Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3971576 - 06/23/14 01:16 AM F-15 vs TAW 2.0 vs Falcon 4  
North Offline
North  Offline

Hi.

It can sound odd but, even when I'm an expert gamer, I have not dedicated enough time to flight sims since the old Amiga's F29 Retaliator. And I would like to get updated with modern sims. Even if they are 15 years old.

I'm searching for an specific simulator for a 2 month vacation with an old laptop. Requirements:
1. Dynamic Campaign. A must. Canned missions sucks.
2. Not too steep learning curve. It has to be like a training for my main future objective: Falcon 4 BMS, so it has to be like half difficult to learn.
3. Run in an old PC (1.9 GHZ Celeron, 1GB Ram, WinXP, integrated crappy GPU).

Which game would you recommend under these conditions?

On terms of performance on my laptop, I have tried these sims, with this results:
- TAW 2.0 (2.30b4): A bit slow, but fine. (Great work, Home Fries, btw).
- F-15: Runs great.
- Falcon 4 (the original patched, maybe upgradable with a superpak, because AF is unplayable). Slow on campaign, but playable (disabling D3D).
- Unplayable games: EECH (a bit buggy on my computer, even with patchs, I don't know why), Red Baron 3D (Too slow), Longbow 2 (too hard to make it run).
- I haven't tried SEF2000 yet, but I suppose it will run quite well.

The main thing I miss is the learning curve about these games. From 0 to 100 (being 100 Falcon 4 BMS), how do you rate these games in tems of the learning curve?

Thanks in advance.

#3971589 - 06/23/14 02:33 AM Re: F-15 vs TAW 2.0 vs Falcon 4 [Re: North]  
ajthenoob Offline
ajthenoob  Offline

United States