
MudWasp  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,008
a shack in da woods
Hey Winding Man,

I've noticed the ground war activity level can also have an impact on frame rates

#4188534 - 10/30/15 05:21 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: MudWasp]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Winding Man Offline
Member
Winding Man  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Jhb, South Africa
Originally Posted By: MudWasp
Hey Winding Man,

I've noticed the ground war activity level can also have an impact on frame rates


Well there are a lot of settings in workshops that affect frames per second in some way - the one you mention will be useful if you notice a marked drop in frames when over the front...

But the ones I mentioned are the ones that will affect frames no matter where you are...

But I am sure most users will try different settings - some users seem reluctant to do so - they are there for a reason - Gameplay FPS Realism etc

WM


OBD Software
#4188560 - 10/30/15 05:55 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,008
MudWasp Offline
Senior Member
MudWasp  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,008
a shack in da woods
I haven't seen a setting for ground activity in workshop.

I meant that flying over a region with a large historic push or battle going on reduces frames for me, even with a low air activity, as opposed to say Alsace at the same time with a setting of highest air activity.

I wish there was a settings workshop box for "Ground Activity" like there is for "Air Activity".

#4188593 - 10/30/15 06:41 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,720
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,720
During a major battle there is more ground activity, choose a squad at a place / time when there is no major battle going on.. then there will be little ground activity.


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4188608 - 10/30/15 06:54 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: Polovski]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Hellshade Online content
Hellshade
Hellshade  Online Content
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Florida
Originally Posted By: Polovski
During a major battle there is more ground activity, choose a squad at a place / time when there is no major battle going on.. then there will be little ground activity.


Well that was actually the one concern folks had about the possible inclusion of more ground / water activity in WOFF GOLD. If there's more of it, it's harder to avoid without a option to turn it off in the Workshop for those with less than ideal spec machines. It's a night and day experience of flying over the front in 1918 vs flying over England at the same time.


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 5.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
(warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4188674 - 10/30/15 08:46 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,243
lederhosen Offline
Member
lederhosen  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 1,243
Germany
Thing is though...we fly campaigns and not dash over no-mans land. Its nice to see arty going off at certain places along the front, but I could care less for trucks, tanks on roads??, etc.


make mistakes and learn from them

I5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asrock B85m Pro3, Gtx 1060 3GB
#4188676 - 10/30/15 08:50 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: lederhosen]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Hellshade Online content
Hellshade
Hellshade  Online Content
Hellshade
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,091
Florida
Originally Posted By: lederhosen
Thing is though...we fly campaigns and not dash over no-mans land. Its nice to see arty going off at certain places along the front, but I could care less for trucks, tanks on roads??, etc.


That's why I'm hoping they make an option to turn the ground war on / off - heavy / light or some such thing so people with lower end rigs don't get their frame rates hammered too hard by it.


Flying Wings Over Flanders Fields Ultimate Edition 5.x
videos at www.youtube.com/hellshade68

System Specs
(warning)
Intel i7 6700K OC 4.6 Ghz
Corsair Hydro H60 Liquid Cooler
16 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 RAM
2 x EVO 850 1TB SSD Drives (OS & Games)
1 Intel 240GB SSD drive (Scratch drive for videos)
MSI Z170 GAMER M7 Motherboard
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition
Corsair CX850M Power Supply
Acer XB280HK 27" G-SYNC Monitor
Corsair RGB STRAFE MX Silent Keyboard
Windows 10 Home 64 bit

#4188710 - 10/30/15 09:48 PM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,593
OldHat Offline
Member
OldHat  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,593
Definitely, as was mentioned, shaders, air activity and forest density are the main FPS killers. Focus on those and try to set your d3d8.ini's setting to NoMultisampling=1 and read only.

#4188817 - 10/31/15 02:05 AM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: Hellshade]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 229
markl Offline
Member
markl  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 229
Originally Posted By: Hellshade
Originally Posted By: lederhosen
Thing is though...we fly campaigns and not dash over no-mans land. Its nice to see arty going off at certain places along the front, but I could care less for trucks, tanks on roads??, etc.


That's why I'm hoping they make an option to turn the ground war on / off - heavy / light or some such thing so people with lower end rigs don't get their frame rates hammered too hard by it.


I am the opposite, the war below is the main thing for me, and makes this sim so different from the rest. (That living world) I am more interested in the ground war than the air war. I would like anti shipping campaigns or missions with sea planes, i.e. another type of theatre instead of say more aircraft. But that's just me.

Luckily the sim caters for all tastes. The more options the better.

Cheers MarkL


MarkL
#4188874 - 10/31/15 08:03 AM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Winding Man Offline
Member
Winding Man  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,436
Jhb, South Africa
Yes there are no settings for ground activity - it was scaled back for WOFF from P3.

My point is there are many settings in workshops that can achieve favourable FPS without scaling back the limited ground activity that remains.

If I do WOFF GOLD there will be settings for all/any features that are expanded or implemented as we are well aware that there are two sides to every coin - its one of the reasons why there are so many settings....

And again I will not divulge what is planned for WOFF3 should it go - and no it will not come out in 2015.


WM


OBD Software
#4188884 - 10/31/15 09:48 AM Re: Big difference in FPS within QC and a mission [Re: CW3SF]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,829
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,829
EURO-zone
As usually in the weekend mornings, I did fly a French 1915 campaign in my parasol. every flight I'm using the OSD display from afterburner to check if something is going wrong, like 100% CPU load. I have noticed no extreme FPS drop on the 2.13.

I'm only flying on a mid-range PC, but WoFF is on a separate boot, set adjustments/activities to max. With this separate "only for WoFF/MAW boot" I can tweak Win7-64 to the bones, everything that is not needed like internet connection, has been deleted, no interference from a Virusscan or Firewall.


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Covid-19 information
by oldgrognard. 04/04/20 03:58 PM
Covid 19
by KRT_Bong. 04/04/20 03:38 PM
Boooo Hissss
by bones. 04/02/20 10:45 PM
No internet = FU loyal customers
by BlueHeron. 04/02/20 12:52 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0