Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3956944 - 05/22/14 07:28 PM Direct3D 9 conversion  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
Recently XP was stopped supported, so it's time to change EECH to use a newer outdated DirectX 9.
Here are the Direct3D 9 conversion executables.

http://wikisend.com/download/384842/cohokum_08jun2014_d3d9.7z

1. Install EECH 1.15.2 (EEAH is not used and thus is not required).
2. Copy the files into COHOKUM directory.
3. Run the proper file.

Support of 16 bit colour was removed, and some Direct3D switches too. notnl=0 and 1 both should work.

mfd export is implemented partially. Havoc cockpit does not use EEAH files.

Feedback about visual bugs and conversion-related CTDs is appreciated.

FireBird

#3956948 - 05/22/14 07:38 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
noob questions:
dx9 render states works?
pixel shaders??
volumetric clouds???

-----

get crash after attempt to make screenshot
game freezes after applying new screen resolution
transparent textures on fuselage, MFD screens etc. flickering, HW rendering

Last edited by thealx; 05/22/14 08:04 PM.
#3957008 - 05/22/14 11:07 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 317
LazerPotatoe Offline
Member
LazerPotatoe  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 317
Toronto, Canada

Does this mean larger resolutions will be available for triple-head screens?

#3957016 - 05/22/14 11:44 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
Well, screen resolution change and Alt-Tab worked good on XP.
For now for resolution change please run original 1.15.0, change it there, then quit and run the new one.

Could you please provide video with flickering? I don't have one. But sometimes transparent pixels of "FLAMMABLE" and registration number on cars are black.

Bug fixing first, existing features improvements secondly, all other later.

FireBird

#3957098 - 05/23/14 08:08 AM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
Click to reveal..


one more thing. you know that mouse in nonexclusive mode and cursor moving at the background. but now some buttons (like start, show desktop) can be activated by clicking LMB, eech app crashes because it loosing focus (joystick problem I suppose).

#3957226 - 05/23/14 04:03 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
I fixed resolution change and Alt-Tab problem. Resolution change leads to textures loose, but it seems Alt-Tab fixes that.

The link in the first post is updated.

#3957259 - 05/23/14 05:13 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,958
Reticuli Offline
Member
Reticuli  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,958
Dayton, OH, USA
Any way to get true 3D terrain like Enemy Engaged 2 and stereoscopic support?


The term "necroposting" was invented by a person with no social memory beyond a year. People with a similar hangup are those o.k. with the internet being transient vapor.

http://www.openfuelstandard.org/2011/12/methanol-wins-open-wager.html

Saitek X65 and X52, Glide, Winx3D, and GlovePIE Profiles http://library.avsim.net/search.php?SearchTerm=reticuli&CatID=miscmisc

http://library.avsim.net/register.php

X52 + Silicone Grease = JOY stick
#3957278 - 05/23/14 06:00 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
after switching windows I got this both hw and sw rendering, crash after trying to exit. changing resolution gives same effect but game can be closed safely. also I dive underground when get into blackhawk =)


#3957287 - 05/23/14 06:24 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
Yup, textures problems like I said. Non-rendering features were not touched, so ground diving probably is an original bug.

Where's truth of 3d in EE2 landscapes?

The supplied exes have only interface changed from 7 to 9. There are no changes in the engine itself yet. There are still 256 points limitation per surface. There are still CPU-based rendering calculations.

So, bug fixing first (and they are a lot), then removal of archaisms from engine, and only then addition of new features. And if engine allows to show high-poly models without fps drop, we should have them from somewhere, they won't appear by themselves. It's true for every new or better features - landscape details, for example.
I hope I have enough time for bug fixing - in my understanding of D3D9 first, not code misprints.

#3958369 - 05/26/14 04:03 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
messyhead Offline
messyhead  Offline

Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,423
Nice FireBird. A good step on a good path here. It's been needing an engine upgrade for some time, and this is a good start. I had started reading about D3D and DX9 a while ago, but gave up due to time and also as I didn't think it would be possible to do it. But I'll tr and pick up some reading again and we could try to form a team of a few devs to work on this on the side.

On a side note, it would also be great if I could pick your brain some more for my Blackhawk model. I've only recently started it again, and I think we had started implementing MFDs last time we spoke. If I could have some pointers to work it out myself, then I'll not need to bother you too much. We could PM.

#3958425 - 05/26/14 07:03 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Echo7 Offline
Junior Member
Echo7  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 5
Hi guys, just to let you know that this EXE solves the low framerate in fullscreen mode for me (as reported here) smile

Will 1.15.2 be updated in the same manner?

#3958472 - 05/26/14 09:58 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
I hope I'll fix the bugs by the moment 1.15.2 is released. Then I'll merge the code and publish yet another 1.15.2 D3D9 test version.
For now I don't have enough time to fight with 1.15.2 bugs as well.

BTW, Dr. Memory shows some nasty "out of allocated memory" accesses. In sound loading, for example, get_sound_block_header_index() returns -1 and caller does not check that. Heap is crushed then. And I see C programmers don't like to release resources as well, there are lots of leaks (even in leak-cheking code).

#3958861 - 05/27/14 09:43 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
New test exes are available (in the first post). It seems I coped with textures. And Print Screen should work in Full Screen mode. Maybe mouse problems are fixed too. And of course, fixed a lot of memory problems.

No MFD export yet.

Please report bugs.

#3959184 - 05/28/14 06:31 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
Hmmm... No activity in the thread... It's no good. Or just there are no bugs?

BTW I was able to run EECH with two-monitor configuration using SoftTH. FPS was low, but I think it's EECH problems of usage of software buffers.

And question about MFD export - how do you connect your additional MFD monitors? Are they connected to the same graphic card (where primary one attached), another graphic card, or both cases exist?
Anyway, how do you control the video resolution of that MFD monitor? I don't see those controls in EECH.INI, just positions.

FireBird

#3959195 - 05/28/14 07:04 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
there are no bugs?

no way! I'm finishing 3 pages report right now =)

#3959201 - 05/28/14 07:14 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
I hope those pages are not A1 size?

Your primary goal is to finish 1.15.2. Please don't mess with anything else.

#3959224 - 05/28/14 08:09 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
thealx Offline
Member
thealx  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Please don't mess with anything else

but it's so cool to find problems without feeling that I need to fix them!

what is works now:
- printscreen button is fine, and looks like now it's doesn't create half second freeze like before
- no texture problems after switching windows

Hw rendering troubles only

- transparent surfaces and some objects has wrong z depth
Click to reveal..


- some very strange objects visibility problem - sometimes all objects are just cut by some kind of horizon contour, depends on distance and direction of camera view
Click to reveal..


both hw and sw rendering troubles:

- when trees fog is disabled (trees-fog=2 and fps too low, or trees-fog=0) strange things happens with trees sometimes, usually they are good (don't look at broken alpha of texture). no problems with fogged trees
Click to reveal..

- looking at clouds with minimum FOV (clouds cover whole screen) makes fps drop from 60 to 2-5 (or it was before? not sure)
- got crashes several times after attempts to exit with ctrl-x. not really bothering
- still has mouse troubles - after clicking in corner it switching to desktop


if I remember correctly, there is no way to change resolution for second monitor - it's always 640x480

#3959239 - 05/28/14 08:32 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
Looks like HW rendering has no correct znear/zfar margins set for some reason.
For trees probably blending is not enabled in some code path.

FPS is not a goal for now.

Screenshots don't work in windows mode yet, but I found Ogre has some code about that situation.

Crashes & mouse problems - probably it's better to fix those problems when source code is available and debug exe is runnable by many. I cannot reproduce both of those problems, so maybe anyone else will can (after 1.15.2 release).

Thus, export/znear/zfar/blending and that's all so far.

Thank you for report.

#3959244 - 05/28/14 08:38 PM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 554
AndyB Offline
Member
AndyB  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 554
Ayrshire, Scotland
Hi Firebird, long time no see!

I don't know if it's relevant here, but I'm running my exported MFDs on an external monitor via a second networked PC using a program called MaxiVist Mirror Pro and I have full control over the resolution of that monitor. I'm actually running them at 1280 x 1024.

You're doing a great job Thealx, it's very much appreciated.

Cheers,

Andy


Andy's simpit: http://www.simpit.me.uk
#3959873 - 05/30/14 12:29 AM Re: Direct3D 9 conversion [Re: FireBird_[WINE]]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
FireBird_[WINE] Offline
Member
FireBird_[WINE]  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 668
Well, I did something about depth problems. Sometimes it helps.

Also I implemented some way of MFD export. But it's not good enough yet... MFDs are in window mode only now ignoring main game video settings. For a single adapter with multiple outputs I found a way to make both of the windows to be in full screen via D3DCREATE_ADAPTERGROUP_DEVICE (and will implement it). Two Direct3D9 devices with a single graphic card don't want to be in full screen simultaneously.
But for many adapters... Is it the same? Have anyone got that configuration? MirrorPro says to disable Direct3D and OpenGL in PowerPoint, does it support any type of such API? Have anybody got additional PCI card in his computer?
Or there is a simple Direct3D9 usage for 2D only full screen output I know nothing about like DirectDraw was?

The link in the first post is updated.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  messyhead, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
WW2 still finding bodies
by Alicatt. 10/10/19 04:10 PM
That moment in time....
by Bill_Grant. 10/09/19 01:35 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0