Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
#3829826 - 08/31/13 03:01 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Alicatt Offline
Hotshot
Alicatt  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Ice Cold in Alex or Eating in ...
Although I managed to download the module Thursday night /Friday morning I've been too busy to run it until today, there was a patch last night and some new options for the ingame store.
So, my Freelancer now has some cargo...




Chlanna nan con thigibh a so's gheibh sibh feoil
Sons of the hound come here and get flesh
Clan Cameron
#3829842 - 08/31/13 03:24 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Lancelot]  
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 356
CTR69 Offline
Member
CTR69  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 356
Originally Posted By: Lancelot

And my suggestions for improvement that i posted on the CIG forum.



For something even pre-alpha. it worked fine on my low end machine. I'm barely at the minimum, and only six gigas of RAM.

Hangar aside, i was happy with the module, and yesterday IMO they blow it up big time with the "Voyager Direct" store. It is the first time i got kind of mad with CIG for making the store available to be use with real money to get items this early on the development of the game. It was good to give the free credits to use it and test it how it works on the website and the items on the game, but it should had been, IMO, made with free credits, and once the game was released, or in very late alpha, re-start from zero and then have the final online store where you use real money.
Fortunately, it seems the acknowledge they made a mistake and are looking for how to ammend it. It remains to be seen what they will do.


Yes, those pillars need to go. It's now being called the single strut design, leaving the middle strut and removing these two which block the view. I hope they go for it.

As for the store, they should just concentrate on fixing the bugs on the hangar. The latest patch brought the wall corruption bug in the discount hangar. And many other things need fixing.

This store design can wait till mid 2014 or later.

Last edited by CTR69; 08/31/13 03:26 PM.
#3829877 - 08/31/13 04:36 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: CTR69]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Alicatt Offline
Hotshot
Alicatt  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Ice Cold in Alex or Eating in ...
Originally Posted By: CTR69

Yes, those pillars need to go. It's now being called the single strut design, leaving the middle strut and removing these two which block the view. I hope they go for it.


It was something brought to their attention during the first reveal of the Freelancer and in the Subscriber's vault.

Now if it was like this it would be much better




from this thread https://forums.robertsspaceindustries.co...e-flying#latest


Chlanna nan con thigibh a so's gheibh sibh feoil
Sons of the hound come here and get flesh
Clan Cameron
#3829883 - 08/31/13 04:45 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,984
NW Alabama, USA
I think just removing that one strut would be optimal. It is not supposed to have the best view as it is a cargo ship but the view it current has sucked badly.


And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial Sim Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-MKC2-CG4K
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-MKC2-CG4K
#3829907 - 08/31/13 05:48 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Alicatt Offline
Hotshot
Alicatt  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Ice Cold in Alex or Eating in ...
Did you see the thread about importing the ships into the Cryengine Sandbox? https://forums.robertsspaceindustries.co...ndbox-editor/p1 some excellent pictures and a good sense of scale there. Was planning on trying it myself when I got some time, I have been saving the different versions since they started the download and patches smile


Chlanna nan con thigibh a so's gheibh sibh feoil
Sons of the hound come here and get flesh
Clan Cameron
#3829926 - 08/31/13 06:43 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,124
Lancelot Offline
Member
Lancelot  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,124
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Thanks for the url Alicatt. Y didn't saw that thread, it looks amazing.


Si hay que huir, YO PRIMERO!!!
#3830180 - 09/01/13 02:09 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
Ghost_unit13 Offline
Member
Ghost_unit13  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
The Netherlands
Check Chris reaction about the complains and questions that ruled the SC forms after Voyager Direct was launched. He give us backes a vote what way they should go.. I think they handle it very well and open!


Check his post



i7 4770K @3.50Ghz - 16GB - 256 SSD - R9-280X - CH Hotas- 27"LG - Obutto Rev3
#3830191 - 09/01/13 02:21 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Mace71 Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Mace71  Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Darlington, UK.
Is this free to use? I don't want to go through those steps to find I had to pay during Kickstarter.


Antec 902 | Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz OC'd to 3.40GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 660 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 | Corsair 6GB DDR3 | Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler | W7 64

"There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing and be nothing." Aristotle
#3830208 - 09/01/13 02:39 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
No, it's only with packages that included the Alpha (=Hangar), so it's not free. (Beta = Dogfight module)

#3830277 - 09/01/13 05:32 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,335
shan2 Offline
Veteran
shan2  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,335
Maryland, USA
Is it possible to increase the illumination level in the hangar? It's just too danged dark!


You're only young once, but you can be immature forever.
#3830305 - 09/01/13 06:23 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: JAMF]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
Ghost_unit13 Offline
Member
Ghost_unit13  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: MaceUK33
Is this free to use? I don't want to go through those steps to find I had to pay during Kickstarter.
Originally Posted By: JAMF
No, it's only with packages that included the Alpha (=Hangar), so it's not free. (Beta = Dogfight module)


Not exacly.. Hanger is Pre.Pre.Pre.Pre....Alpha (quoting CR him self)

The Dogfight module will be Alpha.(november) IIRC: The plan is to release the modules step by step after that. Planet site,boarding fps,the squadon42 campaign and last the presistent Universe. After that it will go live. But we are talking 2015 bij then. Everyone with a pledge that includes the Alpha en Beta ($35) can join it all the way. No extra Cost are needed. you get a basic ship with this and that all you need to get in. People who like to have a bigger ship already or want to support the developement of SC can buy extra goods or bigger ships with prices from $50 rising to +$1000 and more.. but there is no need for that. (bigger ship does not always mean better for the task your doing)



i7 4770K @3.50Ghz - 16GB - 256 SSD - R9-280X - CH Hotas- 27"LG - Obutto Rev3
#3830316 - 09/01/13 06:37 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Mace71 Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Mace71  Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Darlington, UK.
Lol, is this a dig at EA in the description of the Origin spacecraft?

Quote:
Some have accused Origin of putting style over substance and inflating the sticker price to match


So, if I bought that at $55 would that give me the game as well as it just looks like I'm buying a ship...


Antec 902 | Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz OC'd to 3.40GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 660 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 | Corsair 6GB DDR3 | Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler | W7 64

"There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing and be nothing." Aristotle
#3830317 - 09/01/13 06:38 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
So Beta is access to Squadron42, before release to public? Colour me confused. I thought the Hangar module was Alpha, even if it's condition is pre-pre-alpha.

[EDIT]Maybe it's more access to all modules in their alpha state? Once most serious bugs are removed and modules reach a beta state, people with only beta in their package get access?

Last edited by JAMF; 09/01/13 06:46 PM.
#3830328 - 09/01/13 07:16 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Mace71]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
Ghost_unit13 Offline
Member
Ghost_unit13  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
The Netherlands
Ok, You have to be carefull here.. buying a ship only is possible. So be sure you get a package WITH Alpha and Beta access.. think you need a $60 package for a $55 ship (300i?) with alpha/beta access. If you already pledge you can melt it back to credits and upgrade to the correct package.


Think what they call Alpha and Beta is a bit confusing because they builing it in modules and release them one by one for the Pledges to test/play with. Not sure when something is called Beta..



i7 4770K @3.50Ghz - 16GB - 256 SSD - R9-280X - CH Hotas- 27"LG - Obutto Rev3
#3830335 - 09/01/13 07:36 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Mace71 Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Mace71  Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Darlington, UK.
Ah yeah, I've just seen that. There is the $65 Bounty Hunter package that has a lot of extra stuff in as well including alpha and beta access.

Only thing is I've just seen the specs and I'm ok apart from the RAM, 8Gb and I have 6...


Antec 902 | Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz OC'd to 3.40GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 660 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 | Corsair 6GB DDR3 | Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler | W7 64

"There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing and be nothing." Aristotle
#3830392 - 09/01/13 09:35 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Mace71]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
Ghost_unit13 Offline
Member
Ghost_unit13  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 292
The Netherlands
Looks like you got the same hardware as I do. minus my GTX460.
Got it running. Guess I will need a GPU upgrade when the dogfight module arrives. But to walk around in the hangar 6Gb Ram will do for now.



i7 4770K @3.50Ghz - 16GB - 256 SSD - R9-280X - CH Hotas- 27"LG - Obutto Rev3
#3830395 - 09/01/13 09:51 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Mace71 Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Mace71  Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Darlington, UK.
They are minimum specs too and we know how liberal devs/publishers are with those! I can get an extra 2Gb for 15 but makes me think how hardware intensive this game is going to be?


Antec 902 | Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz OC'd to 3.40GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 660 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 | Corsair 6GB DDR3 | Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler | W7 64

"There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing and be nothing." Aristotle
#3830404 - 09/01/13 10:13 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Mace71]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: MaceUK33
I can get an extra 2Gb for 15 but makes me think how hardware intensive this game is going to be?


I think your motherboard's chipset wouldn't like that. It would like you to have 3x4GB sticks, not 2x2 + 1x4. We'll have to wait and see, but 6GB could be minimum requirements. It's all staring into the crystal ball to divine the future. Maybe CR stated the 8GB number, because he was guestimating that 4GB wouldn't cut it and he didn't think of the 3/6 memory slot motherboards?

#3830415 - 09/01/13 10:42 PM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Alicatt Offline
Hotshot
Alicatt  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 5,532
Ice Cold in Alex or Eating in ...
Others have said that the hangar module runs on 4GB, but yes it is hardware intensive.

I have a i7 965 @ 3.2GHz, 12GB DDR3, GTX580 1.5GB on an Asus PT6se mobo, and I get about 32fps on the very high settings in the Business Hangar, but you can hear the fan on the GTX580 like a tornado in the box, on high video settings the fan makes no more noise than normal.

I'm going to wait for at least a year before I think of upgrading for this game, that is if the mobo lets me as the RAID controller on it failed a few months ago, just hope nothing else fails along the way.


Chlanna nan con thigibh a so's gheibh sibh feoil
Sons of the hound come here and get flesh
Clan Cameron
#3830592 - 09/02/13 11:36 AM Re: Star Citizen: Hangar Module Live [Re: Master]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Mace71 Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Mace71  Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Darlington, UK.
Think I might wait before buying anything (game or RAM) as it may change in the future.

@Jamf - I have currently 3 2Gb modules and a slot free for a forth 2 Gb module.


Antec 902 | Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz OC'd to 3.40GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 660 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 | Corsair 6GB DDR3 | Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler | W7 64

"There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing and be nothing." Aristotle
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
RM Jet Suit Boarding
by Red2112. 05/08/21 02:07 PM
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Some funny Facebook observations
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 11:53 AM
Chinese Rocket
by carrick58. 05/05/21 12:26 AM
Hope everyone is having a good day
by oldgrognard. 05/04/21 02:09 PM
A long strange trip it's been
by rwatson. 05/03/21 04:31 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0