Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#3827604 - 08/26/13 07:30 PM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Sethos88]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
So that is the Greek island of Lemnos/Limnos?

https://www.google.com/maps/preview#!data=!1m4!1m3!1d172659!2d25.2428055!3d39.9096389

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3827610 - 08/26/13 07:47 PM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Sethos88]  
Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 783
Fudge93 Offline
Member
Fudge93  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2012
Posts: 783
England
If anyone is interested I went a bit further with my place vehicles, some AI plan and have come up with this
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=173121991

AI groups will randomly spawn around the place and try to hunt you down. Includes the same player re spawn as the Escape from Stratis Mission. Currently in the process of getting it up on an old server.


combtpilot.co.uk
#3827641 - 08/26/13 09:20 PM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: JAMF]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,829
Meatsheild Offline
Arma3 guy!
Meatsheild  Offline
Arma3 guy!
Senior Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,829
Peoples Republic of Yorkshire
Originally Posted By: JAMF
So that is the Greek island of Lemnos/Limnos?


yea it is, slightly modified, it got renamed after the 2 devs got arrested a while back.


SimHQ Arma3 sessions, weekly semi-serious co-op action for all ages and skills! check the forum sticky for more info!

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3732626/SimHQ_Arma3_Sessions,_who,_wha#Post3732626

All spelling errors are included free of charge and courtesy of a broken spell checker!
#3827822 - 08/27/13 09:14 AM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Sethos88]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 753
Alexi_Alx_Anova Offline
Member
Alexi_Alx_Anova  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 753
Frome/Bath UK
You can say a lot (and a lot has been said) about how BIS introduced combined arms and sanbox gameplay to PC games with OFP. However, I think the biggest innovation they introduced was the streaming technology that allows large maps with seamless travel across them. With Altis, they haven't revolutionised the concept but it is definitely a major evolution that I suspect will, like OFP, have a significant influence on subsequent PC gameing.

#3827878 - 08/27/13 01:12 PM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Alexi_Alx_Anova]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 763
Punisher5555 Offline
Member
Punisher5555  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 763
Cleveland, Ohio
Originally Posted By: Alexi_Alx_Anova
You can say a lot (and a lot has been said) about how BIS introduced combined arms and sanbox gameplay to PC games with OFP. However, I think the biggest innovation they introduced was the streaming technology that allows large maps with seamless travel across them. With Altis, they haven't revolutionised the concept but it is definitely a major evolution that I suspect will, like OFP, have a significant influence on subsequent PC gameing.



You mean technology finally caught up to their streaming.

It has already been proven over and over that if they had switched to 64bit the game would be light years faster. (See ArmA RAMDISK usage.)

The only thing saving this streaming are 6G hard drives, SSD's, and there are no forests on the new maps.


3 Samsung 27" LED Monitors powered by a Zotac 4GB 680GTX. Set at PCI Gen3. 5760 x 1080 resolution.
MSI z68a-gd80 (g3) motherboard
Ivy Bridge 3770k 3.5Ghz
32GB RAM (all .pbo's loaded into a 12GB RamDisk)
TrackIR4
zboard merc keyboard
Saitek X-52 stick/throttle/pedals
Logitech MOMO racing wheel/pedals
Razer Deathadder 3500 black mouse
Sony receiver for 5.1 surround sound. 5 speakers and powered sub-woofer.
#3828441 - 08/28/13 06:06 PM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Meatsheild]  
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 49,716
Jedi Master Offline
Entil'zha
Jedi Master  Offline
Entil'zha
Sierra Hotel

Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 49,716
Space Coast, USA
Originally Posted By: Meatsheild
The place is fecking huge! you get told how huge it is, but till you fly around it .. you dont realize just "how" huge it is!



"Altis is big. You just won't believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it's a long way down the road to the chemist's, but that's just peanuts to Altis."




The Jedi Master


The anteater is wearing the bagel because he's a reindeer princess. -- my 4 yr old daughter
#3829204 - 08/30/13 04:41 AM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Sethos88]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Cadmium77 Offline
Junior Member
Cadmium77  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
How do I get it?

#3829205 - 08/30/13 04:47 AM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Sethos88]  
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 663
near_blind Offline
Member
near_blind  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 663
Step Uno: Open up your Steam game library
Step Two: Right click ARMA III
Step Three: Select "properties"
Step vier: Select "Betas" tab of the window that pops up
Step Five: Select the drop down menu that says "NON - Opt of all beta programs"
Step Six: In aforementioned drop menu, select "developement - development branch"
Step Seven: Hit the close button of the properties window
Step Eight: Relax, grab a beer, and wait for your Mediterranean paradise to download.


Off to greener pastures
#3829208 - 08/30/13 04:57 AM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: near_blind]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Cadmium77 Offline
Junior Member
Cadmium77  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 20
Originally Posted By: near_blind
Step Uno: Open up your Steam game library
Step Two: Right click ARMA III
Step Three: Select "properties"
Step vier: Select "Betas" tab of the window that pops up
Step Five: Select the drop down menu that says "NON - Opt of all beta programs"
Step Six: In aforementioned drop menu, select "developement - development branch"
Step Seven: Hit the close button of the properties window
Step Eight: Relax, grab a beer, and wait for your Mediterranean paradise to download.



Wow nice. I had all that but the last step...I thought there was some special key I needed even though I just bought the Beta today.

And let me just say my dual quad core Harpertown Xeons with 8 gigs of ECC RAM and a Nvidie GeForce 560 TI with 2 gigs DDR5 RAM is making this game unbeleiveably beautiful..what an amazing world it is..
It actually runs faster and smoother than Arma 2 ever did.

Thank you thank you thank you.

Last edited by Cadmium77; 08/30/13 04:57 AM.
#3829232 - 08/30/13 06:23 AM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Alexi_Alx_Anova]  
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 298
Apocalypse31 Offline
Member
Apocalypse31  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 298
Originally Posted By: Alexi_Alx_Anova
I think the biggest innovation they introduced was the streaming technology that allows large maps with seamless travel across them.


A good perk of the game, but this was done long before OFP came out.

Seal Team did this in 1993
Delta Force 1 did it again in 1998 and for all of its subsequent expansions through 2009.


Rangers Lead the Way
#3829270 - 08/30/13 09:41 AM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Apocalypse31]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 753
Alexi_Alx_Anova Offline
Member
Alexi_Alx_Anova  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 753
Frome/Bath UK
Originally Posted By: Apocalypse31
Originally Posted By: Alexi_Alx_Anova
I think the biggest innovation they introduced was the streaming technology that allows large maps with seamless travel across them.


A good perk of the game, but this was done long before OFP came out.

Seal Team did this in 1993
Delta Force 1 did it again in 1998 and for all of its subsequent expansions through 2009.


Thanks, I didn't know that. My bad.

#3829308 - 08/30/13 11:24 AM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Sethos88]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 753
Alexi_Alx_Anova Offline
Member
Alexi_Alx_Anova  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 753
Frome/Bath UK
I had an amazing time last night on an AhoyWorld server running a PvP game in the largest city. Just sat my Ifrit on the hills, switched to thermal sights and picked off the enemy as they either choppered in or threaded their way through the streets. Quickly became the highest scorer. A pity the Ifirt only has 400 rounds.

Later I was investigating the car park in the city and could hear direct speak voices down below. A bunch of enemies discussing what to do next. Popped my head over the top and ambushed them. Unfortunately one of their armoured cars spotted me and got me in the head as I was trying to get out of the building.

Really liking the map burnout

#3829589 - 08/30/13 09:23 PM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Cadmium77]  
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 49,716
Jedi Master Offline
Entil'zha
Jedi Master  Offline
Entil'zha
Sierra Hotel

Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 49,716
Space Coast, USA
Originally Posted By: Cadmium77
Originally Posted By: near_blind
Step Uno: Open up your Steam game library
Step Two: Right click ARMA III
Step Three: Select "properties"
Step vier: Select "Betas" tab of the window that pops up
Step Five: Select the drop down menu that says "NON - Opt of all beta programs"
Step Six: In aforementioned drop menu, select "developement - development branch"
Step Seven: Hit the close button of the properties window
Step Eight: Relax, grab a beer, and wait for your Mediterranean paradise to download.



Wow nice. I had all that but the last step...I thought there was some special key I needed even though I just bought the Beta today.

And let me just say my dual quad core Harpertown Xeons with 8 gigs of ECC RAM and a Nvidie GeForce 560 TI with 2 gigs DDR5 RAM is making this game unbeleiveably beautiful..what an amazing world it is..
It actually runs faster and smoother than Arma 2 ever did.

Thank you thank you thank you.


You FORGOT to relax and grab a beer? Are you suffering any memory loss?? eek



The Jedi Master


The anteater is wearing the bagel because he's a reindeer princess. -- my 4 yr old daughter
#3829614 - 08/30/13 10:05 PM Re: ArmA 3 Altis Released [Re: Sethos88]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,389
Taosenai Offline
Arma 3 Stuff Maker
Taosenai  Offline
Arma 3 Stuff Maker
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,389
U.S.A.
This is the first map where I feel like I can drop two squads, set waypoints on them to collide, click a playable unit, and always find interesting terrain. The more I play on it, the more I like it.


Taosenai, TMR Modular Realism Developer
"It is necessary to develop a strategy that utilizes all the physical conditions and elements that are directly at hand. The best strategy relies upon an unlimited set of responses."
-- Ueshiba Morihei
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Meatsheild, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
CATS... IN... SPACE...
by Chef. 09/25/20 11:01 AM
Flight Testing In The Real World
by bolox. 09/23/20 12:42 PM
MEN ARE JUST HAPPIER PEOPLE
by NoFlyBoy. 09/22/20 11:06 PM
U.S. Space Force funny gaffe
by NoFlyBoy. 09/22/20 02:20 AM
Microsoft have bought Bethesda
by WangoTango. 09/21/20 02:23 PM
Death Stranding
by Chucky. 09/21/20 11:49 AM
The most compelling anti-heroes?
by PanzerMeyer. 09/21/20 03:55 AM
didn't know they did this to airplanes.
by NoFlyBoy. 09/21/20 02:20 AM
B-25 Damaged in Crash Landing
by F4UDash4. 09/20/20 04:48 PM
I will be on vacation
by NoFlyBoy. 09/19/20 05:57 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0