Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 107 of 108 1 2 105 106 107 108
#4545920 - 11/24/20 04:51 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino ***** [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 456
tirta Offline
Member
tirta  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 456
IIRC when converting all CH Products fighterstick, throttle and pedal using mjoy, I find the working gimbal angle is rather small only in ch throttle, but I think it is about 150 degrees.

And comparing the sensor price, I find AS5600 is a lot more expensive compared to TLE5010, so I guess TLE5010 is a better choice.
And you also correct that TLE5010 resolution is far better compared what my hand can control.
It is far better to make the current mechanism more precise first.

Sokol1, reading the previous posts, I find the best magnet for TLE5010 is ring magnet, diameter 6mm.
is this correct?

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4545933 - 11/24/20 06:51 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: tirta]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,862
Sokol1 Offline
Senior Member
Sokol1  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,862
Internet
Diametrically magnetized ring.

But if is more practical fit a square or rectangular magnet, no reason for don't use.

Quote
I find the working gimbal angle is rather small only in ch throttle, but I think it is about 150 degrees.


The working angle is the angle that potentiometer turn, no way to be 150º because potentiometer used by CH have the resistive trail limited to ~30+30º. smile

#4546035 - 11/25/20 05:38 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 456
tirta Offline
Member
tirta  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 456
Sokol1,

you are correct, it's a typo, it should be 50 degrees.
but now I recall a1302 does not need 180 degrees to get 0-5V, it is about 60 degrees, is this correct?

so no need to get diametrically ring magnet? a square or rectangular also work? how big? 6mm is enough?

#4547639 - 12/08/20 07:36 AM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 4
bulair Offline
Junior Member
bulair  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 4
Bangkok
I used the option to define axis to button in MMJOY2. Now under joystick both the axis and button react at the same time so it is virtually impossible to have software detect your input.
Does anyone know how to switch off the axis in MMJOY2 so only the button assigned will be visible?

THx wink


Axel Lukassen
#4548641 - 12/15/20 08:02 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 643
AndyB Offline
Member
AndyB  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 643
Ayrshire, Scotland
Help please ....

I've just started playing around with this software/firmware and am getting no where.

I purchased a few Pro Micro boards from Amazon and fitted them to a breadboard. Plugged in to my PC and it shows up in the device manager as Arduino Lenonard on Com 24.

I ran the mmjoysetup.exe program and configured it for a single 10k pot connected to pin B6. The other two pins connected to +5 and ground.

As instructed, I flicked the reset to ground twice and the bootloader option shows up in device manager on Com 25. So far, so good

Set up one axis in the program and uploaded it to the Micro Pro. Seems to work. I get the DOS window flashing up and then dissapearing.

That's when it all goes wrong. Turning the pot does not give me any raw data readings (as I believe it should) and it says "Ok. Used axis 0,buttons 0"

Could somebody point me in the right direction please.

MY PC is windows 7 pro 64 bit.

I've included a couple of screen captures of what's going on.

Cheers,

Andy

Attached Files Image1.jpgImage2.jpg

Andy's simpit: http://www.simpit.me.uk
#4548661 - 12/15/20 10:11 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: AndyB]  
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
zenPanda Offline
Junior Member
zenPanda  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
CA - California
Click on the Arduino Leandro that is highlighted in blue in your first image and then you should see the 2 buttons Load Sets From Device and Save Sets to device become available. Click the Save Sets to device which should popup a progress bar and then reboot the Arduino. Once it pops up again in the window it should say mmjoy in the name. Click it again as before and this time click Load sets from device and then try your pot.

Also, based on what you described I don't think you actually flashed the board. Did you short the pin and then check the com port? There are 2 com ports...one for when it is not in bootloader mode and another for when it is. You have to put it into boot loader mode to find out what port it will change to. Then when ready to flash put it in bootloader mode again and select the proper com port and then flash. You only have 8 seconds to start the flash before it comes out of bootloader mode so be ready when you short the pin. When it flashes the command dialog will open and you will see code in the window. If it just pops up and disappears I would say it failed...probably because you are not on the right com port. Once it is flashed you need to do the steps above up to at least save sets to device. Good Luck.

Last edited by zenPanda; 12/16/20 01:16 AM.
#4548711 - 12/16/20 09:39 AM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
zenPanda Offline
Junior Member
zenPanda  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
CA - California
So, I just realized I had an old version of the software and did an update and was running into the same issue you are. The problem (if you are doing everything else in my post above and still having issues ) is with the path to the hex file. You need to open the MMJouSetup.ini file in a text editor like notepad++ and change the path to the correct path in your MMJoy/Firmware folder. After doing that and fiddling a couple times with the bootloader again it worked and you should command window loading code.

#4548722 - 12/16/20 12:00 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 643
AndyB Offline
Member
AndyB  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 643
Ayrshire, Scotland
Hi zenPanda,

Thanks for the replies. I'll give that a go later.

Cheers,

Andy


Andy's simpit: http://www.simpit.me.uk
#4548723 - 12/16/20 12:27 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 643
AndyB Offline
Member
AndyB  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 643
Ayrshire, Scotland
Hi zenPanda,

That's me up and running now.

Many thanks again for the help.

Cheers,

Andy


Andy's simpit: http://www.simpit.me.uk
#4548783 - 12/16/20 08:32 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
zenPanda Offline
Junior Member
zenPanda  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 6
CA - California
Glad I could help.

#4549898 - 12/27/20 06:11 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
loopingz Offline
Junior Member
loopingz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Hi there,

I am trying to do a 4x2 matrix from a joystick that had 1 ground and 8 signals.
I am looking at
https://github.com/MMjoy/mmjoy_en/wiki/Connecting-basic-inputs-and-setting-up-software#button-matrix
Is there any issue if I wire first the diode and then the switch on all node. It feels the same to me as the swith and diode are in serie but may I am wrong for some unknown reason to me.
It would greatly simplificate my rewiring.
Can you confirm or correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks

Last edited by loopingz; 12/27/20 06:12 PM.
#4549901 - 12/27/20 07:25 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,862
Sokol1 Offline
Senior Member
Sokol1  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,862
Internet
For just 8 buttons you don't need use diode, can use just one row and 8 columns.

Last edited by Sokol1; 12/27/20 07:32 PM.
#4549906 - 12/27/20 07:58 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
loopingz Offline
Junior Member
loopingz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks Sokol1,
t is a generic question about button matrix, I am reverse engineering a microsoft force feedback joystick and a Saitek cyborg 3D. I am rewiring the Saitek to use the grip in the microsoft joystick.
Microsoft use a 2x4 matrix with diode so I need to match. Saitek use a common ground so I prefer to put the diode on the signal side. I will try anyway.

#4549940 - 12/28/20 12:07 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Repvez Offline
Junior Member
Repvez  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Hi,
I have all neccessary part to convert my FLCS/TQS.
But I need some summary tha I don't make any mistake when i do.
I have a Shift regiszter , but not an original one, but I would like to connect the handle like the original Cougar grip.If I want to change the stick base in the future , it will be compatible with the oroginal softver .
So, Can somebody link a scematic about the all buttons and axis wire. wich button can go the same row and column
I would like to use only one Arduino pro micro. and all X,Y,Z and the rudder axis would be TLE5010.
Wich wires can be connect together like a common wire like a ground and the VCC?
The arduino place will be in the TQS base, that's why the stick 5 wire and the 2 TLE5010 wire need to go to TQS base.
[img]https://scontent-dus1-1.xx.fbcdn.ne...4c7a9909bacaee3adbae656e&oe=600ED5EC[/img
[img]https://scontent-dus1-1.xx.fbcdn.ne...c32526fbe6196da85125056d&oe=60103F7F[/img] ]


This is the Shift register what i use

And this is the Po micro with the shild:
[img]https://scontent-dus1-1.xx.fbcdn.ne...a4224e5ef09bdd6c33f384b1&oe=600F87D1[/img]
But is not important to use the shild

#4550029 - 12/28/20 11:53 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,862
Sokol1 Offline
Senior Member
Sokol1  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,862
Internet
Quote
So, Can somebody link a scematic about the all buttons and axis wire. wich button can go the same row and column


F16-FLCS, F22PRO, Cougar, Warthog, F-16... don't use matrix (buttons and columns) but Shift Register: 3x CD4021B on PCB.

You can use Matrix, but need create you own scheme, grip have 18 buttons, what mean at least 5x4 (lines x columns) matrix, what make difficult find a connector for make grip detachable.

So if you plane make the grip detachable, will need 3D Print the nut and bolt for the grip/base, so stick to Shift Register PCB, what means only 5 wires going for the base.

And use on Arduino for stick and one for throttle, what keep things simple = less and short wires.

This PCB Shield have connector for grip Serial connection (5 pins)?

#4550070 - 12/29/20 09:25 AM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Repvez Offline
Junior Member
Repvez  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
If you can see I have a shift register (3xcd4021b) in the handle. 6x5 pins and 5 pins in and 5 pins out on the board.

I just want to know, which buttom pins need to be connected on this pnael to mach the 5 wires(5v,GND,data,SCK,cs) which is go to the arduino board. And the TLE5010 wires can be common wires the samae pins except the data ?
So the 5 wires come from the handle , and 2x6 wires from the TLE5010. but the GND, VCC is the same. so the total wires is 13 to go to the TQS base. but if I can connect another pins on the TLE5010 it can be save another pins. The DB15 connector is more then enough to bring the sign to the TQS.

But I don't know wich one can be use together. and what the connection order for the shift register to be the right place at the end.

#4550934 - 01/06/21 09:38 AM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Repvez Offline
Junior Member
Repvez  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Can somebody say about what could be tthe problem. If I use the upper linked shift register and when I first installed the MMjoy2 program (v20161101) then the prorgam recognised all button on the handle without any setup. but after that I read how I can set up correctly in the program.
So I selected the shift register part and set up how many chip is on it and the pins.
But after that I lost almost every button in the program. And after that I tried to set up back , but it never come back again. I also tried to selecr another chip on the list and different pins, but nothing change. once I got All buttons became red in the program but no reaction if i push any button.

I use the upper linked shift register, but I don't know what the exact chips on it, because i can't see the name on it. and I also use the shield panel , so I wasn't sure which pins are which.

And I still waiting some information how I can connect correctly connect the buttons on the shift register.

Thanks

#4550981 - 01/06/21 03:53 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,862
Sokol1 Offline
Senior Member
Sokol1  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,862
Internet
Have you defined the logical buttons equivalence in MMjoySetup - right column?

Example:

Physical (Joystiñk) button #1 = logical (H/W button) button #1 (or whatever number you want). Leave mode as "Button (norm)".

#4550992 - 01/06/21 05:13 PM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Repvez Offline
Junior Member
Repvez  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 69
Yes , but the program doesn't recognose the all button in the display area where are the buttns from 1-132. when I select the shift register chip type int the menu (4021,74hc165) and set up the 3 chip and the d0 and d1 pins then save. after that the buttons became red from 1 to 24 but they don't do anything when I push the buttons. If I leave blank the shift register part then these buttons change normal but they don't do anything , shomethimes, only the HAT pov and the S3 and trigger 1 buttons work, nothing else.
So that is why I can't define the buttons on the handle. If they don't recognise they can't see in the right column.

#4551756 - 01/11/21 09:27 AM Re: MMJoy/MMjoy2 - Set your own USB controller with a cheap Arduino [Re: Sokol1]  
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 7
SeanGH Offline
Junior Member
SeanGH  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 7
Hi Guys,

So i have 2 Pro Micros - uploaded GREAT! I found a Leonardo in the drawer and uploaded a test of 1 button. Since i added more buttons and an axis to test further it wont upload. I used the standard Arduino app to test and it works fine with other stuff BUT not uploading to the Leo via MMJOY2.
Any ideas?

Page 107 of 108 1 2 105 106 107 108

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Join me my brothers and sisters.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/26/21 02:34 PM
The Battle of Verdun Lego style
by PanzerMeyer. 02/25/21 07:53 PM
Dinossaurs tv show behind the scenes
by Blade_RJ. 02/25/21 07:13 PM
Poorly written historical pieces
by oldgrognard. 02/25/21 07:28 AM
Fry's Electronics is no more.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/21 04:16 AM
Math - what is the correct answer?
by KraziKanuK. 02/24/21 01:29 PM
Tiger Woods involved in serious Car accident
by WangoTango. 02/23/21 07:45 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0