Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3817876 - 08/03/13 12:55 PM WartHog throttle POV 1 issue  
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Polaris1 Offline
Junior Member
Polaris1  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Hi,,
I posted the following in the Benchmark Sim forum and I wonder if someone might suggest or know a solution:

I'm new to BMS and tried to configure my WartHog HOTAS through the setup/ controllers through key mapping.
The slider for controller is on joystick.
Everything went well until I was "smart enough" to push together the joystick's button 4 (the one with the lever which is assigned by default to HOTAS-AP Override) with the throttle's POV 1.
Since then the POV 1 is not seen by the setup.
I checked wether POV 1 is seen by the Throttle- HOTAS Warthog slider and it is.
Also checked in the computer's control panel and in DCS and it is working and seen.
In short...tried to use the joystick's button 4 as a modifier and it backfired.
Mayday...

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3817916 - 08/03/13 03:28 PM Re: WartHog throttle POV 1 issue [Re: Polaris1]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 501
Aero Offline
Member
Aero  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 501
Milwaukee, USA
I don't have an answer, but I do have kind of a similar problem, where BMS just won't recognize one of the HAT switches and the k-switch on my X-65 throttle. I couldn't find a concrete answer, but I was under the impression that there was a hard limit to the number of DirectInput buttons it could recognize. Also, the BMS setup menu apparently doesn't recognize DX shifted button presses (though they work in the sim), so these have to be set up by hand in a key file.

The only way I found to sort it was to use the profiler to convert those buttons to keyboard input, though this is something I prefer not to do in general if it's avoidable (mostly Saitek's fault for having crappy software). I'm sure there are many Warthog profiles (and key files) available, perhaps you should just look into using one of them?

For the moment, I've chosen just to live with it because I'm only willing to screw around so much, everything else works, and the X65 throttle is bristling with other HATS almost to a fault (though I'd rather pick different ones not to work if I'm limited).

Good luck sorting your issue.

#3817952 - 08/03/13 05:37 PM Re: WartHog throttle POV 1 issue [Re: Polaris1]  
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Polaris1 Offline
Junior Member
Polaris1  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
As you, Aero, I don't want to mess around with in app definitions.
I did try though to load Morphine's profile, which is quite good, but to no avail.
While everything worked beautifully the POV 1 on the throttle did nothing.
BMS just doesn't see it now somehow.
Still waiting for a programming savvy for the rescue...

#3818015 - 08/03/13 09:52 PM Re: WartHog throttle POV 1 issue [Re: Polaris1]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Sorry, but what is POV 1? Coolie Up? What is Button 4? The pinky lever?

As to using the WH with BMS, I cannot help but recommend Morphine's profile. Remember that you will have to "combine" your HOTAS, run BMS and setup the axis as per his instructions, and then load up his .key file as well.

Good luck!


- Ice
#3818067 - 08/04/13 12:48 AM Re: WartHog throttle POV 1 issue [Re: Polaris1]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 142
sorcer3r Offline
Member
sorcer3r  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 142
BMS + WH you need target software and a good profile. Because without target-profile you don't have enough axis an your HOTAS.

Try this:

https://sites.google.com/a/hodderweb.com/warthog/

therer are all files and everything should be explained.

#3818239 - 08/04/13 03:31 PM Re: WartHog throttle POV 1 issue [Re: Polaris1]  
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Polaris1 Offline
Junior Member
Polaris1  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
1. The buttons:
a. on the joystick: 4.
The only one operated by a lever. Down on the other side.
b. On the throttle: coolie switch.
The one just under the index finger when the palm is put on the throttle.
2. As I wrote above: I installed and ran Morphine's profile ( as it should both through TARGET and DX) and while it worked as it should, POV 1 wasn't working/ or even registering a response.

It seems like pushing the 4 button on the joystick at the same time as moving the POV1 on the throttle changed something in the BMS software.
And only here.

#3819074 - 08/06/13 05:11 PM Re: WartHog throttle POV 1 issue [Re: Polaris1]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
I've never assigned anything via the in-game UI screen. Too wonky and wrecks my .key file formatting. All I've ever used it for is to double-check if a key combo has been assigned already, then I go back to Notepad++ to assign my keys.

Best idea might be to dig into the .key file and manually edit it there. Feel free to PM me or to post the relevant callback lines here if you need any help with that.

Just curious as well.... have you tried Morphine's profile? If you have but are not using it, what's wrong with it in your opinion? IMHO, it is easier to modify a pre-made profile and just change 5-10% of it rather than having to start from scratch and having to do 100% of it.


- Ice

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Post script on our fires
by Mad Max. 02/19/20 09:43 PM
Our current approaching storm
by Ajay. 02/19/20 12:35 PM
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
HITMAN 2, et al
by DBond. 02/17/20 01:52 PM
I didn't know this. Women Top Guns.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/17/20 03:46 AM
Betelgeuse
by Red2112. 02/16/20 11:35 PM
Heck just a good jam
by rwatson. 02/16/20 01:57 PM
EPIC Games = epic PITA
by Dunolde. 02/15/20 09:05 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0