Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3771693 - 04/22/13 09:29 PM Just got Gunship! (Infrogames) today.  
ColJamesD Offline
ColJamesD  Offline

USA
I just got this today from a very nice SimHQ member.

I got the disc and the quick reference card.

I installed it and I started playing it already.

It seems a lot simpler to play than EECH.

Are there any patches I should download and install before playing it?

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3771715 - 04/22/13 10:08 PM Re: Just got Gunship! (Infrogames) today. [Re: ColJamesD]  
Agathosdaimon Offline
Agathosdaimon  Offline

Melbourne, Australia
yes absolutely - i think you can get links to all the necessary stuff via Flyboys site and also i Simwarriors Helipad site. The original game had some screwy flight models but the patch changed this and also allowed you to easily change the flight model to suit the user. There are some good custom flight models - FMs out there on the aforementioned sites and also a bunch of model mods and fixes floating around on various websites -

Another improvement that can be found on the web is a change to the incoming missile audible alarm - as the game doesnt have an such alarm except your CPG saying break break or something the fix has the cpg say this a little earlier then last minute which made maneuvering to evade the missile and release chaff harder as you need to first work out the direction from which it is coming. There is also a fix which makes the missile visible from a bit further away than the default. I have found that once you can see where the missile is coming from you can easily learn to just shift at the last minute or get to cover. - The AI is pretty savage with SAMs in Gunship - to this day, i havent ever gotten past the first mission in any campaign due to teh challenges involved! But its a grat game and still the best looking Helicopter sim out there still.