Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3768600 - 04/16/13 06:22 PM CBU fusing training?  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,800
ST0RM Offline
Senior Member
ST0RM  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,800
Ten Mile, Tn
I'm starting out slowly in the A-10C and would at least like to drop some bombs. Albeit dumb bombs until I can really learn the PGM process.

Anyhow, I'm trying to fly and drop the CBU-103s but cannot get the CCIP or CCRP to work. CCIP states "Invaled Fusing" and to use CCRP in the HUD, so I switch over only to see "CCRP Invaled".

Trying to watch the tutorial and figure it out as I'm sure I've got the fusing wrong, it really deals with the Mk 80 series of bombs.

I've looked for the Climb out path setting to set, but its not availble for the CBUs.

Anyone willing to help?

-Jeff

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3768666 - 04/16/13 08:12 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 410
blindone Offline
Master of None
blindone  Offline
Master of None
Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 410
Denver, Colorado
On your MFD DSMS tab. Press inventory. Select CBU. Select the type of CBU you've got loaded. On the left side of the MFD change look for HOF to edit AGL altitude you want the casing to open at. If you're below the HOF, it will give you an invalid fusing warning until you exceed that set value. I believe the default is 1800AGL.

Last edited by blindone; 04/18/13 06:35 PM. Reason: grammar
#3768684 - 04/16/13 08:41 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,800
ST0RM Offline
Senior Member
ST0RM  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,800
Ten Mile, Tn
Thanks. After some searching, I did find a topic on HOF and was wondering if that had to do with it. I just didnt figure out I was below that level, hence the Invalid warning. Yep, I actually spelled it right this time.

Thank you again.

#3768687 - 04/16/13 08:52 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 410
blindone Offline
Master of None
blindone  Offline
Master of None
Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 410
Denver, Colorado
sure thing! Took me plenty of YouTube videos to figure it out

#3768747 - 04/16/13 11:04 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
"Fuzing invalid" means that the weapon will arm after crossing the desired fuze function surface.

"CCRP Invalid" usually means that your SPI is above your current position so no solution could be made. 99% of the time this is because your SPI is your steerpoint which is at altitude.

#3769407 - 04/18/13 06:44 AM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
SUBS_17 Offline
Member
SUBS_17  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
103s are GPS guided and can only be dropped CCRP so make sure you are above 2000ft and it should be good to drop. IMO 105s are awesome. xwing



"Trust me I know what I'm doing" Detective Sledge Hammer
#3769685 - 04/18/13 05:26 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,800
ST0RM Offline
Senior Member
ST0RM  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,800
Ten Mile, Tn
Yep, slowly learning:

1) that I should only fly a dumb-bomb truck A-10A
2) how to use the TGP to drop PGMs
3) successfully targeted and killed some tanks with the Mav

I'm also weaning myself off the Su-25T and more into the Hawg.

#3769696 - 04/18/13 05:38 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,397
eno75 Offline
Member
eno75  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,397
Storm... just be careful with the 87 / 103s in the MP environment as they cause massive system wide issues.

#3769743 - 04/18/13 06:41 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 410
blindone Offline
Master of None
blindone  Offline
Master of None
Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 410
Denver, Colorado
Good point Eno. It really bogs everyone down when those are laid on MP servers.

#3769860 - 04/18/13 10:07 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
SUBS_17 Offline
Member
SUBS_17  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
Hopefully they will fix that and 103s are not very effective either. Looking forward to the next patch though.



"Trust me I know what I'm doing" Detective Sledge Hammer
#3770334 - 04/19/13 04:52 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: blindone]  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,800
ST0RM Offline
Senior Member
ST0RM  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 4,800
Ten Mile, Tn
Originally Posted By: blindone
Good point Eno. It really bogs everyone down when those are laid on MP servers.


Yep, saw that on a server or two. The FPS went way low for everyone. I think 1.2.4 may address some of that with the smoke.

Thanks for the support all.

-Jeff

#3772698 - 04/24/13 07:45 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 51
kaRadi Offline
Junior Member
kaRadi  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 51
On the same point....

I am able to release the CBU 87/97 etc. however for CBU 87 the spread is so wide that it really does not make a difference to the target. What is the method of making the area of impact smaller for 87s.

kaRadi

#3772788 - 04/24/13 11:11 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
The two functions that effect bomblet footprint are Height of Function and Spin. More spin or more height means a bigger footprint and lesser density. In real life the munition would be set for HOF and spin by the weapons crew and then this information would be input into the DSMS to inform the airplane. In DCS changing the DSMS inventory details can change the reality of the weapon on the station, even mid-flight. If you want to fly realistically, make all your inventory decisions on the ground and leave them alone airborne.

To do it in DCS, select the DSMS MFCD format, select the INV subpage, select the appropriate station, weapon class, weapon, and then configure the weapon details appropriately before loading or loading symmetrical.

As for desired pattern, it's a tradeoff between density and coverage. DCS suffers from not modeling all 202 bomblets in the CEM (I think 50 or so last count) so going after armor is less effective as you need a direct hit with the HEAT aspect to do real damage to armor. BMP class and less I would drop pairs at like 2000 RPM 500' HOF for a high destructive effect. 1200' is a decent HOF for more dispersed and soft targets like trucks. I wouldn't go higher than 1200' HOF unless I was dropping at least four cans on the same spot.

#3773006 - 04/25/13 12:30 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: Frederf]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 51
kaRadi Offline
Junior Member
kaRadi  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 51
Originally Posted By: Frederf
The two functions that effect bomblet footprint are Height of Function and Spin. More spin or more height means a bigger footprint and lesser density. ......
1200' is a decent HOF for more dispersed and soft targets like trucks. I wouldn't go higher than 1200' HOF unless I was dropping at least four cans on the same spot.


Thnaks mate. Will try and let you know the result.

27-04-2013 - Tried it today. Soft targets went up like fireworks. But even 500 HOF and 2000 RPM made no change to the armour. I guess that Maverick is the way to go... smile Anyway lot of thanks for the inputs....

kaRadi

Last edited by kaRadi; 04/30/13 08:48 AM.
#3799194 - 06/20/13 01:26 AM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
SUBS_17 Offline
Member
SUBS_17  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
No CBU 105 is the way to go it is awesome against tanks. thumbsup
All I set is min alt to 2000ft that's all the CBU does the rest.

Last edited by SUBS_17; 06/20/13 01:27 AM.


"Trust me I know what I'm doing" Detective Sledge Hammer
#3799597 - 06/20/13 08:02 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: SUBS_17]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 191
Eddie Offline
Registered Lunatic
Eddie  Offline
Registered Lunatic
Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 191
Originally Posted By: SUBS_17
103s are GPS guided and can only be dropped CCRP so make sure you are above 2000ft and it should be good to drop. IMO 105s are awesome. xwing


Just to add a correction/clarifying info here. The CBU-103/104/105 WCMD series are NOT GPS guided, they are INS guided. WCMD has no GPS functionality at all.

And incase anyone wonders, JDAM is not GPS guided either. JDAM is also INS guided, but with GPS corrected INS (just like the aircraft they are employed by). In reality the GPS on JDAM takes 10 seconds from release to even come into play, so for low level drops it's never used at all.

Additionally, WCMD/JDAM are not "dropped CCRP" either. They are employed using the IAM HUD mode, while the symbology is similar to CCRP, it is not the same thing.

Anyway, not strictly relevant, but as the OP has been answered....


Eddie

#3799680 - 06/20/13 10:49 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
SUBS_17 Offline
Member
SUBS_17  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
Doh, I just read up on them they use the GPS data from the launching platform. Still great for tanks my only issue is the 103s are not very effective compared to 105s.



"Trust me I know what I'm doing" Detective Sledge Hammer
#3799681 - 06/20/13 10:52 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,598
GPS-assisted INS and INS respectively. I've heard that the term "wind-corrected" was developed when Congress couldn't understand the technical concept of INS guidance and why they should approve it for the budget.

I do call CCRP IAM "CCRP" for short though. The symbology definately lies with the CCRP mentality of showing you release information which is the flip side from CCIP which is all about impact. It would be interesting if an INS bomb is ever developed that could make use of "CCIP IAM."

#3800165 - 06/21/13 10:54 PM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
SUBS_17 Offline
Member
SUBS_17  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 672
That would make a good backup delivery mode its weird that they do not have that. I read they are upgrading the JDAMs with laser seekers as well so that you could hit a moving tgt. Even GBUs when dropped CCIP are inaccurate because the computer assumes a laser seeker somewhere will guide the bomb to tgt. In the F-16 you can select CCIP/CCRP/DTOS from the HOTAS because your delivery can change by weather/threats and other conditions in some circumstances so being flexible in delivery is why it has that. With JDAMs they have to do it IAM CCRP style so under some conditions that would not be ideal in a war. whenpigsfly



"Trust me I know what I'm doing" Detective Sledge Hammer
#3800281 - 06/22/13 09:47 AM Re: CBU fusing training? [Re: ST0RM]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 191
Eddie Offline
Registered Lunatic
Eddie  Offline
Registered Lunatic
Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 191
IRL you can employ WCMD in "dumb" mode, just like it was a CBU-87/89/97. It is just not a feature modelled in DCS.

JDAM however is released as an IAM only, and that is the case in all aircraft, not just the A-10C. LJDAM will indeed allow the weapon to be re-targeted in flight, or engage moving targets. Just like the Enhanced Paveway and Paveway IV series that we've been using across the pond for years.

And FYI, the JDAM is far more flexible and capable than DCS A-10C would suggest. JDAM implementation in DCS is very much simplified at present, and even if it wasn't, the A-10C doesn't use many of JDAMs features.


Eddie


Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Gas prices going up
by wormfood. 05/14/21 06:52 PM
Mid-Air Collision in Denver, No Injuries
by Arthonon. 05/14/21 12:59 AM
Hey, Bitcoin, Elon doesn't like you.
by Mr_Blastman. 05/13/21 02:34 AM
I'll be damned !!
by NoFlyBoy. 05/11/21 07:13 PM
RM Jet Suit Boarding
by Red2112. 05/08/21 02:07 PM
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0