Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3665760 - 10/19/12 01:44 PM Causes of Stutter  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,212
Avimimus Offline
Two-speed Five-Blade Fan
Avimimus  Offline
Two-speed Five-Blade Fan
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,212
Canada
Hi everyone,

The last patch introduced some stutter (which I'd never had before)...

So, I was wondering - if you've had stutter - what settings helped?

Thanks,

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3665882 - 10/19/12 05:08 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
rootango Offline
Member
rootango  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
everywhere
the only recent reports i have seen for this in the last month or so is from people who hadnt installed the beta and RC patches correctly

with an official patch now released by steam, which should auto install seamlessly, that is unlikely to be the case (since steam should restore everything to default) ....but.... if there are some residual files/code left from the last beta patches that havnt been removed or are lingering in cache files, that is the most likely reason. i have seen one poster at 1c who found 2 residual lines in his registry even after a complete uninstall, and untill he deleted those manually even a reinstall didnt fix his problem (that was an exceptional case, not seen anybody else mention this)

the safest bet to me would seem, for people who aren't to computer technical, is a complete fresh reinstall. backing up files they want to save first (complex HOTAS setups etc). but with this last patch supposedly being the final one for a long while, that might make most sense


Be advised, we got zips in the wire
#3666937 - 10/21/12 04:23 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 556
shadylurker Offline
Member
shadylurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 556
Try lowering the landscape quality

#3666939 - 10/21/12 04:31 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,808
bisher Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
bisher  Offline
I'll be your Huckleberry
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12,808
Manitoba, Canada
yes i'm getting low frame rates. I'm tempted to do a fresh install, but need to know how much data I'll need to download. Gigs I suppose, I'd rather avoid that.



#3666945 - 10/21/12 04:42 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,348
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,348
Orlando, FL
Remember the intro movie!


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

#3667213 - 10/22/12 03:04 AM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Pooch]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
rootango Offline
Member
rootango  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
everywhere
Some other specific suggestions from other posters at 1C, on how they solved their recent performance issues (since "the great leap forward" made by the last 2 or 3 beta patches, which gave significant performance improvement and a much better smoother gameplay)

1- know that CoD is intended/designed for Win7x64
2- delete game related folders that might have left some eggs behind and interfere with a "fresh" install. specifically
a) the "1C Softclub" folder in Documents directory (documents/1c softclub/il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover folder)
b) AND the game folder under .... whatever drive you installed the game to.....then look for folders "/steam/steamapps" and delete anything there.
c) there are some core windows7 files/functions that CoD relies on in the windows environment for the game to run correctly, for most people this should not be an issue, but if you tried all else its good to be aware of this (note this is for more advanced windows users, it could mess up your pc function if done incorrectly). but ever since the last few beta patches were released some people had to reinstall dotnetfx4 for ex. to see what other core win7 programs/files might be involved, look in the steam/steamapps/common/il-2 sturmovick cliffs of dover/redist/ folder. note: the main one that solved problems for some is the "dotnetfx4" program.
3- check game files integrity in Steam.

some other issues to be aware of:
- since the last few patches several game elements are now loaded/run over more cpu cores, having 4 cores is now better then 2 (but mine runs fine on 2 cores with multi-threading). you do need 6 or 8 gb ram, and a gfx card with at least 1gb of good vram is essential (2gb vram recommended)
- dont have lots of other crap running in windows when you run the game, eg no viri scanners, or memory/cpu draining apps


Be advised, we got zips in the wire
#3667218 - 10/22/12 03:18 AM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,348
Pooch Offline
Hotshot
Pooch  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,348
Orlando, FL
Do any of you fly with the mouse look? I do. I think turning it off actually helps it run a bit better. Could be my imagination, but I don't think so. Runs smoother when using the pov switch, I think.
I don't have track ir, though, so I need to scan around with the mouse when fighting, pov isn't fast enough. I use the middle mouse button to switch the modes on and off. If you have mouse look on, turn it off and see what happens. Worth a shot.


"From our orbital vantage point, we observe an earth without borders, full of peace, beauty and magnificence, and we pray that humanity as a whole can imagine a borderless world as we see it, and strive to live as one in peace."
Astronaut William C. McCool RIP, January 29, 2003 - Space Shuttle Columbia

#3668460 - 10/24/12 02:18 AM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,212
Avimimus Offline
Two-speed Five-Blade Fan
Avimimus  Offline
Two-speed Five-Blade Fan
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,212
Canada
I figured it out! I'd made a change that the patch changed back.

I've done the following:

Go to:
..\Documents\1C SoftClub\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover\conf.ini

Change:
Render=D3D10_0

To:
Render=D3D10_1


This removed the urban stutter!

#3687021 - 11/23/12 03:11 AM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,057
Whitehead Offline
Member
Whitehead  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,057
Very cool. Thanks!!

BTW, anyone know what "SpawnHumans=x" does?

#3687138 - 11/23/12 11:49 AM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 507
JG52Krupi Offline
Member
JG52Krupi  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 507
180
It adds character models to things like flak guns and trucks etc...

Last edited by JG52Krupi; 11/23/12 12:28 PM.
#3691642 - 12/02/12 01:23 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
rootango Offline
Member
rootango  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
everywhere
Originally Posted By: Avimimus
I figured it out! I'd made a change that the patch changed back.

I've done the following:

Go to:
..\Documents\1C SoftClub\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover\conf.ini

Change:
Render=D3D10_0

To:
Render=D3D10_1


This removed the urban stutter!


avimimus,

has anybody else you know tried that trick successfully to reduce stutters or smooth out video problems ?

i havnt seen it mentioned anywhere else so far


Be advised, we got zips in the wire
#3691712 - 12/02/12 04:40 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
I used it Roo, but I have an ATI/AMD card. It removed the stop-start motion of the landscape, if that's the effect mentioned. I was told it doesn't work for nVidia and might even have adverse for them.

#3696094 - 12/10/12 09:03 AM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: JAMF]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
rootango Offline
Member
rootango  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
everywhere
hiya jamf,

i have an ati card as well, but havnt heard of this fix before so will try it

since the last official patch CoD runs pretty smoothly for me on my mid level system, but will try it and see if it does anything

btw what happened to your old nick registration ? you've been rejuvenated by about 10 yrs it seems smile


Be advised, we got zips in the wire
#3696113 - 12/10/12 10:26 AM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 796
Staniol Offline
Member
Staniol  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 796
Hungary
I have an ATI, tried it, and clearly fixed the ground stutter.
However, this fix intorduced some artifacts in the shoreline, which is still better than having an unplayable sim.


Freedom of speech is our birth right, but the privilege of being heard needs to be gained.
#3696131 - 12/10/12 12:28 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Staniol]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
rootango Offline
Member
rootango  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
everywhere
Originally Posted By: Staniol
I have an ATI, tried it, and clearly fixed the ground stutter.
However, this fix intorduced some artifacts in the shoreline, which is still better than having an unplayable sim.


staniol,

the game is entirely playable on mid level systems since the last official patch 2 months ago, if you havnt tried it, update your CoD

on my mid level system, dual core 15 @ 3.5 ghz, 8 gb ram, ati 5770 1gb ati card on a win7 64 bit OS, i have most settings on high and a few on medium and get around 40 fpsec in most gameplay (except over london)

and all that is without stutters or microfreezes (which was a major problem at release time in 2011)

if this config file edit works for ati cards i do not know yet (and will look for the shore line effect you mention), but unless you have settings set way to high on a mid level pc (or are using a low level pc), game performance in CoD since september 2012 should be perfectly fine


Be advised, we got zips in the wire
#3696147 - 12/10/12 01:30 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 796
Staniol Offline
Member
Staniol  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 796
Hungary
I have it fully updated, and tried it after every patch.
I tried all fixes (removing video etc), and only this config ini helped.
I have a decent system, and settings around medium. I do not know the reason of this sim performing badly, but I have no issues running other demanding sims/games.
I must admit unplayable is a bit harsh, but especially with flightsims I need smooth movement for a good experience.
I do not want to hurt this game, but even if it's smooth, it has some fundamental flaws, for me.
Maybe I am too old for this. smile
Anyway, no need to start another thread of 'is it good/is it bad', just wanted to say, that this setting helps if you have an ati card.


Freedom of speech is our birth right, but the privilege of being heard needs to be gained.
#3696152 - 12/10/12 01:35 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,768
KRT_Bong Offline
It's KRT not Kurt
KRT_Bong  Offline
It's KRT not Kurt
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,768
Gulf Coast of Florida
With My System since the patch and with the Ubi logo removed it is absolutely beautiful and smooth with the occasional blip, the LOD's still are poor at mid range but that is about all I can complain about, that and the washed out looking colors.

Last edited by KRT_Bong; 12/10/12 01:36 PM.

Windows 7 64 SP1
Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
AMD FX6300 Vishera 3.5 Ghz
GeForce 650 Ti 2Gb
8Gb Kingston 1600Mhz
Logitech G930

#3696156 - 12/10/12 01:39 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Staniol]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
rootango Offline
Member
rootango  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 831
everywhere
staniol,

if you used previous beta patches before the last final patch in september, you might need to have some residual issues created by bits and pieces left behind from those beta patches. there are a few suggestions in this thread on how to address these, but failing that a complete re-install might be worth the effort (and make sure the registry is clean after that, and no other files left behind). some of the other CoD had detailed posts on what to look for, but i cant remember the exact url's

a significant number of people had issues with these residual files from the beta patches, its worth considering


Be advised, we got zips in the wire
#3696158 - 12/10/12 01:45 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: KRT_Bong]  
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 254
W1ndy Offline
Member
W1ndy  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 254
Originally Posted By: KRT_Bong
that and the washed out looking colors.


Have you tried SweetFX for Cliffs ?

http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/sweetfx_shader_suite_download.html

or the RoF

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3691898/Introducing_FlightFX_for_ROF.html

You don't get that washed out look.

#3696161 - 12/10/12 01:48 PM Re: Causes of Stutter [Re: Avimimus]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 796
Staniol Offline
Member
Staniol  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 796
Hungary
Thanks for the help, but done that too.
As I said, maybe its beacuse of the age, and the ammount of time I have on my hands, I do not really want to spend huge ammount of time tweaking things and windows. I prefer playing.
Its not that I do not do that, done the dance with a lot of sims, but nowadays, with approx 3 hours of time a day for playing, I tend to fire up Rfactor, ROF, IL2FB etc, and enjoy them.
I was a huge supporter of CLOD, bought it on the day it was released in my country, and you can imagine the rest.
I still looking forward to the sequel, hopefully that eliminates the issues with CLOD, and I will be a happy user again, but I definitely wait with the purchase.
Once again, we went sideways, sorry for that, the thread is about the stutter, and its fixes. smile


Freedom of speech is our birth right, but the privilege of being heard needs to be gained.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Anyone use VoiceAtttack?
by bones. 02/21/20 01:50 PM
Fanatical Platinum Bundle
by Red2112. 02/21/20 12:21 PM
Raising the Kursk
by CyBerkut. 02/20/20 11:09 PM
Borderlands the movie?
by PanzerMeyer. 02/20/20 07:41 PM
Post script on our fires
by Mad Max. 02/19/20 09:43 PM
Our current approaching storm
by Ajay. 02/19/20 12:35 PM
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0