Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#3978177 - 07/08/14 07:06 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: Brit44 'Aldo']  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
Belfast, NI
Hi Aldo!

I'm not sure what your issue is with a vehicle which has slowed, going up a slope, speeding up again, when the slope disappears or reverses - seems perfectly reasonable.

As for 'cardboard tanks' in PE, I don't recall RockingHarry's mod although I do remember we discussed this years back I still see tanks move jerkily at times, like they are teetering on the edge of a sharp fold in the ground - the effect of angular spots in PE terrain combined with that hard-packed earth...and perhaps vehicle suspension issues? Albeit nowadays that is in PE3, where terrain also seems often to exercise considerable drag, slowing down tanks below their pre-PE3 speed. I recall you mentioned the likely cause of the latter effect, some re-working in in PE3 being needed.

Not being a great fan of the eastern front I would happily play PE-x with stock Italy, Full Monty and (my favourite) Britpak '44 - is it right that these mods would need to be re-worked, to be compatible with your new 'exe?

Ivor

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3978471 - 07/09/14 03:37 AM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,456
Brit44 'Aldo' Offline
Every Human is Unique
Brit44 'Aldo'  Offline
Every Human is Unique
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,456
33Lima,
the only issue I have with reverse slope acceration is that it needs to be assumed that the driver is making some effort not too free rev the engine and control the decent speed. There is a line of thought by rivit counters that rag doll physics need to let the unit free fall unless the player makes some input.

You can play the original Italy campaign using PEx, PP2x or PE3. PP2X has the most work at improving that campaign.

Sorry if I hijacked the thread.


TPA who TWI
#3980121 - 07/12/14 05:16 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
Is the PzC tank recoil realistic? Seems too much recoil maybe it is.

#3980192 - 07/12/14 09:31 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
Belfast, NI
Possibly, if this is anything to go by:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYMYdVt_CTE

...but if so, it's not the only one to exaggerate recoil effects:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhTlxkgEHXM

Steel Fury looks better, to me;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7FklUw4pz8

#3980267 - 07/13/14 02:22 AM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,456
Brit44 'Aldo' Offline
Every Human is Unique
Brit44 'Aldo'  Offline
Every Human is Unique
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,456
In the real footage, don't let the cameraman recoil fool you. Watch the Tiger and compare it's movement to a fixed point. It would be sweet is SF's camera moved slightly, similar to the camerman.

Last edited by Brit44 'Aldo'; 07/13/14 02:24 AM.

TPA who TWI
#3980349 - 07/13/14 12:07 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
Belfast, NI
Yes that's exactly what I mean. The camera jerks but the hull of the Tiger in the Propagandakompanie film doesn't seem to move at all, nor does the second cameraman, when he's standing on the rear deck. By comparison, the CM clip, tho superficially convincing, looks very exaggerated.

#3980355 - 07/13/14 12:21 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: Brit44 'Aldo']  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
Belfast, NI
Originally Posted By: Brit44 'Aldo'
33Lima,
the only issue I have with reverse slope acceration is that it needs to be assumed that the driver is making some effort not too free rev the engine and control the decent speed. There is a line of thought by rivit counters that rag doll physics need to let the unit free fall unless the player makes some input.

You can play the original Italy campaign using PEx, PP2x or PE3. PP2X has the most work at improving that campaign.

Sorry if I hijacked the thread.


And now I'm straying further off topic here...but is it not currently possible to play PE-x with Britpak '44 (or Monty -vs- Rommel)...other than by using PE3?

#3980373 - 07/13/14 02:11 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,456
Brit44 'Aldo' Offline
Every Human is Unique
Brit44 'Aldo'  Offline
Every Human is Unique
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,456
Quote:
By comparison, the CM clip, tho superficially convincing, looks very exaggerated.

Agree, but when your 3D model does not have a seperate gun barrel object to recoil, your only option is to rock the entire tank.


TPA who TWI
#3986653 - 07/27/14 11:47 AM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: Worghern]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
Belfast, NI
Originally Posted By: Worghern
Originally Posted By: 33lima
For some reason, I am getting the displaced turret graphic glitch again, from time to time. Not sure why - perhaps I satrted PzC too soon after starting DXtory, which seems to need a few seconds to 'settle down' after it has loaded; but exiting and re-starting PzC, always seems to fix it.




Nothing to do for me.....Always the same problem with displaced turret graphic glitch again and again and again....I test everything...I despair completely because when I see your screens, it remember me too much souvenirs... frown


Tho said to be for XP, you might want to try this workaround posted on Tanksim.com by user Hinrich Schwab:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=214792

#3987329 - 07/28/14 06:42 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Worghern Offline
Junior Member
Worghern  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Paris, France
Waow ! Gonna to test it and will report ! Thanks a lot 33Lima ! smile

Last edited by Worghern; 07/28/14 06:42 PM.

Antec P193, Evga Supernova 1000 G1+ - 1000w, HexaCore Intel i7 8770k@3700 MHz, Cooler Master V8, eVGA Z370 SLI MICRO, Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 3 TO, 32Go DDRIV-1333, eVGA GeForce GTX 2080 SUPER (8192 Mo DDR5 VRAM), IIYAMA G-Master Black Hawk G2730HSU [27" x3], Windows TEN x64, Logitech G600 Gaming Mouse, Logitech G19s Keyboard, Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard, Logitech Flight System G940, Logitech G935 Surround Sound Headset, Creative Labs 5.1 Inspire T6100, NaturalPoint TrackIR 5.

#3987676 - 07/29/14 11:18 AM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Worghern Offline
Junior Member
Worghern  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Paris, France
Hmmm, if I deactivate directdraw...the display is...psychedelic dizzy


BTW, it is not possible to change directly the directdraw cause it's included in windows seven...So, I have to install directx.cpl from directx9.0c..


Antec P193, Evga Supernova 1000 G1+ - 1000w, HexaCore Intel i7 8770k@3700 MHz, Cooler Master V8, eVGA Z370 SLI MICRO, Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 3 TO, 32Go DDRIV-1333, eVGA GeForce GTX 2080 SUPER (8192 Mo DDR5 VRAM), IIYAMA G-Master Black Hawk G2730HSU [27" x3], Windows TEN x64, Logitech G600 Gaming Mouse, Logitech G19s Keyboard, Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard, Logitech Flight System G940, Logitech G935 Surround Sound Headset, Creative Labs 5.1 Inspire T6100, NaturalPoint TrackIR 5.

#3987912 - 07/29/14 06:00 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
33lima Offline
Member
33lima  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,679
Belfast, NI
No good, then. Have you installed DX 9.0c yet? all of it? IIRC Rise of Flight re-installs 9.0c with every RoF update so I have that. As you probably know, multiple versions of DX are said to be able to co-exist at the same time. Maybe you need an earlier version, although DXdiag just reports the most recent (DX 11 in my case, with Vista 64).

#3987949 - 07/29/14 06:59 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: Worghern]  
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Hinrich_Schwab Offline
Junior Member
Hinrich_Schwab  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
United States
Originally Posted By: Worghern
Hmmm, if I deactivate directdraw...the display is...psychedelic dizzy


BTW, it is not possible to change directly the directdraw cause it's included in windows seven...So, I have to install directx.cpl from directx9.0c..


Worghern,

Only DirectDraw Acceleration should be disabled. I would not disable DirectDraw entirely. The "psychedelic color" issue is an old DirectDraw compatibility issue that showed up with Vista. I am running Panzer Commander on two Windows 7 rigs with no issues. I would suggest making sure that DirectX is fully up to date on your rig, as well as your video drivers. Along with ensuring that only DirectDraw Acceleration is disabled, I would suggest changing the color depth to 16 Bit, for the sake of compatibility.

#3988213 - 07/30/14 09:22 AM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Worghern Offline
Junior Member
Worghern  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 46
Paris, France
Windows seven x64 include directx 9.0c, directx 10 and 11 already. Directx is fully up to date in my system and my gtx 680 classified is up to the last drivers 340.52. I have checked all of these but nothing to do. of course, I deactivate only ddraw.I have change my desktop display to 16 bits but nothing to do. This is different but alays psychedelic crappy thing on game...However, I would like to thank you very much for your help wink Hope we will find a solution ! wink

Last edited by Worghern; 07/30/14 09:24 AM.

Antec P193, Evga Supernova 1000 G1+ - 1000w, HexaCore Intel i7 8770k@3700 MHz, Cooler Master V8, eVGA Z370 SLI MICRO, Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 3 TO, 32Go DDRIV-1333, eVGA GeForce GTX 2080 SUPER (8192 Mo DDR5 VRAM), IIYAMA G-Master Black Hawk G2730HSU [27" x3], Windows TEN x64, Logitech G600 Gaming Mouse, Logitech G19s Keyboard, Logitech G13 Advanced Gameboard, Logitech Flight System G940, Logitech G935 Surround Sound Headset, Creative Labs 5.1 Inspire T6100, NaturalPoint TrackIR 5.

#3988308 - 07/30/14 02:21 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: Worghern]  
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Hinrich_Schwab Offline
Junior Member
Hinrich_Schwab  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
United States
Originally Posted By: Worghern
Windows seven x64 include directx 9.0c, directx 10 and 11 already. Directx is fully up to date in my system and my gtx 680 classified is up to the last drivers 340.52. I have checked all of these but nothing to do. of course, I deactivate only ddraw.I have change my desktop display to 16 bits but nothing to do. This is different but alays psychedelic crappy thing on game...However, I would like to thank you very much for your help wink Hope we will find a solution ! wink


Unfortunately, the only thing I can determine is a hardware conflict with your graphics card, which cannot be resolved. I have seen similar oddball compatibility issues with both Destroyer Command and Silent Hunter II, which use the same Janus-based engine as Panzer Commander. I have run Panzer Commander successfully on the following rigs:

Two (2) Toshiba L25-S1216s @1.6GHZ, 1.5GB RAM w/ ATI RADEON Xpress 200 (a very low end integrated graphics chip from the mid-2000s) running Windows XP Service Pack 3 and the latest versions of DirectX 9.0C and OEM drivers.

One (1) Toshiba C655 @2.3GHZ, 4GB RAM w/ Intel Graphics running Windows 7 Service Pack 1 with latest drivers and DirectX

One (1) EMachines W3503 @3.4GHZ, 2.0GB RAM w/ NVIDIA GeForce 210 (ATI Radeon Xpress 200 disabled) running Windows XP Service Pack 3 with latest NVIDIA drivers and DirectX. ***This NIVIDA Card has known hardware compatibility issues with Ultimation's Sim Engine (Silent Hunter II, Destroyer Command and Panzer Commander*** [see note below] This machine did not experience the known compatibility issues associated with this card for Panzer Commander.

One (1) ASUS G60 JX with 2.3GHZ Quad Core Intel Core i5 (1st Gen), 4GM RAM w/ NVIDIA GeForce GTS 360M running both latest drivers and OEM 187.66 drivers (OEM drivers currently running to work around BSOD issues with newer, universal NIVIDIA drivers) with Windows 7 Service Pack 1 and DirectX up to date.

[NOTE: The NVidia cards have a sketchy history running Ultimation's sim engine. In the case of the GeForce 210, all three games run fine...in stock. When the "Projekt Messerwetzer" patch from SubSim is applied to either Silent Hunter II or Destroyer Command, the transparent polygon bug appears, as well as numerous graphics artifacts that make the menus useless. It is a known hardware incompatibility.]

I am confident with the fixes I have recommended on Subsim and have been passed to here. To be quite frank, it sounds like your graphics card is encountering the same, nasty hardware incompatibility I and others have observed with some Nvidia cards running the Ultimation sim engine. There are no fixes for it. To be fair, the psychedelic color glitch is something I have not encountered with polygon-based games. It is prevalent in sprite-based games, however.

As a last resort, I will add the registry entries for forcing DirectDraw compatibility for the game. I observed on all of the above machines that particles do render better with the registry patches, although the game runs fine without it. Again, only the machines running XP required disabling DirectDraw Acceleration. the Windows 7 machines required no adjustments.

Panzer Commander DirectDraw Compatibility entry x86
Save as, "Panzer Commander x86 Registry Patch.REG"
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility\PanzerCommander]
"Name"="panzer.exe"
"Flags"=hex:00,08,00,00
"ID"=dword:374454a3


Panzer Commander DirectDraw Compatibility entry x64
Save as, "Panzer Commander x64 Registry Patch.REG"
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility\PanzerCommander]
"Name"="panzer.exe"
"Flags"=hex:00,08,00,00
"ID"=dword:374454a3


Bear in mind that BOTH registry patches are needed for 64-bit operating systems. 32-bit operating systems only need the x86 patch.

Given your hardware and my awareness of known conflicts, I do not think this will help, although others may find them useful. I suspect strongly that your video card's hardware is the problem and little can be done to rectify this issue.

Last edited by Hinrich_Schwab; 07/30/14 02:29 PM.
#4070888 - 01/28/15 10:29 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246

Last edited by john84; 01/29/15 02:48 AM.
#4071997 - 01/31/15 06:31 AM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
front page now tells you since later versions of windows won;t run setup.exe you need to copy everything from cd and put it in a folder on your pc. then run uni-extract on setup.exe to extract files into the folder.

still working on a better method for turrets to become visbile

Last edited by john84; 02/10/15 04:40 AM.
#4077397 - 02/12/15 05:19 AM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
delted

Last edited by john84; 02/13/15 09:50 PM.
#4078323 - 02/13/15 09:52 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 246
Also the game is listed as working with 3DFX, If I could play longbow 2 with 3dfx on windows 7, this game should work . We need to figure out a way to activate 3dfx mode on this game. Still a long ways to go...


#4078518 - 02/14/15 01:15 PM Re: Panzer Commander on Windows 7? [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 396
Agathosdaimon Offline
Member
Agathosdaimon  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 396
Melbourne, Australia
i havent been on thnis forum in a long while, its great to come bakc and see this - i have panzer commander and could install it but never could get it to work - i will try this now!

Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  Meatsheild, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Tanks Alot
by carrick58. 07/15/20 12:56 AM
AR Laser
by Cajun. 07/14/20 09:23 PM
Along came a spider...
by Crane Hunter. 07/14/20 06:42 PM
Any Over the Air DVR experience?
by F4UDash4. 07/14/20 12:28 PM
Grant Imahara passes suddenly at 49
by Khai. 07/14/20 05:02 AM
Yep...it's a picture of my toilet
by Force10. 07/13/20 09:21 PM
WW2 Kursk
by oldgrognard. 07/13/20 05:36 PM
Fake Website?
by KRT_Bong. 07/13/20 12:51 PM
No threads on the Bonhomme Richard fire?
by Discord. 07/12/20 10:56 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0