Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3852516 - 10/21/13 07:55 PM Rewiring a Thrustmaster Elite Rudder Pedals set.  
Firedragon Offline
Firedragon  Offline

Hi,
I have bought an old Thrustmaster Elite Rudder Pedal which has gameport connectors. Is there any way to rewire this to run on a USB connector ?
Please note - I am a noob to this, so please be gentle :-)

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3852528 - 10/21/13 08:32 PM Re: Rewiring a Thrustmaster Elite Rudder Pedals set. [Re: Firedragon]  
HitchHikingFlatlander Offline
HitchHikingFlatlander  Offline

California
I mentioned in your other thread that you'd need something like a Leo Bodnar board to accomplish this but if you have an old USB flight stick lying around you could re-wire the rudders to the pots in the spare stick too (if money is tight). I had to do that to fix my Saitek pedals when the board fried!

I've got a bad feeling about this.....
#3852538 - 10/21/13 08:46 PM Re: Rewiring a Thrustmaster Elite Rudder Pedals set. [Re: Firedragon]  
GrizzlyT Offline
GrizzlyT  Offline

Sterling Heights, Michigan
The problem is that those pedals are basically just a potentiometer (And typically a poor one at that).
They do not have a HID controller, so what's missing is the whole "brain".

- You could buy a Cougar and plug it in direct. (Big added price.)
- You could gut the circuitry from a broken CH or Saitek USB pedal set.
- You could wire it to an A-Pac, or a Bodnar PCB. (And have the added benefit of having I/O available to make a switch box, or home made trim wheel, or throttles, etc. in the future)

And as well as finding a "brain", you may want to consider upgrading the pot now, too. (They are usually very noisy by this age.)
You can use Cubby's hall effect upgrade, or buy a high quality replacement position sensor (which was the route I took with mine).

EDIT: Sorry Hitch. I kinda repeated what you already said. We must have been typing at the same time smile