Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4012360 - 09/20/14 11:23 PM Request of mission makers:  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,666
Chris2525 Offline
Member
Chris2525  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,666
Canada
Random engine failures being included in multilayer missions doesn't help anyone. I just spent 30 minutes flying to the AO, was hovering behind a hill formulating my plan of attack, and then lost an engine for no good reason and slammed against the ground losing my tail. Thanks. That was really worth my while.


Windows 7 Home Premium x64 / Intel Core i7-3770K @ 3.50GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.9GHz / 8192MB DDR3 / NVIDIA GeForce GTX780 / TM Warthog / Saitek Pro Fight Rudder Pedals / TrackIR5
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4012389 - 09/21/14 12:27 AM Re: Request of mission makers: [Re: Chris2525]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Are you sure it was a random failure and not engine icing or dust ingestion?

#4012576 - 09/21/14 02:57 PM Re: Request of mission makers: [Re: Chris2525]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,314
BeachAV8R Offline
Lifer
BeachAV8R  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,314
KCLT
In real life..I've never lost an engine for a "good" reason.. thumbsup

BeachAV8R



#4012611 - 09/21/14 04:53 PM Re: Request of mission makers: [Re: Chris2525]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,111
Wrecking Crew Offline
Smooth Operator
Wrecking Crew  Offline
Smooth Operator
Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 5,111
Colorado
Random system failures are not used in any of my missions.

Bird strikes can cause an engine to go out, too. I set Birds to 0%. I hear ya... Do a 5 minute startup in an A-10C and take off only to have an engine go out. Scheesh.

WC

#4012753 - 09/22/14 12:23 AM Re: Request of mission makers: [Re: Chris2525]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,314
BeachAV8R Offline
Lifer
BeachAV8R  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,314
KCLT
I've had three engine shutdowns in the past 16 years I've been flying with my current job. One was catastrophic (as in fire, wetting of pants, etc..) and the other was a commanded shutdown due to a problem. The third..was a bit of a glitch in the Matrix.. So *my* rate of engine problems is about 1 every 3 or 4,000 hours. I don't know how you would approximate that in DCS World, but it couldn't be done with a 1 to 100 slider for sure...gotta make that slider 1 to 10,000 or something..

BeachAV8R



#4012762 - 09/22/14 12:51 AM Re: Request of mission makers: [Re: Frederf]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,666
Chris2525 Offline
Member
Chris2525  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,666
Canada
Originally Posted By: Frederf
Are you sure it was a random failure and not engine icing or dust ingestion?


Um.... exitstageleft


Windows 7 Home Premium x64 / Intel Core i7-3770K @ 3.50GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.9GHz / 8192MB DDR3 / NVIDIA GeForce GTX780 / TM Warthog / Saitek Pro Fight Rudder Pedals / TrackIR5
#4012802 - 09/22/14 03:37 AM Re: Request of mission makers: [Re: Chris2525]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,314
BeachAV8R Offline
Lifer
BeachAV8R  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,314
KCLT
My DCS engine failures are usually caused by 23mm dust particles.. LOL..

BeachAV8R




Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
WW2 still finding bodies
by Alicatt. 10/10/19 04:10 PM
That moment in time....
by Bill_Grant. 10/09/19 01:35 PM
A minister, a priest and a rabbi ....
by Bill_Grant. 10/08/19 04:56 PM
Old folks and old tricks
by Sluggish Controls. 10/08/19 06:11 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0