Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#3949471 - 05/05/14 09:10 PM EVE Online newbie POV  
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Philippines / North East UK
EVE Online Blog

Ive always wanted to try EVE Online for years. I remember looking at copycat games in the Philippines and there was even an attempt to hack EVE so that it can be run from a private server. The idea there was that with a private server, there would be no need to pay for a monthly subscription. As a college student in a third-world country, hobby money was as real as Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy.

Suffice to say I wasnt able to play EVE Online and was just forced to watch from the sidelines. Im not very good at that and luckily, I had other interests to keep me occupied.

On February 2010, I moved to the UK thanks to a lucky break in my career and managed to snag a Special Edition box of EVE that came with a 60-day time card. I made my character, did the tutorials, and then had a general putter about. I had no clue what I was doing aside from what the tutorials taught me so I sought membership into EVE University, a corporation that specialized in teaching new players what to do. Unfortunately, due to the wait times, I wasnt able to join in soon enough and my subscription ended. I didnt exactly have much fun so I didnt re-subscribe.

I did, however, keep getting newsletters on my email address so I knew that EVE was alive and well and went through a good few expansions. Every now and again, Steam would put EVE starter packs on sale and I would get tempted to play it again, but I always had excuses and other games to keep me busy.