Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4128902 - 06/04/15 07:34 AM Reformating my PC  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
kestrel79 Offline
Member
kestrel79  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
Wisconsin, USA
So I've had my system now for over 3 years, still going strong. Plays most of my games great...but it's starting to get a little sluggish. This was my first Windows 7 build, is reformatting easier in Windows 7? Any tips?

Usually I do a complete wipe, hard drive and everything and just reinstall Windows. Is there an easier way to do this in W7?


Intel i5 2500k // Asus P8P67 // 16GB G.Skill RAM // RX480 8GB // 27" monitor // VKB Black Mamba Mk.III // Warthog Throttle // TFRP Pedals // W7
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4129106 - 06/04/15 03:30 PM Re: Reformating my PC [Re: kestrel79]  
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 49,716
Jedi Master Offline
Entil'zha
Jedi Master  Offline
Entil'zha
Sierra Hotel

Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 49,716
Space Coast, USA
No, Windows reinstalls are reinstalls.

Well, there IS an easier way, but it's too late now--you make an image of your system via some 3rd party program like Acronis or Ghost right after you install, update, patch, and configure Windows and all your programs. Then you just back up your data separately, reimage, and restore that updated data.

You can use the Easy Transfer Utility to back up all your files and settings now, though, so once you reinstall Windows and your programs the rest will come back easily enough.

Any way you slice it, though, you have a lot of work ahead.



The Jedi Master


The anteater is wearing the bagel because he's a reindeer princess. -- my 4 yr old daughter
#4129142 - 06/04/15 04:27 PM Re: Reformating my PC [Re: kestrel79]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19,581
Raw Kryptonite Offline
Beat the Kobayashi Maru
Raw Kryptonite  Offline
Beat the Kobayashi Maru
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19,581
MS
It's still a LOT faster than XP. The install takes just a few minutes. You can use the quick format to save time as well.
It's reinstalling drivers, software etc that takes time. Then let it update overnight.
You don't have to use a 3rd party program to make an image, Windows 7 has that ability on its own. It does however have to be stored on a separate drive from the OS install.
You can even update the image as you update your drivers if you want to learn to do so.
Once you get everything how you like it, create the image. Next time you can have this done in just a few minutes and just have to run updates.



·Steam: Raw Kryptonite ·MWO & Elite Dangerous: Defcon Won ·Meager youtube channel
·Intel i5-9600K ·EVGA GTX1070 FTW 8GB ·EVGA CLC 120 Cooler
·16 GB Patriot Memory VIPER 4 3000MHz ·GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WiFi Mobo
· CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540 case ·BenQ BL3200PT monitor

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Mid-Air Collision in Denver, No Injuries
by Arthonon. 05/14/21 12:59 AM
Hey, Bitcoin, Elon doesn't like you.
by Mr_Blastman. 05/13/21 02:34 AM
I'll be damned !!
by NoFlyBoy. 05/11/21 07:13 PM
RM Jet Suit Boarding
by Red2112. 05/08/21 02:07 PM
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Some funny Facebook observations
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 11:53 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0