Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
#3678100 - 11/08/12 07:01 PM Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase)  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/in...136&lang=en

At the time of posting this, DCS is still uploading their files to the page.


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3678103 - 11/08/12 07:05 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,154
Silver_Dragon Offline
Member
Silver_Dragon  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,154
Arafo, Canary Islands, Spain


Quote:
Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 (FC3) is the next evolution of the Flaming Cliffs series. FC3 features the F-15C, A-10A, Su-27, Su-33, MiG-29A, MiG-29S, Su-25T, and Su-25. FC3 aircraft provide an easy learning curve for new players and focuses on a broad range of aircraft rather than a detailed single aircraft. FC3 adds a number of new features and improvements to previous versions of the Flaming Cliffs series. FC3 is a module of DCS: World, which makes it compatible with all other DCS: World titles like A-10C, Black Shark 2, P-51D, and Combined Arms.


Key Features of Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 include:
A DCS World module that is compatible with DCS titles.
New 6 degrees of freedom (6DOF) cockpit and model for the F-15C.
New F-15C campaign and single missions.
Improved cockpit art for Russian aircraft.
Improved landing dynamics.
Improved flight dynamics for air-to-air missiles.
Updated and improved HUDs and other cockpit systems.
Resource Manager that adds logistics control to missions.
Expanded theatre of operations map into eastern Georgia.
Countless other improvements in the areas of the mission editor, special effects, new models, improved terrain detail and AI.
Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 will require an installation of Lock On: Modern Air Combat or previous version Flaming Cliffs.


More News to the Front
#3678104 - 11/08/12 07:07 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
NavyNuke99 Offline
One Man Wolfpack
NavyNuke99  Offline
One Man Wolfpack
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
Raleigh, NC
Well, there goes my weekend!

thumbsup band biggrin whoohoo


" And any man who may be asked in this century what he did to make his life worthwhile, I think can respond with a good deal of pride and satisfaction: 'I served in the United States Navy.'"- John F. Kennedy

"NUKE-ular. It's pronounced NUKE-ular."- Homer Simpson

AMD FX-8350 Vishera @ 4.0 Ghz
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2GB
CM Storm Series Trooper
Samsung 840 series 500 GB OS/ Game drive
WD Green 2TB Media Drive
Thermaltake Black Widow 850W PSU
#3678123 - 11/08/12 07:31 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
speck01 Offline
Member
speck01  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 482
California
Nice! It's up for purchase now. Kinda wish it wasn't a beta, but oh well - certainly not going to stop me from downloading and enjoying it!

#3678135 - 11/08/12 07:56 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,268
UnderTheRadar Offline
Hotshot
UnderTheRadar  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,268
Austin, TX
Now I am even more pissed off that I failed my test on Monday and need to keep studying for my retake... grrr...


Purchased it anyway though smile


I have gaming PCs that run everything from MS-DOS 6.22 to Windows 7 64-bit

Win7 Home Prem 64
i5-3570
ASRock HM77
XFX Radeon HD 6950 2 Gig
8 Gigs GSkill DDR3 1600
500 Gig Samsung 840 SSD
1 TB WD Black SATA II HD
Plextor 24x DVD-RW
ViewSonic VA2702w 1920x1080
HP L2206tm 1920x1080 Multi-Touch Screen
Antec Neo 550w PS
Antec Full Tower Case
Warthog 1663 w/ CH Pro Pedals
TIR4 w/ Clip
Logitech G110 KB
Razer Naga
#3678141 - 11/08/12 08:03 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 211
boomerang10 Offline
Member
boomerang10  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 211
Texas
Figures...I won't have computer access for three months after tomorrow and today is when they release it.

#3678175 - 11/08/12 08:42 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Mace71 Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Mace71  Offline
Dread pirate Mace
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,827
Darlington, UK.
Can someone post their thoughts on it when they get chance please? Want to know whether it is just FC2 in DCS World as some of the cockpits I'd seen in screenshots looked like the bad ones in FC2...

This makes me wonder even more:

Quote:
Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 will require an installation of Lock On: Modern Air Combat or previous version Flaming Cliffs.


Why? Just an update?....

Last edited by MaceUK33; 11/08/12 08:44 PM.

Antec 902 | Intel i7 920 2.66Ghz OC'd to 3.40GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 660 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 | Corsair 6GB DDR3 | Coolermaster V8 CPU Cooler | W7 64

"There is only one way to avoid criticism: do nothing, say nothing and be nothing." Aristotle
#3678211 - 11/08/12 09:17 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,074
GrayGhost Offline
Hotshot
GrayGhost  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,074
Because FC is part of the LO franchise which Ubi owns, therefore it is required that it is sold as an add-on to LO.


--
44th VFW
#3678217 - 11/08/12 09:26 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
Offline
Member
 Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 808
I'll wait with the purchase for FC 8.0

#3678218 - 11/08/12 09:26 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 176
scotsmen54 Offline
Member
scotsmen54  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2012
Posts: 176
Canada
Oh my god, not another pre-purchase Beta. For FC, please give me a break, how many years does it take to get it to work right. FC3 should have been damn near perfect by now. Well, That does it for me, I'm finally finished. I was holding on for FC3 but certainly not this after all these years.MY OPINION. Not wasting any more money on unfinished Projects. banghead

#3678264 - 11/08/12 10:28 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,900
valleyboy Offline
Member
valleyboy  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,900
Aberdare, Wales, UK
Got it, and playing..... found a bug already! refueling in the F-15... is impossible! as soon as the boom is called contact, aircraft rolls sharply to the left and unstopable... until it disconnects tried a few times now, looks like something in the modelling of the boom and the position that it makes contact on the aircraft...
ahh well, back to practicing on the hog for now!


"The engines are overheating, and so am I!!, we either make a move, or blow up!, So which is it to be?!"
----------------------------------
"It is better to keep one's mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt."
#3678272 - 11/08/12 10:50 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
NavyNuke99 Offline
One Man Wolfpack
NavyNuke99  Offline
One Man Wolfpack
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
Raleigh, NC
Playing as well- launched a quick mission in the Su-33. Took off, flew around a bit, landed- CTD. Also a few graphic oddities. Pics coming soon to the Photo subforum.


" And any man who may be asked in this century what he did to make his life worthwhile, I think can respond with a good deal of pride and satisfaction: 'I served in the United States Navy.'"- John F. Kennedy

"NUKE-ular. It's pronounced NUKE-ular."- Homer Simpson

AMD FX-8350 Vishera @ 4.0 Ghz
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2GB
CM Storm Series Trooper
Samsung 840 series 500 GB OS/ Game drive
WD Green 2TB Media Drive
Thermaltake Black Widow 850W PSU
#3678276 - 11/08/12 10:54 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Para_Bellum Offline
Oberkriegkaboomfhrer
Para_Bellum  Offline
Oberkriegkaboomfhrer
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 8,771
Germany
Is it correct that only the F-15 got a facelift?


"...late afternoon the Air Tasking Order came in [and] we found the A-10 part and we said, "We are going where!? We are doing what!?"

Capt. Todd Sheehy, Hog pilot, on receiving orders during Operation Desert Storm

#3678278 - 11/08/12 10:58 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: scotsmen54]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,342
Remon Offline
Member
Remon  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,342
Greece
Originally Posted By: scotsmen54
Oh my god, not another pre-purchase Beta. For FC, please give me a break, how many years does it take to get it to work right. FC3 should have been damn near perfect by now. Well, That does it for me, I'm finally finished. I was holding on for FC3 but certainly not this after all these years.MY OPINION. Not wasting any more money on unfinished Projects. banghead


Relax. This is a beta, the game hasn't been released yet. If you want, you can wait for the official release, if not, well...

Originally Posted By: Para_Bellum
Is it correct that only the F-15 got a facelift?



The F-15 gets a 3d 6-DOF cockpit. The other planes, the russian ones at least, are getting the Picardo's HD mods as official cockpits. I think.

Last edited by Remon; 11/08/12 11:00 PM.
#3678288 - 11/08/12 11:07 PM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: Remon]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
NavyNuke99 Offline
One Man Wolfpack
NavyNuke99  Offline
One Man Wolfpack
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
Raleigh, NC
Originally Posted By: Remon


The F-15 gets a 3d 6-DOF cockpit. The other planes, the russian ones at least, are getting the Picardo's HD mods as official cockpits. I think.


Yep- though there are definite differences between the Ricardo model from FC2 and this one- pics in the screenshot gallery.


" And any man who may be asked in this century what he did to make his life worthwhile, I think can respond with a good deal of pride and satisfaction: 'I served in the United States Navy.'"- John F. Kennedy

"NUKE-ular. It's pronounced NUKE-ular."- Homer Simpson

AMD FX-8350 Vishera @ 4.0 Ghz
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2GB
CM Storm Series Trooper
Samsung 840 series 500 GB OS/ Game drive
WD Green 2TB Media Drive
Thermaltake Black Widow 850W PSU
#3678341 - 11/09/12 12:49 AM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,927
Master Offline
meh
Master  Offline
meh
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 10,927
NW Alabama, USA
DCS world is such a cluster%#&$ to install. They could not have come up with a worse system if they were being paid to.

Last edited by Master; 11/09/12 12:49 AM.

And we as its creators don't feel ready to hear your annoyed jabber about it.
-IL-2 BoS Dev Team

http://www.alt-games-warbirds.com

Unofficial SimHQ Discord

Starcitizen Referal code: STAR-BCJZ-5VV2
https://robertsspaceindustries.com/enlist?referral=STAR-BCJZ-5VV2
#3678352 - 11/09/12 01:15 AM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: valleyboy]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,789
Smokin_Hole Offline
Member
Smokin_Hole  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,789
Originally Posted By: valleyboy
Got it, and playing..... found a bug already! refueling in the F-15... is impossible! as soon as the boom is called contact, aircraft rolls sharply to the left and unstopable... until it disconnects tried a few times now, looks like something in the modelling of the boom and the position that it makes contact on the aircraft...
ahh well, back to practicing on the hog for now!


Yeah, I noticed that too. It seems like some sort of bugged assist feature. Once you connect it begins to modulate the throttles automatically until disconnect. While searching for an option to disable this "feature" I noticed that there is only 1 tab under Options/Special: the Ka50. The P-51 rudder assist tab is gone.

#3678356 - 11/09/12 01:23 AM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: scotsmen54]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 68
Mizzy Offline
Junior Member
Mizzy  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 68
Originally Posted By: scotsmen54
Oh my god, not another pre-purchase Beta. For FC, please give me a break, how many years does it take to get it to work right. FC3 should have been damn near perfect by now. Well, That does it for me, I'm finally finished. I was holding on for FC3 but certainly not this after all these years.MY OPINION. Not wasting any more money on unfinished Projects. banghead


Were you born ignorant, or just taking lessons acting it !

#3678358 - 11/09/12 01:24 AM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,789
Smokin_Hole Offline
Member
Smokin_Hole  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,789
I will say that while the F-15 does look nice from the inside and sounds awesome from the outside, FC3 is EXACTLY what you are expecting: FC2 with a nice pit flying in the improved DCS world. If you buy this on curiosity you will struggle to find a substantial difference. The F-15 flies exactly the same except that you can now land on one wheel. The new missile behavior--perhaps the coolest new feature--can easily be observed within World without buying FC3. The only reason to buy this is so that when your A-10C gets shotdown in a MP server, you can grab a F-15 and extract some revenge. That's really it.

Last edited by Smokin_Hole; 11/09/12 01:25 AM.
#3678363 - 11/09/12 01:29 AM Re: Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 3 1.2.2 released (pre-purchase) [Re: valleyboy]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 68
Mizzy Offline
Junior Member
Mizzy  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 68
Originally Posted By: valleyboy
Got it, and playing..... found a bug already! refueling in the F-15... is impossible! as soon as the boom is called contact, aircraft rolls sharply to the left and unstopable... until it disconnects tried a few times now, looks like something in the modelling of the boom and the position that it makes contact on the aircraft...
ahh well, back to practicing on the hog for now!


Surely you play FC series for more reason than refueling the F15? Rather narrow perspective do you not think ;-)

Mizzy
(Ex Beta Tester 'Black Shark' 'Flaming Cliffs 2')

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
11 th day on lockdown
by carrick58. 03/30/20 12:26 AM
Drug combo working. Covid. Dr Zelenko NYC hospital.
by TerribleTwo. 03/29/20 12:27 PM
HILARIOUS videos found on YouTube.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/28/20 09:59 PM
Stuka!
by RedToo. 03/28/20 04:56 PM
social distancing
by KraziKanuK. 03/27/20 07:30 PM
How to correctly wash your hands properly.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/25/20 12:58 PM
Humble Bundle Driving Deal
by F4UDash4. 03/25/20 11:00 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0