Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3850819 - 10/16/13 07:24 PM Why aren't my bombs exploding?  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 71
sgtduder Offline
Junior Member
sgtduder  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 71
North Carolina
Title says it all. I am back to BMS 4.32 update 6 and when my bombs hot the ground I am not rewarded with the satisfying ker-thump! What am I doing or not doing?


Decent pooter
lots or ram
newish GFX card
yet to be modified cougar
Track IR (the wife make fun of this...)

So this is how the world ends, not with a bang, but with a whimper....
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3850865 - 10/16/13 09:33 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Need more info. Master arm on? Which bombs exactly? More info!


- Ice
#3850882 - 10/16/13 10:41 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,167
MigBuster Offline
Member
MigBuster  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,167
UK
Probably bomb arm time needs adjusting if you are dropping low level


'Crashing and Burning since 1987'
#3850888 - 10/16/13 10:55 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 71
sgtduder Offline
Junior Member
sgtduder  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 71
North Carolina
Master arm in on. I am attempting CCIP delivery in about a 20-30 degree dive from about 10k ant 3nm from the target. MK-76 seem to work but any 500lb bomb duds or will not pickle. I don't know what to do.


Decent pooter
lots or ram
newish GFX card
yet to be modified cougar
Track IR (the wife make fun of this...)

So this is how the world ends, not with a bang, but with a whimper....
#3850897 - 10/16/13 11:08 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Press-and-hold the pickle button. I suspect you are entering consent-release CCRP at that point, wherein CCIP is actually post-designate CCRP (sorry, might have my terms wrong).


- Ice
#3850980 - 10/17/13 03:25 AM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Exploding or releasing?

Exploding might be fuze or fuze time issues.

#3851034 - 10/17/13 09:06 AM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 465
nadal Offline
Member
nadal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 465
Press and hold pickle button 1 sec before releasing cue hits your FPM(FlightPathMarker)

Last edited by nadal; 10/17/13 09:07 AM.
#3851156 - 10/17/13 06:41 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: nadal]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Originally Posted By: nadal
Press and hold pickle button 1 sec before releasing cue hits your FPM(FlightPathMarker)


There is no release cue as he is attempting a CCIP drop.


- Ice
#3851256 - 10/18/13 12:14 AM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: - Ice]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 465
nadal Offline
Member
nadal  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 465
Originally Posted By: - Ice
Originally Posted By: nadal
Press and hold pickle button 1 sec before releasing cue hits your FPM(FlightPathMarker)


There is no release cue as he is attempting a CCIP drop.


ahh my bad

If having releasing problem with CCIP, I think I saw a post in BMS forum thats saying when a gap between estimated impact point at the release stage and desired impact point gets too big it doesnt accept release.(Like the situation where you hold down the pickle in CCIP and wait for releasing cue to hit FPM)

Another factor I can think of is pickle button issue that Falcon4 had.
They should have implemented experimental fix with the recent BMS patch though.

Last edited by nadal; 10/18/13 12:52 AM.
#3851543 - 10/18/13 06:53 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
For a CCRP drop, you press-and-hold pickle about 2-3 seconds before the counter gets to zero.

For a CCIP drop, you have to make sure there is no CCIP Delay Cue. If there isn't then you are dropping in CCIP and the bombs will release immediately after pressing the pickle button. If there is a Delay Cue, then you will be entering "post-designate CCIP" and will have to press-and-hold the pickle button until the bombs come off. Read up on p.138-139 of the F4AF manual for more info.

Hope that helps!


- Ice
#3853189 - 10/23/13 07:58 AM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 358
schnidrman Offline
Jason Schneider
schnidrman  Offline
Jason Schneider
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 358
Kansas City, Missouri
explode explode explode explode explode explode explode explode explode explode

LOLOLOL!!!!


[Linked Image]
#3853942 - 10/24/13 10:15 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,558
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,558
Oregon
As Frederf mentioned - fuzing. I had the same difficulty: my old method for CCIP wasn't resulting in BOOM! - despite hits. Reduce your altitude or time to zero or extremely close and see what happens. If the bomb doesnt have sufficient time or altitude (forgetting which away from machine), it won't arm.

Fixed it for me.

Eugene


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 1060
Creative Z
Win10
16 gig RAM
Cougar
#3854910 - 10/27/13 11:01 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Did a few tests tonight. 10K altitude, pitch down at 3nm from target, CCIP drop, MK82 LDGP, 2sec arming delay. It doesn't even display the delay cue. My FPM is about 25degrees nose down, I release at about 6K altitude. The bombs come off straight away. Speed is about 400+knots.

So I'm not sure if fuzing/arming delay is the culprit here, unless he has it to something ridiculously high, like 10 seconds.


- Ice
#3854966 - 10/28/13 01:46 AM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
There are a few bugs in F4 regarding nose-tail fuzing which takes the higher of the two times instead of the lower. Whatever the time says on the MFD page is the arming time even if reality would be different (nose 2, tail 10, NT selected).

#3856295 - 10/30/13 10:35 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,558
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,558
Oregon
ZERO seconds delay.
Also, there are a number of entries for arming and altitude on the correct MFD page. I dont have Falcon open here, so cannot give you precise entry to make sure you have changed.

I am ALMOST certain this parameter is causing your problem, but cannot be positive. Perhaps you could post a screenshot of your MFD page so we could all view it.

You are discussing CCIP, correct?
If you are talking about CCRP, my recollection is that you are in a dive, not nearly level and kind of sounds amuck. For CCIP, I simply place the death dot pipper on the target and get down a bit lower than you at release.

Eugene


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 1060
Creative Z
Win10
16 gig RAM
Cougar
#3856381 - 10/31/13 01:00 AM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
I'm still not sure if we are describing difficultly getting the weapons to leave the aircraft or getting the bombs to explode when they impact the ground.

Zero seconds AD is a weird value that just maybe will cause problems. I would set it to 4.0 sec nominally as that's a normal USAF minimal setting.

#3856725 - 10/31/13 09:44 PM Re: Why aren't my bombs exploding? [Re: sgtduder]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Well, the OP needs to confirm his arming delay settings. Also, his initial posts are confusing whether the bombs actually separate from the aircraft or not.

If it is dropping but not exploding, then possibly the arming delay settings is the culprit. If the bombs aren't coming off at all, then there is something wrong with either the switch settings or the actual delivery method.


- Ice

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Post script on our fires
by Mad Max. 02/19/20 09:43 PM
Our current approaching storm
by Ajay. 02/19/20 12:35 PM
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
HITMAN 2, et al
by DBond. 02/17/20 01:52 PM
I didn't know this. Women Top Guns.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/17/20 03:46 AM
Betelgeuse
by Red2112. 02/16/20 11:35 PM
Heck just a good jam
by rwatson. 02/16/20 01:57 PM
EPIC Games = epic PITA
by Dunolde. 02/15/20 09:05 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0