Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 15 1 2 3 4 5 14 15
#4064076 - 01/15/15 04:07 AM Re: Cockpits improvement program ***** [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
CG2015, what exactly you tried? start APU and engines using clickable elements or keyboard shortkeys? can you click on switches at least?
and like NutsnBolts said, you have to worry about ground support buttons (refuel/repair/groundfeed) if you have Realistic avionics only.
hints settings are popup_obj_name_delay and popup_hint_delay, set them to 0.1 if you want to see them right after cursor going over any switch.

Last edited by thealx; 01/15/15 04:07 AM.
#4064286 - 01/15/15 03:44 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
GAFflyer Offline
Junior Member
GAFflyer  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
Nordrhein Westfahlen
Hi thealx, it me the guy from YT ^^
Once again awesome work you did.
I already sunk nearly 10 hrs in flying the Hind. So far I haven't had any issues, so no crashes or Major bugs. Only thing worth mentioning is that on some FARP's Ext Pwr and refueling, even weapon changing does not work. Don't know if that's a Bug or a feature.
And a second issue i'am currently stuck in, is that I can't operate the nose gun on realistic Avionics. I tried it for hours now and can't see what i might do wrong.


@CG2015 Try deactivating TrackIR (F9 by default) with mouse look enabled. This way you should be able to reach all the switches.

#4064313 - 01/15/15 05:21 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
hi! currently FARP territory is 400x400 meters square, but sometimes landing pads placed outside of this area so only way you can use ground support functions is roll around or take off and land closer to the keysite icon on the map. it's common game issue, but I didn't tried to fix it yet.
nose gun has three modes - Pilot's control, Operator's control and stowed position. if Pilot's NOSEGUN CONTROL and ARM MASTER switches are enabled, gun fixed at zero angles - you can use it like boresight weapon with automatic or manual aiming. if NOSEGUN CONTROL is disabled and Operator's ARM MASTER switch (round metal plate on the left handle of Operator's collimator) is enabled, gun can be controlled by this collimator (enter aiming mode with F3 or disable frictional brakes, but it's not good idea). in other cases gun fixed in stowed position and can't be used.

Last edited by thealx; 01/15/15 05:23 PM.
#4064323 - 01/15/15 05:52 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
GAFflyer Offline
Junior Member
GAFflyer  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
Nordrhein Westfahlen
Ah, there it Is biggrin pretty well hidden.

#4064330 - 01/15/15 06:03 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
oh, I got it. for Realistic level this switch doesn't activated automatically when you moving to aiming mode. also you can do it manually by NumpadDel key.

#4064529 - 01/16/15 05:36 AM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 3,552
CG2015 Offline
Senior Member
CG2015  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 3,552
I turn clickable cockpit off in the ini file and still can't turn the engine on using the keyboard.

It looks good and thanks for the hard work to do it but looking at the 2 pages of instructions for the MI-24, I just don't have the time to learn all those.

It's easier to play the old way with the keyboard and mouse keys.

Spend 30 min trying to start the engine and before you can even take off, the enemy has already turned you into a fireball while you are still on the helipad messing with all the controls.

Then when you get into combat and warnings are going off and missiles and small arms fire are coming at you, there is no time to look at all those switches and panels and pan left and right and up and down.

#4064560 - 01/16/15 08:41 AM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
Offline
Member
 Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
maybe is possible add key enable /disable all avionics and clickable cockpit in game? Easier to learn everything when too much stress wink

#4064561 - 01/16/15 08:44 AM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
you still didn't answer what exactly you tried to do, what keys used, is manual engine start up enabled or disabled.

agree about last one - avionics damage cause huge workload, but without it making all these complicated systems will be pointless.

XIII, there are 3 keys for systems and 7 keys for weapons, can't see how it can be simpler.

Last edited by thealx; 01/16/15 08:48 AM.
#4064562 - 01/16/15 09:07 AM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
Offline
Member
 Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
thealx yes,agree
cg-now is study sim,not arcade. Just set in ini invulnerable to 5000 and learn everything without stress.

#4064581 - 01/16/15 12:01 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
GAFflyer Offline
Junior Member
GAFflyer  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 13
Nordrhein Westfahlen
@ CG
I'm not sure if Alex's Hind is the right thing for you. It is complex just for the sake of being complex. There are people out there, like me, who enjoy the work and effort one has to put in to master the beast, and after weeks of training, being finally able to employ it efficiently in combat.
I also understand that there are people who just want to give it a quick spin, blow stuff up and have fun. But that would do this awesome project of alex little justice.

@ Alex
I wanted to offer you my assistance, if you need any. While I am studying computer science at the moment I don't think my coding "skills" would be much of help. However, If you want me to, I could rewrite the Manual to make it more easy to understand and translate it into proper english (*edit And add some screenshots). What do you think?

Last edited by GAFflyer; 01/16/15 12:06 PM.
#4064585 - 01/16/15 12:15 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
Offline
Member
 Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
100% agree. Imo best option for arcade people is leave forever to download 1.15.2 And new version directed to realism.

#4064614 - 01/16/15 01:53 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Imo best option for arcade people is leave forever to download 1.15.2

my plan was (still is) to reach compromise by using different difficulty levels, but yes - worst scenario will be something like that.
GAFflyer, I sent to you private message.

Last edited by thealx; 01/16/15 02:41 PM.
#4064627 - 01/16/15 02:16 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
Offline
Member
 Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
You have to answer yourself it its worth it? wink you must worry about compability to easy avionics.wasting time to coding all version etc. And even easy avionics will be too hard for some people,and this is normal,not everyone want complicted simulator.
And so situation will be clear-you want semi arcade simulator-download 1152, want hardcore?download 1153. My 2 cents,of course youre a boss wink

#4064667 - 01/16/15 02:55 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 356
SKIP2008 Offline
Member
SKIP2008  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 356
ITALY
I'm agree with you XIII.

#4064674 - 01/16/15 03:06 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 183
NutsnBolts Offline
Needs moar Mi-24
NutsnBolts  Offline
Needs moar Mi-24
Member

Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 183
York, UK
At this point it might be time to think about some form of mod loader, allowing players to pick the mod/s they want to run with the game. Obviously not a simple task, but it seems to me to offer a good combination of flexibility and ease if use. In this way, one could, say, run EECH 1152 but leave off 1153, particularly if a hypothetical 1154 doesn't require 1153 to run.


<Insert witty sig block here>
#4064679 - 01/16/15 03:17 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
Offline
Member
 Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
i think it is possible in jsgme installer. If you have login on BMS forum here is thread about this. http://www.bmsforum.org/forum/showthread.php?20251-JSGME-for-BMS-simply-mod-manager or just search on google.

#4064687 - 01/16/15 03:30 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
currently only clickable cockpits with simple avionics (like OH-58) can be installed as mods, but for aircrafts with advanced avionics most data in the code and no way to separate it at installation process. only way I see to make game flexible is use avionics levels, and I will follow it until some better solution will appears.
also gwut file can be separated but now it's not really "hardcore", maybe later.

#4064876 - 01/16/15 10:49 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 183
NutsnBolts Offline
Needs moar Mi-24
NutsnBolts  Offline
Needs moar Mi-24
Member

Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 183
York, UK
Originally Posted By: CG2015
I turn clickable cockpit off in the ini file and still can't turn the engine on using the keyboard.

It looks good and thanks for the hard work to do it but looking at the 2 pages of instructions for the MI-24, I just don't have the time to learn all those.

It's easier to play the old way with the keyboard and mouse keys.

Spend 30 min trying to start the engine and before you can even take off, the enemy has already turned you into a fireball while you are still on the helipad messing with all the controls.

Then when you get into combat and warnings are going off and missiles and small arms fire are coming at you, there is no time to look at all those switches and panels and pan left and right and up and down.


By the by, I'd urge you to keep at it. Maybe it's not for you, of course, and if so, that's fair enough! But it might be that you have to work at it to appreciate the fruits of your work at the end. When I first picked up EECH, I immediately leapt into the Hind - and got shot down. A lot. It took me a good 20 or 30 attempts to get my first success, and that was a Strike mission, because I'd decided the Hind just could not do SEAD, BAI, CAS etc. But the feeling of achievement when I finally watched a Sturm strike home on its target for the first time? That was good. Very good.

Also, I'd still like to see some screens of what you're doing. You might be missing something - god knows I did!

ETA: Also also (I know, too many), how you describe the Hind in action? Exactly how I feel in the Apache. It's like putting a Roman legionary into the Battle of Ypres - I have zero idea what the hell's going on, I can't work out how to do anything with my equipment, my pedal control's bloody backwards, and eventually I often end up flying it into something unhelpfully solid. So I sympathise, because I always end up chucking in the towel and going back to my nice, comforting Hind and her forest of dials and switches!

Last edited by NutsnBolts; 01/16/15 10:55 PM.

<Insert witty sig block here>
#4064885 - 01/16/15 11:09 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
Offline
Member
 Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
Btw maybe I miss something but why cant load more sthurm, and why cant load ataka missiles in mi 24 eech?

#4064899 - 01/16/15 11:51 PM Re: Cockpits improvement program [Re: thealx]  
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 183
NutsnBolts Offline
Needs moar Mi-24
NutsnBolts  Offline
Needs moar Mi-24
Member

Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 183
York, UK
AFAIK, the Mi-24 modelled in EECH is the Mi-24V as it was in around 2000, without any of the subsequent upgrades that enable the later Mi-24 versions (PN, VM and the like) to operate the Ataka missile. You'll notice on the photo above that the stub-wing has been shortened, by the removal of the endplates formerly used to carry a Sturm tube mounting; and that the inboard pylon also carries what look, to me, like AAMs (Igla?), another capability the Mi-24V doesn't have.

So, in truth, EECH is simulating an older Mi-24 type than the Russian Air Force presently uses. However, since some 750+ Mi-24Vs were exported, there are probably an awful lot of them still soldiering on without upgrades.

At least, that's how I understand things. Someone more knowledgeable than me will probably correct me wink


<Insert witty sig block here>
Page 3 of 15 1 2 3 4 5 14 15

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
103 mph AVERAGE across the USA!
by Nixer. 12/12/19 02:22 PM
Russian Aircraft Carrier Kuznetsov on fire
by Tom_Weiss. 12/12/19 11:45 AM
Re floating of the USS Oklahoma
by 3instein. 12/12/19 08:26 AM
Are we having too many children?
by NoFlyBoy. 12/12/19 03:03 AM
Arrowverse Crisis crossover special
by Raw Kryptonite. 12/12/19 12:17 AM
Highest Scoring Aces Still Living
by F4UDash4. 12/11/19 02:18 PM
Ghostbusters : Afterlife
by Khai. 12/09/19 02:33 PM
Honey Badger doesn't give a #%&*$#
by Chucky. 12/09/19 01:51 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0