Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3841711 - 09/25/13 04:30 PM Unbearably Loud Tone  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
barbebill Offline
Junior Member
barbebill  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
LA
Hello all
I've been trying to practice with JTAC in the A-10C Warthog and not having much luck. First of all, a lot of times when I try to call JTAC, the frequency on the VHF FM switches from 30.00 to 108.00. Naturally, JTAC doesn't answer. When I do connect, and tell JTAC I'm ready to copy, here comes an unbearably loud tone that makes flying the sim impossible. I can fiddle with a few switches and shut it off but then I can't contact JTAC. This is frustrating, to say the least.

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling about five times. Other than these glitches, it's a great simulation.

Thanks for your help.

barbebill

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3841861 - 09/25/13 11:12 PM Re: Unbearably Loud Tone [Re: barbebill]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
If I recall some radios will sound if set to an invalid frequency. Can you describe the steps to reproduce in detail?

#3841873 - 09/25/13 11:32 PM Re: Unbearably Loud Tone [Re: barbebill]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
barbebill Offline
Junior Member
barbebill  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
LA
Thanks for your reply. During the pre-flight, I power up the radios and set the frequencies on all three, if appropriate. In flight. I'll contact JTAC and they'll respond. When I reply with "Standby to copy," that's when the tone starts. I just now learned to shut it off by changing the frequency but then I lose contact with JTAC and am unable to get it back. Also, the VHF FM frequency changes itself to something like 108.5. It's puzzling and frustrating.

Thanks for your help, Frederf.

#3841948 - 09/26/13 03:13 AM Re: Unbearably Loud Tone [Re: barbebill]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
I'm not sure I helped all that much yet if you're still having the issue.

I have seen a common error where people set the various radios to their emergency FM/AM settings via the mode knob. MAN or PRE is all that's needed for normal operation. I expect normal comms with a ground-based JTAC to be in the 30-40 MHz range on the FM radio. It's possible that the mission has specified a frequency-modulation combination that's simply invalid or you have some subtle error in procedure.

The ARC-186 AM radio is valid from 116.00 to 151.975 Mhz with amplitude modulation. The ARC-186 FM radio is valid from 30-76 MHz with frequency modulation.

The fact that your radio is automatically tuning suggests that "easy comms" is on as that's the only function I know that will change your radios without user action. It's possible that you or the program is trying to use an AM frequency for JTAC with the FM radio, resulting in an invalid configuration and thus the tone. Try the same steps with "easy comms" option off. Also confirm that you have the MIC switch forward, mid, and aft commands usable for selecting which radio is keyed. Confirm in the white text that the desired radio is being used in the F1-F12 menu before proceeding beyond the first page.

#3841955 - 09/26/13 03:35 AM Re: Unbearably Loud Tone [Re: barbebill]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
barbebill Offline
Junior Member
barbebill  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
LA
Thank you Frederf. I'll try that and see if "easy" comms is on.
Thanks for your quick reply

#3869767 - 12/01/13 06:37 AM Re: Unbearably Loud Tone [Re: barbebill]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,790
Weasel_Keeper Offline
SimHQ Forums Manager
Weasel_Keeper  Offline
SimHQ Forums Manager
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 10,790
Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Had a code-2 write up from my pilot the other day that his ARC-210 front radio did the same thing and he even let me hear what he was hearing...ouch! Avionics came out and replaced his front ARC-210...

Oh wait...

This sim doesn't have ARC-210s.

Maybe it's a simulated real malfunction like we have for real from time to time...or maybe it's pilot error...like we have for real from time to time...lol.



"Cave Putorium!"
SoWW #2485
Beware the Weasel

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
WW2 still finding bodies
by Alicatt. 10/10/19 04:10 PM
That moment in time....
by Bill_Grant. 10/09/19 01:35 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0