Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3965823 - 06/10/14 10:39 PM I've Been Flying For Free On My Airline for the Past 20 years But Its About To Change  
Haggart Offline
I Fought Diablo
Haggart  Offline
I Fought Diablo
Veteran

The Lone Star State
Soon my family will be flying to Switzerland almost free using flying points as we've always done when flying somewhere. But starting next year it's going to get tougher to do.

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/airline-miles-now-worth-only-feet-2013-11-14

all good things must come to an end

"United Airlines said Tuesday that beginning in March 2015 it will begin rewarding consumers based on how much they pay for tickets rather than how many miles they travel. It joins Delta DAL +0.12% , which made a similar move a few months back, that will also take effect in 2015. This could hurt passengers who fly longer distances for lower fares and could make round-trip tickets less rewarding.
Airlines are changing their frequent flier programs in other ways as well: American Airlines AAL -0.21% changed its rewards structure in April (for travel beginning in June) so that for about half the year it will increase its redemption rate to 30,000 miles, up from the previous 25,000 miles, and on the busiest days will charge 50,000 miles; however, during less busy times, it will lower the rate to 20,000 miles. And at the end of March, Southwest frequent fliers saw their points devalued by roughly 14"

if you have flying points built up you might want to use them soon !

"everything lives by a law, a central balance sustains all"
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3965837 - 06/10/14 10:55 PM Re: I've Been Flying For Free On My Airline for the Past 20 years But Its About To Change [Re: Haggart]  
Murphy Offline
Administrator
Murphy  Offline
Administrator
Hotshot

Northern Michigan, USA
Starting next year, maybe you won't want to travel so much.... wink
Or is that your plan, for retirement?