Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3729125 - 02/01/13 10:23 PM upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Vicktore Offline
Junior Member
Vicktore  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
N.J. USA
has any one ever got the HiTiles for AF and dose it make a big change for the game my rez is at 1900x1200 widescreen and the ground looks good the only thing that may make me do it is the change of sesons.What do you all think?

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3729161 - 02/01/13 11:51 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,695
Arthonon Online content
Hotshot
Arthonon  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,695
California
I have it, and it did improve things, but at this point, I would try moving to BMS.

That's what just about everyone says, and I know that not everyone wants to do it, but that seems to be where the Falcon community is going so you'll probably get more long-term support that way. According to the BMS developers, they have essentially built in a hi-tiles terrain, so if you can get a copy of the original Falcon 4, you basically get the hi-tiles included with BMS.


Ken Cartwright

No single drop of rain feels it is responsible for the flood.

http://www.techflyer.net

#3729164 - 02/01/13 11:57 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Para_Bellum Offline
Oberkriegkaboomfhrer
Para_Bellum  Offline
Oberkriegkaboomfhrer
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Germany
HiTiles was a great addon to AF, and well worth its price.

But as Arthonon wrote, I'd rather go for the BMS route nowadays.


"...late afternoon the Air Tasking Order came in [and] we found the A-10 part and we said, "We are going where!? We are doing what!?"

Capt. Todd Sheehy, Hog pilot, on receiving orders during Operation Desert Storm

#3729184 - 02/02/13 12:45 AM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Vicktore Offline
Junior Member
Vicktore  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
N.J. USA
Thank you guys i think i am going to get it because i like the Balkan campaigns.I have BMS on my pc but i have bin have trouble with it.MY mouse as alot of lag with the curser and i have not bin able to fix that has of yet.I run BMS on rez 1900x1200 and it looks great but the lag in the mouse makes it hard to fly.maybe someone can help me with that.

#3730370 - 02/04/13 03:18 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 400
Comet Offline
Member
Comet  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 400
Just to reinforce the concept...

... HiTilesAF is worth every penny, and is possibly the best addon (for Allied Force) ever made.
The only complaint I have with it is that its Winter season doesn't look so good. Too much snow
everywhere, too much coverage for my likings. It's as if a massive snow storm raged over a million
square kilometers for days uniformly. Not very realistic. But I'm just nitpicking, I guess.
As for Spring, Summer and Fall seasons they're all very fine, and they'll improve the looks of
your terrain by far. Once you try the HiTilesAF addon, you don't want to go back.

The addon package you buy is around 120 MB in size.
The textures it'll use are then generated procedurally when you first install a season.

The addon software will take care of the generating and the copying of the files for you. It'll also
make a backup of your _original_ tiles for the theater you are working on (the backup is about 200 MB).
You can choose to install a season for either theater (Balkans / Korea) or both. Each theater will
use its own set of files anyway, meaning that you can fly Winter in the Balkans and Summer in Korea.
Or you can have the HiTilesAF's Summer in the Balkans theater, while having the original Summer in
the Korea theater (these are just examples).

Each season you install will take about 200 MB of space. And although you can only have 1 season
active on each theater (of course!), you can keep around the pre-generated packages for all 4 seasons
for *both* theaters - that is: if you have the required extra disk space.
All in all this addon can eat as much as 2 GB of HD space (between backups and season packages).
Or it may take as little as 400 MB if you only use 1 season on 1 theater (200 MB the season + 200 MB
the backup of original theater files). Your choice.


I never finish anyth
#3732231 - 02/07/13 10:27 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Arthonon]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Falcrack Offline
Junior Member
Falcrack  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Originally Posted By: Arthonon
I have it, and it did improve things, but at this point, I would try moving to BMS.

That's what just about everyone says, and I know that not everyone wants to do it, but that seems to be where the Falcon community is going so you'll probably get more long-term support that way. According to the BMS developers, they have essentially built in a hi-tiles terrain, so if you can get a copy of the original Falcon 4, you basically get the hi-tiles included with BMS.


Not a very newbie friendly answer, as the original Falcon 4.0 is very expensive due to the fact it isn't being made anymore. I have AF personally, and can't be bothered paying through the nose to get a copy of the original just so I can play some folk's mod of it.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=falcon+4.0

Last edited by Falcrack; 02/07/13 10:28 PM.
#3732239 - 02/07/13 10:40 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Don't know where you are Falcrack, but I've seen some copies go for 20 or so. Nobody's forcing you to buy an expensive copy of Falcon 4.0, but that doesn't mean that bargains on this little gem doesn't exist.

I would say that if you were able to get a copy of Falcon 4.0 with manuals and other goodies for the price of a current-release AAA title, I would consider Falcon 4.0 a better deal. If you like the Viper, if you like Falcon, BMS will blow you away. How? Let's just say that a fully-working 3D cockpit allows you to flick switches and press buttons while still being able to move with TrackIR --- no more 2D-3D jumping around! And that's just the tip of the iceberg that is BMS!


- Ice
#3732241 - 02/07/13 10:46 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
Quick search and there's one for $15 from Canada. I wonder what the winning bid will be.

Falcon 4.0 eBay.com search


I would definitely pay $51 or even more for ***THIS*** baby!

NEW Falcon 4.0 Binder!


- Ice
#3732246 - 02/07/13 10:59 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 418
SAPPER Offline
Member
SAPPER  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 418
Portugal
"some folks mod of it"?

I understand the "copies not beeing so forthcoming part", but: "some folks mod of it"?

All I can say you have no idea what this "Mod" is all about and what id does for falcon.


[video:youtube]http://www.youtube.com/embed/4FPGJrzzq_I[/video]

Last edited by SAPPER; 02/07/13 11:05 PM.
#3732250 - 02/07/13 11:08 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Falcrack]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,695
Arthonon Online content
Hotshot
Arthonon  Online Content
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 9,695
California
Originally Posted By: Falcrack
Originally Posted By: Arthonon
I have it, and it did improve things, but at this point, I would try moving to BMS.

That's what just about everyone says, and I know that not everyone wants to do it, but that seems to be where the Falcon community is going so you'll probably get more long-term support that way. According to the BMS developers, they have essentially built in a hi-tiles terrain, so if you can get a copy of the original Falcon 4, you basically get the hi-tiles included with BMS.


Not a very newbie friendly answer, as the original Falcon 4.0 is very expensive due to the fact it isn't being made anymore. I have AF personally, and can't be bothered paying through the nose to get a copy of the original just so I can play some folk's mod of it.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=falcon+4.0

Everyone's entitled to their opinion, but to me, that was a very newbie-friendly answer. I answered the original question, plus offered suggestions that I thought would help a newbie going forward.

Falcon AF is waning, and fewer people will be playing it as time goes by, as the Falcon community is largely moving to BMS. Unless you want to be left behind and not able to find very many online folks to fly with, you'll want to get BMS. I understand it's not what everyone would choose to do (and said so in my original post), but that doesn't change the situation.


Ken Cartwright

No single drop of rain feels it is responsible for the flood.

http://www.techflyer.net

#3732463 - 02/08/13 10:53 AM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Thommo Offline
Junior Member
Thommo  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 55
Australia
Allied Force is great, Hitiles is definately worth it. But Allied Force is dying off. You don't see people skinning for it anymore for example, and you can't get Dr Stops pits anymore unfortunately which were awesome.

Like others have said BMS is where all the good stuff is at now including additional theaters, new models, new skins.

Plus stuff unique to BMS like triplescreen support, external MFDs in all views and better support for cockpit builders.

BMS is very different from Allied Force and I think you'd be better off investing time in BMS.

People chasing the original Falcon 4.0, you'll find also Falcon 4 in the "Totally Flying" compulation that has Falcon 4.0, B-17 Fortress Mighty 8th and European Air War.

#3732713 - 02/08/13 07:54 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Financeman Offline
Junior Member
Financeman  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Canada
I certainly agree with investing time in BMS F4. I recall purchasing my copy of Micropose F4 and having to reserve a copy and standing in line, this must be around 20 years ago. This is an amazing evolution and stands the Hobby to high esteem. I am certain that the people at BMS are commited to their craft and all for free amazing. Only in Canada you say. salute


Financeman
#3732888 - 02/09/13 01:00 AM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
Ste86 Offline
Junior Member
Ste86  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 53
North West, UK
I keep seeing all these posts on here and although I have falcon 4 BMS I struggle with the situational awareness and using the weapons systems! the tutorials and Krause's (tanit's) video's are all good but I think i need someone to talk me through in a non volatile enviroment lol.

Last edited by Ste86; 02/09/13 01:01 AM.

System: Core i7 920 @ 4Ghz, 6GB Patriot Viper RAM, MSI Geforce GTX 670, Samsung 23" Monitor, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, Saitek Pro Flight Rudder Pedals, Thrustmaster Cougar MFDs, Acer15" 4:3 screen for dials and MFDs, TrackIR 5 w/ Trackclip.
#3732890 - 02/09/13 01:09 AM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
SA and weapons employment are the biggest hurdles in this sim, as well as using and understanding brevity and A-A engagements.

Weapons employment you can practice easily via TEs. SA and brevity is simply learned over time, ideally on MP flights. A-A skill can be practiced via TE or instant action + ACMI recording, or find a IP who can teach you the basics. I once spent 2 hours getting shot at by another F-16 and simply practiced missile evasion techniques, it improved my confidence at evading missiles as well as getting a "feel" for the situation. I ended up panicking less and was thus able to keep my SA up a bit higher than I used to biggrin


- Ice
#3733593 - 02/11/13 01:55 AM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Vicktore Offline
Junior Member
Vicktore  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
N.J. USA
I was lucky a friend of mine sent me his copy of Falcon 4.0 with the 700 page book and everything for free

#3733626 - 02/11/13 04:05 AM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 278
Wombat1940 Offline
Member
Wombat1940  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 278
Melbourne, Australia
Originally Posted By: Vicktore
I was lucky a friend of mine sent me his copy of Falcon 4.0 with the 700 page book and everything for free
hahaha Ye, I have it to. I bought the original falcon back in '98. But don't forget the 700+ page manual that comes with Falcon4 AF. IMHO its better. I printed it out. Almost cost me a new printer. wink

Last edited by Wombat1940; 02/11/13 04:06 AM.

Gigabyte Ultra Durable 3 GA-EX58-UD4P motherboard, Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz/8Gb RAM chip set (only 3.5Gb available with XP & 32bit system), NVIDIA GeForce GTX275 video card, Realtek ALC850 sound circuitry, OS XP Home SP3, Samsung 21"(4x3)Flat LCD, TM Cougar joystick, TrackIR 3Pro, Logitech G330 Headset, ConnectAccess621 ADSL2/2 Router.
XP Home SP3, Running Falcon 4AF, 1.013 Patch, High Tiles (winter).
#3733644 - 02/11/13 05:02 AM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
Vicktore Offline
Junior Member
Vicktore  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 27
N.J. USA
I have the AF manual on my iphone so i can read it at work but i use both manuals they have help me.I go from one to the other.I more than likely put the BMS manual on my iphone aswell.

#3734076 - 02/12/13 12:49 AM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
- Ice Offline
Veteran
- Ice  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 16,082
Philippines / North East UK
I see you now have access to Falcon 4.0, I would suggest jumping to BMS straight away. In AF, you will learn to do things that are done differently in BMS, so might be better to just learn once and done rather than having to unlearn one thing to work on another.

I would recommend the AF manual though it is close to the original manual anyway -- the principles and theories are the same for 4.0, AF, and BMS, it's just the switch manipulation that is different... and some things may be implemented in BMS that aren't in the older versions of Falcon.


- Ice
#3734467 - 02/12/13 08:03 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 595
Boomer Offline
(v) Viper Driver
Boomer  Offline
(v) Viper Driver
Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 595
I will be direct as always: IMHO nobody should bother with AF ever again.

FBMS is the rightful heir to the Falcon franchise and is moving the sim forward in all respects.

AF was always the illegitimate child and is trapped in 2005 graphically.

Last edited by Helo_Head; 02/12/13 08:06 PM.

"Learning to fly the Falcon is just your ticket to the dance" - Pete 'Boomer' Bonanni.
#3734521 - 02/12/13 09:55 PM Re: upgrade for Falcon 4.0 af [Re: Vicktore]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 73
brownba Offline
Junior Member
brownba  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 73
BMS has great flight modeling and improved graphics, however AF has the best campaigns and most challenging AI. AI in BMS is a snooze fest to me.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Mid-Air Collision in Denver, No Injuries
by Arthonon. 05/14/21 12:59 AM
Hey, Bitcoin, Elon doesn't like you.
by Mr_Blastman. 05/13/21 02:34 AM
I'll be damned !!
by NoFlyBoy. 05/11/21 07:13 PM
RM Jet Suit Boarding
by Red2112. 05/08/21 02:07 PM
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Some funny Facebook observations
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 11:53 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0