Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3908166 - 02/06/14 08:38 PM Large TN panels over high resolution monitors?  
TigerL0rd Offline
TigerL0rd  Offline

Quebec
Dear SimHQ,

I would like to ask more experienced simpit builders advice about monitors and your experience with larger (cheaper) TN panels.

I'm a photographer. I currently use three 30" S-IPS monitors on my workstation in a LLL configuration. I just ordered a R3volution and intended on migrating my screens to the Obutto. However, I have concerns.

7680x1600 is a big resolution. Though I intend to get back into flight sims, the main purpose of my setup is for Elite Dangerous and Star Citizen. As such, it will probably require three 20nm GPU to render Cryengine3 at this resolution with all eye candies enabled, and I wonder whether it's worth it. In the sense of will I be close enough to the screens to notice all the details I spent a lot of money to generate?

I have never flown in sims while seated in a pit, but from the videos I watched, it seems most people prefer large TN panels (like 39-40" TV) over smaller IPS panels. Plus, while three 30" provide plenty of immersion, I imagine three 40" will immerse you that much more.

I'm sure playing a sim on a 40" 1080p TV might produce some blur or pixelated images, but how noticeable is it?

I could go with 4K 39" monitors like these but then I face the same problem as my triple IPS panel configuration: too many pixels to push. Three of these is 11520x2160, almost 25M pixels. Twice as much as my current 7680x1600 config. I cannot imagine ANY GPU config, even a Quad-20nm GPU config (still unreleased too, but they will be by the time SC launches) could render Cryengine3 in any shape or form, even at the lowest settings.

So I'm either keeping my two U3011 and U3014, or I am considering buying three 1080p TV or TN panels around 40" for added immersion and I will accept the pixelated images as price for this added immersion.