Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4008674 - 09/12/14 10:19 AM V.9 Released  
Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
K6_Scorpion Offline
Ruler of the Free World
K6_Scorpion  Offline
Ruler of the Free World
Member

Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
Central FL
Version .9 is released. Downloading it now.

New Hangers
Murray Cup racing


M50 commercial is also expected to be released today along with the brochure.
Updated Arena Commander manual

Last edited by K6_Scorpion; 09/12/14 10:28 PM.

------------
<Uh... put signature here... and stuff>
#4008997 - 09/12/14 08:03 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 501
Aero Offline
Member
Aero  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 501
Milwaukee, USA
Ouch, 14 gigabytes.

#4009058 - 09/12/14 10:27 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: Aero]  
Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
K6_Scorpion Offline
Ruler of the Free World
K6_Scorpion  Offline
Ruler of the Free World
Member

Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
Central FL
I'm still downloading. Slow Metered satellite...until midnight - 5AM (free zone). Just reading about all the updates until then... only 7GB left...


------------
<Uh... put signature here... and stuff>
#4009075 - 09/12/14 11:30 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
kestrel79 Offline
Member
kestrel79  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
Wisconsin, USA
Looks like a big update for us simmers. TrackIR, joystick setups. New Hangers should be cool too.


Intel i5 2500k // Asus P8P67 // 16GB G.Skill RAM // RX480 8GB // 27" monitor // VKB Black Mamba Mk.III // Warthog Throttle // TFRP Pedals // W7
#4009079 - 09/12/14 11:47 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 501
Aero Offline
Member
Aero  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 501
Milwaukee, USA
I'm glad to have proper TrackIR support. There's still no proper controller customization, but I guess they said that's coming in a minor patch.

Anyways, it's a big improvement to the flight model-- a billion times better than it was before, though something about it still doesn't feel natural and I wouldn't go so far as to say I like it yet. And boy, the race level is really hard on the old framerate.

#4009081 - 09/12/14 11:52 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: Aero]  
Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
K6_Scorpion Offline
Ruler of the Free World
K6_Scorpion  Offline
Ruler of the Free World
Member

Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
Central FL
What kind of hardware are you running Aero and at what resolution?


------------
<Uh... put signature here... and stuff>
#4009531 - 09/14/14 01:16 AM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 501
Aero Offline
Member
Aero  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 501
Milwaukee, USA
A 2600K@4.6 and a 580GTX at 2560x1080. It does about 40-ish fps on 'high' and 20-30 on maximum.

#4009599 - 09/14/14 08:04 AM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 616
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 616
North Yorkshire, UK
Great news on trackir, wasn't aware of that being implemented!

Unfortunately for me, having downloaded the patch ( which took me about a day with my internet ) I was told I had a corrupted download! I have tried the solution suggested and am now downloading a 20 gig patch!

If this doesn't work I think I might give up, at least for a while. This is quite frustrating, 20 gig really???? And the games only got a fraction of its final content. What is also somewhat bewildering is that I'm sure I had read on their dev posts that they had implemented a system where you would only have to re download the offending files rather than everything.

I really hope that they haven't implemented that yet, cos if they have and I'm still downloading 20 gig patches, well the mind boggles!!! eek2

#4009721 - 09/14/14 04:55 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: Ratcatcher]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 946
tempusmurphy Offline
Member
tempusmurphy  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 946
outside London
Track IR works quite well with the arena mode ... but now without the gimballed weapons dogfighting is a **** using a x52 there does not seem to be enough fine control to follow the target marker (but then again i am using the space equivalent of a transit van the aurora) so it may be better in the dedicated fighter ships ... also for the co-op / private games where to you find the friend code

cheers all

tempus

Last edited by tempusmurphy; 09/14/14 04:56 PM.

Dont think of it as being vastly outnumbered ... but just having a large target selection.

The only thing more accurate than incoming fire, is incoming friendly fire

Tracers work BOTH ways...

" I have a cunning plan my lord "
#4009931 - 09/15/14 06:55 AM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 624
FlyingMonkey Offline
Member
FlyingMonkey  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 624
Down under in Adelaide
Yeah, I got the corrupted download as well, and it's quite frustrating to have to re download the whole bloody thing instead of smaller chunks.

#4010220 - 09/15/14 07:55 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
kestrel79 Offline
Member
kestrel79  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
Wisconsin, USA
I got this wonky little bug where I can't do anything in the options menus. I think it's because I have so many sim things hooked up, but the mouse cursor basically just flashes really fast and I can't click on or change any options.

Kinda a game buster since I can't change to joystick controls or anything.


Intel i5 2500k // Asus P8P67 // 16GB G.Skill RAM // RX480 8GB // 27" monitor // VKB Black Mamba Mk.III // Warthog Throttle // TFRP Pedals // W7
#4010382 - 09/16/14 08:34 AM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: kestrel79]  
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 946
tempusmurphy Offline
Member
tempusmurphy  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 946
outside London
I had that too ...but reloaded the game and it was fine, it seems to be random.. and I have no idea what causes it ...did you have anything else running at the time?


Dont think of it as being vastly outnumbered ... but just having a large target selection.

The only thing more accurate than incoming fire, is incoming friendly fire

Tracers work BOTH ways...

" I have a cunning plan my lord "
#4010395 - 09/16/14 10:20 AM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
K6_Scorpion Offline
Ruler of the Free World
K6_Scorpion  Offline
Ruler of the Free World
Member

Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
Central FL
I've had the issue of can't select an option in other games before due to controllers being out of calibration (pedals in particular). I also have a problem with my wireless mouse when entering my bios. I have a MS Wireless Laser Mouse 5000 and unless I disconnect it on boot, I can't select anything in the bios.


------------
<Uh... put signature here... and stuff>
#4010680 - 09/16/14 08:59 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 616
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 616
North Yorkshire, UK
After spending three days trying to download the patch ( I kid you not! ) I finally got it all done and installed correctly, only to find that I also can't use the options screen!!!

I had read that it was an issue with persons using triple screens but I guess it might be more wide spread?

Anyway I'm currently done with it all and have really lost interest in trying ( yeah I know its an Alpha, what did I expect... ).

Will check back when they fix it ( probably with the dropping of a 40 gig patch, no doubt... )

#4010993 - 09/17/14 04:41 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
K6_Scorpion Offline
Ruler of the Free World
K6_Scorpion  Offline
Ruler of the Free World
Member

Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
Central FL
Unplug your machine, toss it in the back of the car and make the 2 hr drive to the Manchester office... knock on the office door and when they answer, just hold your computer our in front of you and say "fix it". smile

Sorry to hear about the frustration, makes my slow connection doesn't seem as bad now. I don't know what the issue with your machine is but if it's somehow related to multiple monitors... maybe uninstall/reinstall your video drivers? You may want to post up in the hardware forum on here, someone may be able to assist. Had something similar happen a few weeks back... PC crashed blue screen/memory dump after powering off my oculus dk2, on restart there was a power outtage due to a storm during the autorepair, which led to another restart a few minutes after the power came back on... long story sort of short... 5 days later, I figured out the issue and uninstalled the corrupted video drivers and reinstalled. 5 days was 1 day of trying to figure it out... 2 days of "I'm not even looking at it", 1 day of trying restore points and 1 day of uninstalling/reinstalling drivers.


------------
<Uh... put signature here... and stuff>
#4011117 - 09/17/14 09:22 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 616
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 616
North Yorkshire, UK
Originally Posted By: K6_Scorpion
Unplug your machine, toss it in the back of the car and make the 2 hr drive to the Manchester office... knock on the office door and when they answer, just hold your computer our in front of you and say "fix it". smile


LOL, Now that sounds like a plan!

Thanks for the suggestions, I will have a look at RSI forums over the weekend and see if anyone has any solutions. Will also try the drivers.

As to your problems the other week... all I can say is you obviously have far more patience than me. Sir, I salute you salute

#4011219 - 09/18/14 02:21 AM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,649
Mr_Blastman Online content
Hotshot
Mr_Blastman  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,649
Atlanta, GA
My little 300i is no contest against mouse/keyboard users in hornets online >:(

I guess it is single player until they get these issues fixed.

#4011503 - 09/18/14 08:42 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 10,845
JimK Offline
Veteran
JimK  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 10,845
Spokane,WA
Just tried to launch 13 and find it patching again with another 17gb download.
Have a 1tb dedicated HD for Star Citizen, so far it has used up 25.8gb before
this latest patch.


Erebus Full Tower:Windows 7 Ult 64bit:Intel� Core� i7
3930K Processor(6x 3.20GHz)32GB[4 GB X8] DDR3-1866:GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan 6GB:1.5Kw PSU: 43" Sceptre 4k:
LG Blu-ray burner,: hd1/750GB,hd2/2TB,hd3/1TB,hd4/1TB,HD5/4TB

Youtube videos
Flickr Photos
#4011665 - 09/19/14 03:03 AM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
K6_Scorpion Offline
Ruler of the Free World
K6_Scorpion  Offline
Ruler of the Free World
Member

Joined: Apr 2000
Posts: 1,887
Central FL
I'm guessing that you have a bunch more stuff than I do... my directory is only 20.1 GB. They did push a small patch tonight, but it was only around 100MB. I've got a slow connection and it finished up quickly. After all the patches, it seems to run through some kind of unpack or something because it says "downloading xxGB" but it's flying! That's just the install, it's not really downloading everything again. When I see something downloading that fast on my cell phone or satellite connection... I know it's not really downloading. smile


------------
<Uh... put signature here... and stuff>
#4011773 - 09/19/14 12:48 PM Re: V.9 Relased [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 10,845
JimK Offline
Veteran
JimK  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 10,845
Spokane,WA
After the the latest patch, now its 27.5gb. Yes I have 4 ships and latest hangers.
The racecourses are a blast in the R-50.


Erebus Full Tower:Windows 7 Ult 64bit:Intel� Core� i7
3930K Processor(6x 3.20GHz)32GB[4 GB X8] DDR3-1866:GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan 6GB:1.5Kw PSU: 43" Sceptre 4k:
LG Blu-ray burner,: hd1/750GB,hd2/2TB,hd3/1TB,hd4/1TB,HD5/4TB

Youtube videos
Flickr Photos

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Harrier Pilot "Sharkey" Ward was 80
by F4UDash4. 05/19/24 11:01 PM
Autographs
by F4UDash4. 05/18/24 06:34 PM
Boxing fans
by RossUK. 05/18/24 03:11 PM
Bud Anderson was 102
by F4UDash4. 05/18/24 01:14 PM
The guy in War Games passes at 92
by NoFlyBoy. 05/18/24 02:28 AM
V-22 (all variants) wings clipped.
by Blade_RJ. 05/17/24 11:33 PM
Unusual climate conditions during WWI.
by RedToo. 05/17/24 04:52 PM
WW2 allied railroad effort after D-Day
by oldgrognard. 05/16/24 12:06 AM
New Viper Demo team livery
by RossUK. 05/15/24 03:48 PM
Beate Uhse-Rotermund.
by RedToo. 05/14/24 03:47 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0