Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 5 of 15 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 14 15
#3813415 - 07/23/13 05:15 PM Re: S-75M3 Volhov (SA-2E Guideline) ***** [Re: Mdore]  
Hpasp Offline
Hpasp  Offline

Hungary, Europe
Originally Posted By: Mdore
I'm not an expert in electronics, physics, radar or anything like that.

I did think of ways the accuracy could be improved, some of the ways you mentioned. But I don't know if they are used in reality. It's why I asked for more information.

The systems in SAM Simulator seem too accurate to me as well. But I'm not sure if it's because we're guiding missiles more accurately than can be done in historical reality, or it's because targets do not try to dodge or avoid missiles. Or both reasons!

In some of the Vietnam era missions in SAM Sim, I can shoot down 10+ aircraft very easily. I managed to shoot down 13 aircraft a few times. This is WAY more than could be managed in reality.

And I can shoot down Gary Powers with nearly 100% reliability in the 1960 mission with one missile. In reality didn't they fire 12 missiles?

SAM Simulator seems much too accurate.

Disagree.
nope

There is a manual describing the guidance accuracy of the Volhov.
Its more than 70 pages, so I would not copy it here.
The maximum error in the guidance system at 56km is less than 20m.
(Its on the history.pvo site)

Do not think digitally.
The target is measured by several successive beams.
(thus is why the same target is visible on several beams)

During live firing exercises against maneuvering supersonic drones, always only one missile was launched by one battery (and usually killed the target).

SAMSIM is realistic in that sense...
... its unrealistic that allows YOU to use Volhov against Powers and Vietnamese targets.

Exactly this is the reason why I hate "Allow non historic scenario" (unrealistic) mode of the SAMSIM.
(just imagine the same situations with Vega)

Maybe I will have to remove it from the next version onwards*...
banghead