Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3808799 - 07/13/13 04:31 AM Bindings Issue  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
Ste86 Offline
Junior Member
Ste86  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
North West, UK
Greeting all

Having a problem with my BMS bindings, I've got a Leo Bodnar board and I've used helios to assign what I want the switches on it to do which works fine.

The only problem I have is that the switches are also assigned in game to the right MFD buttons. how do I unbind them from there? I've looked at the key file and can't figure it out there, and the in game menu doesn't seem to give me an option to either.

Ta in advance

Ste86


System: Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz, 6GB Patriot Viper RAM, MSI Geforce GTX 670, Samsung 23" Monitor, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, Thrustmaster Cougar MFDs, Acer15" 4:3 screen for dials and MFDs, TrackIR 5 w/ Trackclip.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3808818 - 07/13/13 05:40 AM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
The R MFD OSB callbacks are SimCBEOSB_1R through SimCBEOSB_1R. Open your keyfile and delete those lines. Save this new "trimmed" version as a separate file. Go into BMS and load this keyfile and try it out.

#3808819 - 07/13/13 05:47 AM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
Ste86 Offline
Junior Member
Ste86  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
North West, UK
Ta Frederf.

Just tried that and still the same. Really confusing me to be honest. Have tried it with and without the warthog profile I use running even without helios running and still always seems to be the buttons on right mfd :/


System: Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz, 6GB Patriot Viper RAM, MSI Geforce GTX 670, Samsung 23" Monitor, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, Thrustmaster Cougar MFDs, Acer15" 4:3 screen for dials and MFDs, TrackIR 5 w/ Trackclip.
#3808932 - 07/13/13 03:50 PM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
That's so weird. If there's no mention of those callbacks in your active keyfile (check the whole thing, including the buttom where the DX buttons are defined) then I don't see how it's possible that those callbacks are being issued by your controller.

#3809088 - 07/13/13 10:21 PM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
Ste86 Offline
Junior Member
Ste86  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
North West, UK
Yeah neither do I. I removed all references to the RMFD from the keyfile and set it as read only, yet still it's activing the RMFD buttons. might have to do a fresh install to see if that sorts it out.

Gonna have a bit more of a fiddle with it now and see where I get to, I can still fly the sim and enjoy it without those switches but as I've made a pit with switches it'd be nice to use them.


System: Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz, 6GB Patriot Viper RAM, MSI Geforce GTX 670, Samsung 23" Monitor, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, Thrustmaster Cougar MFDs, Acer15" 4:3 screen for dials and MFDs, TrackIR 5 w/ Trackclip.
#3809101 - 07/13/13 10:45 PM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Do you have TM Cougar MFDs installed? If so, check your .key file for DirectX bindings as well. I seem to remember having this problem before, wherein pressing a switch/button would also trigger an OSB button on either MFD.

If nothing else, try an entirely different .key file but just changing the command for a switch or two, and check if the OSBs get triggered as well. If yes, something's wrong with how you probably set up the controls in BMS, if not, then your old .key file is the culprit.

Hope that helps!


- Ice
#3809120 - 07/14/13 12:43 AM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
Ste86 Offline
Junior Member
Ste86  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
North West, UK
Figured it out!

The callback for the MFDs appeared twice in the keyfile, once for the standard keyboard entry with the description to the right.

Then near the bottom it appeared again only without the description for it, it seems all the DX key bindings are at the bottom of the keyfile.

No doubt when I eventually get my cougar MFDs in a few weeks (hopefully providing the sale of my x52 pro goes through) I will have problems.

So at a guess I would say BMS auto bound the buttons on the bodnar board.

Thanks for the input guys.

p.s any of you fly on falcon online often? my squadron only flies on a monday night frown lol


System: Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz, 6GB Patriot Viper RAM, MSI Geforce GTX 670, Samsung 23" Monitor, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, Thrustmaster Cougar MFDs, Acer15" 4:3 screen for dials and MFDs, TrackIR 5 w/ Trackclip.
#3809259 - 07/14/13 09:50 AM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Which squadron is that? I fly Thu nights with my squadron, we are also organizing Sunday night open flight nights, then grab a few pickup flights during the week. If you are talking about Falcon Online PvP, I've only flown it a couple of times.

Re: MFD OSBs, this would be depending on the .key file you are using. I am guessing you are not using the default BMS.key file but rather some custom profile with it's own .key file. What is happening here is that the custom .key file has specified that the OSBs are DirectX inputs and this would work fine if you had the Cougar MFDs installed. However, as you only have the Bodnar board installed, the game sees the board and assumed it was a Cougar MFD.


- Ice
#3809487 - 07/14/13 08:27 PM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
Ste86 Offline
Junior Member
Ste86  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
North West, UK
17th Sqn

there's only about 4 or 5 of us, and the only night we fly as a group is on a monay. yeah was referring to the PVP I keep going in as a lone wolf and doing the odd OCA strike but get a bit boring after a while. lol

And with regards to keyfile yeah I was using the one that came with the profile for the warthog so kinda makes sense that it had the MFDs set I guess.


System: Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz, 6GB Patriot Viper RAM, MSI Geforce GTX 670, Samsung 23" Monitor, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, Thrustmaster Cougar MFDs, Acer15" 4:3 screen for dials and MFDs, TrackIR 5 w/ Trackclip.
#3809521 - 07/14/13 10:12 PM Re: Bindings Issue [Re: Ste86]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Is that Morphine's profile? If so, then try it again, but only delete the DirectX MFD inputs. Your Bodnar board should be fine.


- Ice

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
HITMAN 2, et al
by DBond. 02/17/20 01:52 PM
I didn't know this. Women Top Guns.
by NoFlyBoy. 02/17/20 03:46 AM
Betelgeuse
by Red2112. 02/16/20 11:35 PM
Heck just a good jam
by rwatson. 02/16/20 01:57 PM
EPIC Games = epic PITA
by Dunolde. 02/15/20 09:05 PM
WWII Nose Art
by F4UDash4. 02/15/20 01:25 AM
weird ads i only see at Simhq
by Ajay. 02/15/20 12:53 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0