Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3671611 - 10/29/12 07:32 PM Radio Problem  
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 155
Hamblue Offline
Member
Hamblue  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 155
Hello all
I'm having a problem with the radio
It started after I did a training mission and had the radio set to easy communication.
When I went back and unclicked radio assist and easy mode the ATC stopped responding correctly.
Now what happens is if I request something from the tower I get a delayed response.
For instance I ask for engine start-up. I get no response after several tries, but as soon as I start the first engine I get approval.

Then I request taxi to runway, no response. As soon as I start taxing to runway I get the approval. Same with take-off.

Tower freq is set, radio is on TR. Correct frequency transmit used.

Any ideas on what's going on?
Thanks


Motherboard: Z87. CPU: 4790K clocked to 4.4Ghz.
Ram: 16Gig Power Supply: 1000 watt Video:GTX 780Ti Hard Drives: 500 Gig PCIE SSD and 1TB maxtor.
Video Card. Evga GTX 78O Ti OC
Controllers: Warthog Hotas, Saitek Combat pedals, Track IR5.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3671717 - 10/29/12 10:19 PM Re: Radio Problem [Re: Hamblue]  
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,599
Frederf Offline
Member
Frederf  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,599
Radio assist is something that gives you magic warnings like "missile is inbound." It's nothing to do with using the radio.

There are four radio transmit keys in the A-10, forward, mid, aft, and hot. In real life they correspond to pressing the MIC hat on the throttle forward, down, rear and speaking into the microphone without pressing anything respectively.

All communication with ATC is done using the VHF AM radio which uses the forward push of the MIC hat. The F1-F12 type menu that pops up should indicate the radio being used. Considering you are able to hear ATC it appears the VHF AM radio is set correctly for reception. For transmission, make sure you are pressing the control bound to HOTAS>HOTAS MIC Switch Forward to initiate the F1-F12 style menu.

The ATC is programmed to act as if you requested a phase in the control path if you physically do that phase. It minimizes the chance of being stuck in a phase. It's not normal operation.

#3671869 - 10/30/12 05:10 AM Re: Radio Problem [Re: Hamblue]  
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 155
Hamblue Offline
Member
Hamblue  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 155
I was able to get the problem to clear.

First I set radio assists etc off and opened the origial 3rd party mission I used when it started

Then I started the mission. Comms worked correctly.

I exited and started multiplayer

The problem was fixed.

Jim


Motherboard: Z87. CPU: 4790K clocked to 4.4Ghz.
Ram: 16Gig Power Supply: 1000 watt Video:GTX 780Ti Hard Drives: 500 Gig PCIE SSD and 1TB maxtor.
Video Card. Evga GTX 78O Ti OC
Controllers: Warthog Hotas, Saitek Combat pedals, Track IR5.

Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Actress Shelley Duvall dies at 75
by NoFlyBoy. 07/11/24 06:02 PM
Joe Engle was 91
by F4UDash4. 07/11/24 09:55 AM
BeamNG
by wormfood. 07/06/24 03:06 AM
And another thing to worry about
by oldgrognard. 07/05/24 06:48 PM
Happy Independence Day
by F4UDash4. 07/04/24 11:05 AM
New IL-2 Korean War sim coming?
by LB4LB. 07/03/24 09:46 PM
Did Lee Child ever decide to do research?
by letterboy1. 07/02/24 07:31 PM
Anyone in the Windward Islands?
by PanzerMeyer. 06/30/24 12:40 PM
Jury Duty Service
by PanzerMeyer. 06/30/24 12:25 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0