Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3971001 - 06/21/14 01:24 PM Helo Control Question  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 310
Grunt0331 Offline
Member
Grunt0331  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 310
So I'm getting pretty competent at flying helos in ARMA3, especially since I got my new X55. However, I'm having a problem with landings.

When I touch down and lower collective to zero, my helo is still rolling on the ground. Sometimes its forward, sometimes its backward. I cannot get the bird to just touch down and stay put. Anyone know what might be causing this? I do not see a control option for wheel brakes. I suspect there is some kind of a conflict somewhere in my control setting causing this, but its not something I've experienced before and there is nothing obvious jumping out at me.

Thoughts?


de.ci.sive.ness\ n. 1. Ability to make decisions promptly and to announce them in clear, forceful manner. 2. See United States Marine.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3971007 - 06/21/14 01:37 PM Re: Helo Control Question [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 19,749
adlabs6 Online smile
Veteran
adlabs6  Online Smile
Veteran

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 19,749
Tracy Island
Hi, I only fly with the keyboard, but there could be a couple of things at play here.

One, uneven terrain. Arma has a very slippery terrain/tracktion model for helos on uneven ground, and a slight hill will sometimes see the chopper "sliding" off down the hill. Can't recall the times we've landed and moved away from the chopper, only to look back and see it sliding away down an embankment to it's doom, lol.

The other thing could be with the control layout. When I land with keyboard controls, I can sometimes get a better "stick" to the landing if I hold the Z key (for throttle down). This will sometimes seem to make the chopper stop and stay stopped while held down. You can manually try that and see if it helps, and if so try to find a way to work that into your joystick layout... Not sure if that's possible but could be!


WARNING: This post contains opinions produced in a facility which also occasionally processes fact products.
#3971026 - 06/21/14 02:28 PM Re: Helo Control Question [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 310
Grunt0331 Offline
Member
Grunt0331  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 310
Thanks for the suggestions. The roll effect has occurred on both uneven and flat terrain, so I don't think that is the issue. I do use the "q" and "z" keys in conjunction with my HOTAS. I have pressed down on the "z" key and reduced collective with the throttle and the problem persists. Could the problem be that both the keys and the HOTAS are mapped for collective and that is creating some kind of a conflict?


de.ci.sive.ness\ n. 1. Ability to make decisions promptly and to announce them in clear, forceful manner. 2. See United States Marine.
#3971044 - 06/21/14 03:30 PM Re: Helo Control Question [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,669
csThor Offline
Senior Member
csThor  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,669
Germany
This is possible. I actually fly with the X-55 as well and I have made sure the keyboard controls have been removed wherever I have a HOTAS control mapped. Rolling/drifting on the ground means you still have enough collective power to produce minimal lift - hence the drifting. After touchdown you need to pull back your throttle immediately to avoid this problem.


Intel i7 960 @ 3.2 GHz - ASUS Rampage III Gene Republic of Gamers - 6GB RAM OCZ CL7 XTC Platinum PC3-12800 - ZOTAC GeForce GTX 480 - 64GB Crucial RealSSD C300 SATA II - 1TB Western Digital WD1002FAEX SATA II - Creative Soundblaster Xi-Fi Titanium - Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#3971072 - 06/21/14 04:24 PM Re: Helo Control Question [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 310
Grunt0331 Offline
Member
Grunt0331  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 310
^I'll give it a shot. Thanks.


de.ci.sive.ness\ n. 1. Ability to make decisions promptly and to announce them in clear, forceful manner. 2. See United States Marine.
#3971090 - 06/21/14 05:28 PM Re: Helo Control Question [Re: Grunt0331]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 862
mugwump Offline
Member
mugwump  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 862
Vancouver, Canuckistan
If you're using the X-55 throttle, another thing you might look at is removing the secondary throttle input. Because it's a split throttle, ArmA III sees input as two different throttles even when you've got the lock engaged and are using it as one solid piece. The two input signals can sometimes cause the game to act a bit wonky.


S = k ln W

Moderated by  Meatsheild, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
RIP--James Drury--the Virginian
by Forward Observer. 04/07/20 12:43 AM
HMAS Otama in 1999
by Mad Max. 04/06/20 11:24 PM
Metro Exodus
by PanzerMeyer. 04/06/20 11:53 AM
Jaws actress dies of Coronavirus at 91.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/06/20 01:34 AM
Covid-19 information
by oldgrognard. 04/04/20 03:58 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0