Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4022970 - 10/15/14 10:16 PM Dark bar above the horizon.  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
hood Offline
Junior Member
hood  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
Sydney Australia
When in flight in WOFF my screen is showing a dark hard edged bar about 1/2 an inch deep and 1/2 an inch above the horizon running right across the screen.This occurred suddenly and for no reason that I can think of.I can still run WOFF but I find the bar a bit disconcerting.
Have any other Woffers come across this?
I re-installed WOFF but the bar is still there.

#4023052 - 10/16/14 02:37 AM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,248
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,248
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Sounds like the artificial misty horizon. Take a screen cap and post it here for analysis.


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4023059 - 10/16/14 02:59 AM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
hood Offline
Junior Member
hood  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
Sydney Australia
Thanks for the reply Robert.In my enormous computer ignorance I don't know how to do that.I have taken the screen shot but how to post it on this forum escapes me.I will see if I can find out on the web.
Again many thanks

#4023085 - 10/16/14 04:26 AM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
hood Offline
Junior Member
hood  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
Sydney Australia
Maybe this will work

#4023126 - 10/16/14 11:09 AM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,306
MajorMagee Offline
Member
MajorMagee  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,306
Dayton, OH
Reported Here

And Here

I think it may have something to do with Dual Pass rendering being turned on, and the High resolution Z-Buffer turned off.


Service To The Line,
On The Line,
On Time

US Army Ordnance Corps.
#4023130 - 10/16/14 11:22 AM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 414
AnKor Offline
Member
AnKor  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 414
Russia
MajorMagee, no it is a different issue. Dual Pass render turned on breaks the model drawing, not the sky. And by the look of the screenshot I think my DX9 mod is not even used.

What you see here is a WOFF bug with some weather files - try selecting broken clouds in the quick combat. I think it is going to be fixed in the next update, but I can't officially comment it as I'm not a developer smile

Added:
Originally Posted By: MajorMagee

And that one is a completely different from two above mentioned issues smile
It is the sun glare applied incorrectly by the CFS3 engine - behind the horizon, not in front of it, so the horizon stays dark while the sky is very bright. I think there's no way to fix it in the stock renderer, but I want to fix it someday in my DX9 one.

Last edited by AnKor; 10/16/14 11:26 AM.
#4023444 - 10/16/14 10:08 PM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
hood Offline
Junior Member
hood  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 66
Sydney Australia
Problem solved--at least to my satisfaction.
I had been doing a series of practice flights in Quick Combat but got fed up with a run of bad weather days and switched over to Weather Override, selecting Broken Saturated Cumulus Clouds and that is when the dark bar appeared.
In my stupidity I suspected everything except my cloud selection and in total panic tried everything I could think of to no avail.Finally I tried another cloud type and Eureka---no dark bar.I tested every other cloud type and no dark bar.
Broken Saturated Cumulus is the only cloud type that shows the bar.
I can live happily with that.
Many thanks to all for your interest.

Last edited by hood; 10/16/14 10:28 PM. Reason: misspelling
#4023454 - 10/16/14 10:45 PM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,248
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,248
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Hood;

Thanks for getting back and clarifying what the problem was. "Broken Saturated Cumulus" may be something the devs can fix somewhere down the line or possibly Ankor may have a solution.

Last edited by Robert_Wiggins; 10/16/14 10:46 PM.

(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4023567 - 10/17/14 08:34 AM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,709
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,709
Broken Saturated Cumulus is already fixed in WOFF v2.0


Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4023592 - 10/17/14 10:20 AM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,248
Robert_Wiggins Online smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Robert_Wiggins  Online Smile
BWOC Survivor!...So Far!!
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 7,248
Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
thumbsup


(System_Specs)
Case: Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Pwr Sup: OCZ, GameXStream,1000-Watt
MB: Asus Maximus VI Extreme
Mem: Corsair Vengeance (2x 8GB), PC3-12800, DDR3-1600MHz, Unbuffered
CPU: Intel i7-4770K, OC to 4.427Ghz
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Seidon 240M Liquid CPU Cooler
Vid Card: ASUS GTX 980Ti STRIX 6GB
OS and Games on separate: Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD
Monitor: Primary ASUS PG27AQ 4k; Secondary Samsung SyncMaster BX2450L
Periphs: MS Sidewinder FFB2 Pro, TrackIR 4

#4030984 - 11/03/14 11:43 AM Re: Dark bar above the horizon. [Re: hood]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 752
gaw1 Offline
Member
gaw1  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 752
wow.......look at that!!! fixed........outstanding!


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Drug combo working. Covid. Dr Zelenko NYC hospital.
by TerribleTwo. 03/29/20 12:27 PM
HILARIOUS videos found on YouTube.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/28/20 09:59 PM
Stuka!
by RedToo. 03/28/20 04:56 PM
social distancing
by KraziKanuK. 03/27/20 07:30 PM
How to correctly wash your hands properly.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/25/20 12:58 PM
Humble Bundle Driving Deal
by F4UDash4. 03/25/20 11:00 AM
Myheritage colorize b/w photos free
by Chef. 03/24/20 06:11 PM
True HP of the 8 most powerful classic era muscle cars
by Crane Hunter. 03/23/20 05:54 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0