Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#3830599 - 09/02/13 11:56 AM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,896
bogusheadbox Offline
Opinionated Aussie Bloke
bogusheadbox  Offline
Opinionated Aussie Bloke
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,896
Well to say I am interested in this game is an understatement.

But from the video above, I get the impression that the devs are still not sure of their final direction.

I have concern for the game being on console as well as that simply nullifies their statements that this is for the space sim enthusiast.

But time will tell.

I will keep an eye on it.


Fighterops...

The only TRUE Stealth crowd funded game.

Devs said there was stuff there, but you just couldn't see it.
#3830640 - 09/02/13 02:26 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
He said it could be on consoles because consoles today are just PCs (basically) but he has no intention of making a console version of the game (AFAIK).

As for packages. If you buy the wrong package you can always break it down for store credit and buy a new one with alpha/beta.

Also if you want LTI you should gift your package to someone with LTI and they can break it down and rebuild it for you with LTI (life time insurance) and send it back to you.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#3830641 - 09/02/13 02:27 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Mace71]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
Originally Posted By: MaceUK33
Think I might wait before buying anything (game or RAM) as it may change in the future.

@Jamf - I have currently 3 2Gb modules and a slot free for a forth 2 Gb module.


The game runs like #%&*$# right now but it is far from optimized. At the end of the day if you can run another game that runs the cryengine (sp?) you will probably be able to run SC. So MWO would be a good example (it uses crytek right?)

Last edited by Master; 09/02/13 02:28 PM.

And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#3830676 - 09/02/13 04:12 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,896
bogusheadbox Offline
Opinionated Aussie Bloke
bogusheadbox  Offline
Opinionated Aussie Bloke
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,896
My opinion only

For it to play on console, it has to have a reduced controller footprint as there are no consoles that use keyboard, HOTAS and a mouse with the same ease of functionality.

So it just makes me think how "SIM" will it be. I don't think it will be DCS in space.

Negativity aside..... I am a huge space fan and I am looking forward to seeing how this pans out


Fighterops...

The only TRUE Stealth crowd funded game.

Devs said there was stuff there, but you just couldn't see it.
#3830698 - 09/02/13 04:43 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Mace71 Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Happy Birthday Mace71  Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Darlington, UK.
Originally Posted By: Master
Originally Posted By: MaceUK33
Think I might wait before buying anything (game or RAM) as it may change in the future.

@Jamf - I have currently 3 2Gb modules and a slot free for a forth 2 Gb module.


The game runs like #%&*$# right now but it is far from optimized. At the end of the day if you can run another game that runs the cryengine (sp?) you will probably be able to run SC. So MWO would be a good example (it uses crytek right?)


My concern is that hardware requirements increase in a year and I've paid 40 for something that's unusable. I really don't want to start upgrading PC hardware as it will end with me spending loads of money lol


Antec 902 | Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz OC'd to 3.40GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 660 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 | Corsair 6GB DDR3 | Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler | W7 64

"There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing and be nothing." Aristotle
#3830787 - 09/02/13 09:06 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
Ghost_unit13 Offline
Member
Ghost_unit13  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
The Netherlands
I'm not worried that it wouldn't need a big A$$ system to run one's the full game gets released. smile But by that time I need a new rig anyway. Maybe a video card upgrade next year.

For the rest I'm happy I pledge to support the game and can join the ride the next 2 years. And the good news is all can join ones the game is released!



i7 4770K @3.50Ghz - 16GB - 256 SSD - R9-280X - CH Hotas- 27"LG - Obutto Rev3
#3830900 - 09/03/13 04:17 AM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
kestrel79 Offline
Member
kestrel79  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
Wisconsin, USA
Went in my discount hanger again tonight after being gone for a few days. Looks like they made a few improvements:

-The hanger is brighter
-climbing the ladder is slightly less buggy
-I can open up this globe thing and it shows what ship I have (but I can't select anything)
-I can access the sleeping quarters of my Aurora. Pretty slick.

There's a hanger wall bug right now, that sucks. Also I still can't seem to take simple screenshots using my print screen key and paste in Paint. It just shows up black.

Anyone else know how to adjust the FOV when in your ships cockpit? When moving around it makes me dizzy like it's too far zoomed out.

Can't wait to see them keep updating things and fixing bugs.

I agree this new store they just added out of the blue seems kinda odd, pretty early to include something designed to take more of your money. But I'm holding off. I'll use in game cash I earn to buy stuff when this thing is up and playable.


Intel i5 2500k // Asus P8P67 // 16GB G.Skill RAM // RX480 8GB // 27" monitor // VKB Black Mamba Mk.III // Warthog Throttle // TFRP Pedals // W7
#3831020 - 09/03/13 01:57 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
-I can open up this globe thing and it shows what ship I have (but I can't select anything)

hold tab to bring up the cursor and you can use that to interact with it.

to adjust the FOV hit tilde ~

Then type

cl_fov 90 (or whatever value) they have hardcoded some FOVs which is annoying but hopefully that changes with time.

The prices in the new store are VERY high. I cant help but think they would balance them better at some point. Some of the guns cost as much as a ship. 20 bucks for the buggy? You can just about buy a Aurora for that. I cant see how the buggy (golf cart) would cost as much as a space ship (airplane). But only time will tell.

Last edited by Master; 09/03/13 02:00 PM.

And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#3831030 - 09/03/13 02:25 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: kestrel79]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,690
Feetwet Offline
Son of Birmingham
Feetwet  Offline
Son of Birmingham
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,690
Houston, Tx
Originally Posted By: kestrel79
Went in my discount hanger again tonight after being gone for a few days. Looks like they made a few improvements:

-The hanger is brighter
-climbing the ladder is slightly less buggy
-I can open up this globe thing and it shows what ship I have (but I can't select anything)
-I can access the sleeping quarters of my Aurora. Pretty slick.

There's a hanger wall bug right now, that sucks. Also I still can't seem to take simple screenshots using my print screen key and paste in Paint. It just shows up black.

Anyone else know how to adjust the FOV when in your ships cockpit? When moving around it makes me dizzy like it's too far zoomed out.

Can't wait to see them keep updating things and fixing bugs.

I agree this new store they just added out of the blue seems kinda odd, pretty early to include something designed to take more of your money. But I'm holding off. I'll use in game cash I earn to buy stuff when this thing is up and playable.


Played around with my budget hangar a bit. How did you access the sleeping quarters. Is that new as of today. When I tried yesterday I just kept getting in the pilot seat...that animation got old quick.

S


MWO callsign Feetwet
#3831151 - 09/03/13 05:29 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: kestrel79]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Alicatt Offline
Hotshot
Alicatt  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Ice Cold in Alex or Eating in ...
Originally Posted By: kestrel79
There's a hanger wall bug right now, that sucks. Also I still can't seem to take simple screenshots using my print screen key and paste in Paint. It just shows up black.

Pressing F12 takes a screen shot and you can check where it puts it by bringing up the game engine console by pressing "~" the "tilde key" if it is a US keyboard or the key to the left of the 1 key.
there is an option to adjust the FOV but I'm not sure of it off hand, when I find it again I will post it up here for you.

there are also options to adjust the light and the "mist" in the hangar.

The Holotable in the Business hangar allows you to select and alter the weapon loadout, but the one in the Discount is bugged and doesn't work.


Chlanna nan con thigibh a so's gheibh sibh feoil
Sons of the hound come here and get flesh
Clan Cameron
#3831164 - 09/03/13 05:53 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Feetwet]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
kestrel79 Offline
Member
kestrel79  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
Wisconsin, USA

Played around with my budget hangar a bit. How did you access the sleeping quarters. Is that new as of today. When I tried yesterday I just kept getting in the pilot seat...that animation got old quick.



I faced the sleeping quarters, crouched down, and a use command came up and I pressed F and went in. I know I was surprised to see it work.

What FOV are you guys using?

Last edited by kestrel79; 09/26/13 03:26 AM.

Intel i5 2500k // Asus P8P67 // 16GB G.Skill RAM // RX480 8GB // 27" monitor // VKB Black Mamba Mk.III // Warthog Throttle // TFRP Pedals // W7
#3841872 - 09/25/13 11:32 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
Tomorrow (Thursday) the "ticker" will pass through the 20 million mark. smile

#3842200 - 09/26/13 06:25 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
Looks like it went through the barrier at around 19:00 GMT. (Less than an hour ago)

#3842883 - 09/28/13 05:30 AM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/comm-link/transmission/13288-Multiple-Package-Clarification

This is a good way to handle it IMHO. I currently have each of my pledges assigned to a separate account but I think I might move them all to the same character now since I can gift the extra characters and keep the extras for myself!


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#3842910 - 09/28/13 10:11 AM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 356
CTR69 Offline
Member
CTR69  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 356
Great new animations in the latest Hangar patch. Moving into seats and pressing buttons works good and fluid.

#3843039 - 09/28/13 07:51 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
kestrel79 Offline
Member
kestrel79  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,080
Wisconsin, USA
Yep there's no clipping any more when I move inside the Aurora. Also the run looks better. Less stick up his butt type walk and run.


Intel i5 2500k // Asus P8P67 // 16GB G.Skill RAM // RX480 8GB // 27" monitor // VKB Black Mamba Mk.III // Warthog Throttle // TFRP Pedals // W7
#3843066 - 09/28/13 09:51 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: kestrel79]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 615
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 615
North Yorkshire, UK
Originally Posted By: kestrel79
Yep there's no clipping any more when I move inside the Aurora. Also the run looks better. Less stick up his butt type walk and run.


Please tell me that they have sorted the "walk" out? The last patch said that they had adjusted it but my avatar still walked at the speed of Usain Bolt after eating a dodgy curry!

*EDIT*
OK, I'm confused, is it just me seeing this??? Just finsished patching and my character is still running everywhere. I hold Shift down and I can see no real difference in speed. When I crouch his legs have a visible shake to them, which is less than impressive, but hey its a pre alpha alpha!

But the continual sprinting when its meant to be walking? That surely is one of the most basic bits of programing to get right isnt it, or am I missing something and need to reinstall or something?

Last edited by Ratcatcher; 09/28/13 10:36 PM.
#3843120 - 09/29/13 12:27 AM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
I think the current movement is jog/run. There is no walk at the moment.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#3843176 - 09/29/13 07:09 AM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 615
Ratcatcher Offline
Member
Ratcatcher  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 615
North Yorkshire, UK
Originally Posted By: Master
I think the current movement is jog/run. There is no walk at the moment.


Ah, thanks. I must be getting old, because this is really bugging me. I just can not understand how they can put all the obvious effort they have to give us a fantastic looking and functional space to walk ( sorry, run ) around in. Yet forces us to do it at a ridiculously fast speed.

I want to stroll around my ship, not manically blunder about it, running into walls like I'm on a bad acid trip! rolleyes

Cheers.

#3843279 - 09/29/13 01:53 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,946
Brennus Offline
Urban Legend
Brennus  Offline
Urban Legend
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,946
Detroit, MI
You get a full range of walkin' speeds w/ an XBOX 360 controller.


"You know what the chain of command is? It's the chain I go get and beat you with 'til ya understand who's in ruttin' command here."

- Jayne Cobb, "Firefly"
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Some funny Facebook observations
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 11:53 AM
Chinese Rocket
by carrick58. 05/05/21 12:26 AM
Hope everyone is having a good day
by oldgrognard. 05/04/21 02:09 PM
A long strange trip it's been
by rwatson. 05/03/21 04:31 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0