Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3757529 - 03/25/13 10:06 PM New member intro / TOH Hinds doubts  
Boresight Offline
Boresight  Offline

Portugal
Hello everyone,

I'm Pedro from Portugal (call sign Boresight).
Although I've known SimHQ forums from several years ago, just registered a couple days ago. So this is my first post here.
I'm also a big flight sim enthusiast (mostly military jets), and I've been playing them since roughly 1993 or so.

Last year I'm playing Falcon BMS and SF 2: NA mostly.

Although a couple years ago or so, I've tried DCS Black Shark and somewhat enjoyed it, I realised that the Ka-50 helicopter isn't as appealing to me as the Mi-24 Hind.
The avionics realism and complex targeting / acquisition procedures really are my thing and were very well depicted in the game, however certain particularities of the Ka-50 don't turn me on.

So after finding the Take on Helicopters: Hinds and reading a lot of posts here, I do still have some doubts about its features and would appreciate your help to clear them up if possible.
I will post my doubts soon.

Best regards

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3757562 - 03/25/13 11:01 PM Re: New member intro / TOH Hinds doubts [Re: Boresight]  
Boresight Offline
Boresight  Offline

Portugal
Upon reading about:
- poor depiction on Pilot’s HUD sights (non collimated HUD bore cross);
- AI Pilot doesn’t maintain hovering when player is the Gunner;

My specific doubts about the TOH Hinds are:

1 - do you think the Gunner aiming sights / FLIR screen / whatever involves targeting, aiming, etc. is reasonably well depicted?

2 - is it possible to play the entire missions as Gunner?

3 - is the flexible canon sights/cursor shown around the Gunner’s cockpit, or in the FLIR screen/MFD?

4 - are radio guided missile moving sights, projected at some kind of Gunners HUD or also at the FLIR screen/MFD ?

5 - how does one slew/move the flexible canon to target – arrow keys or mouse?