Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3591950 - 06/15/12 12:51 AM Help!!! LB2 won't run....  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,320
Recluse Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Recluse  Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,320
Randolph, NJ
For years I have used Adaware. Was using version 9 with no problems once I finally got it to stop deleting LB2.exe. Then I made the mistake of 'upgrading' to Adaware 10 which decided to be an antivirus in addition to an antispyware program.

You guessed it!! First thing it did was delete LB2.exe!! I restored it from Quarrantine and put it into the Ignore list. BOOM! It deleted it again and also deleted it from the backup copy I had of all the changed files from the 2.09 patch.

Since it was slowing down my system painfully anyway, I uninstalled Adaware completely.

I restored LB2.exe from my other computer and tried to run it. It keeps asking for a CD even though I have BOTH LB2 Disc .iso mounted in Daemon Tools AND for good measure stuck a real CD into my CD-ROM drive.

I don't think I have ever run across this before... anyone have a fix?? Maybe I need to do a System Restore from BEFORE installing ADAWARE 10, but I hope it doesn't come to that.



Whew!!! False Alarm! Turns out on my old computer I was running the 'cracked' LB2.exe that someone made which requires copying a bunch of files from the CD to the LB2 folder. I thought that I had abandoned this even on the old machine for the much simpler .iso mounting. Anyway, I found the original LB2.exe that I had backed up on the old machine, dropped it in, and everything is fine again.

Seems like Adaware may have screwed up some other stuff as well...so I may STILL have to do that system restore!

Last edited by Recluse; 06/15/12 01:16 AM.

Long system spec sig follows:



XP Box

Core2Duo E6600
ASUS P5N32-E SLI nVIDIA nFORCE 680I
ProMOS 4GB DDR2 800
EVGA GTX 560Ti
CoolerMaster CAC-T05-UW CENTURION 5
ANTEC TP3-550 550W
Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW
Soundblaster X-FI XtremeGamer
WinXP SP3

Win 7 Box: (thanks to kramer!!!)
Intel Core i7 3.06 GHz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 770
Corsair Carbide 400R Case
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

Flight Gear:

Cougar Hotas S/N 26453
CHPro Rudder Pedals

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3592232 - 06/15/12 04:20 PM Re: Help!!! LB2 won't run.... [Re: Recluse]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,368
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,368
England, UK
Still making those schoolboy errors, are we? duh

Glad everything worked out OK, I hate it when these programs we've used for years get too big for their boots and end up tacking a load of other features on that we don't need. What were simple and effective programs end up as bloatware.

#3592268 - 06/15/12 05:28 PM Re: Help!!! LB2 won't run.... [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,320
Recluse Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Recluse  Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,320
Randolph, NJ
Originally Posted By: Flyboy
Still making those schoolboy errors, are we? duh



I guess I am entering my second childhood.

Quote:


Glad everything worked out OK, I hate it when these programs we've used for years get too big for their boots and end up tacking a load of other features on that we don't need. What were simple and effective programs end up as bloatware.


Totally. In the good old days, the one-two punch of Adaware and Spybot S&D were all you needed to banish the majority of ad/mal-ware. They were purely on demand. Then always on features and "immunizations" started creeping in until the feature creep and bloat caused almost as many problems as did the malware they were trying to defend against.

My first run of Adaware 9 removed not only LB2.exe as a false positive, but several other Janes .exe files as well (and I think some non-Janes). Luckily, it was as simple matter to restore them from quarrantine, set the software to IGNORE them, and peace was restored throughout the kingdom. With version 10, IGNORE didn't seem to do anything to its voracious appetite for preventing LB2 from running and slowing down everything else.

Guess I will just rely on my periodic MalwareBytes scans for protection.


Long system spec sig follows:



XP Box

Core2Duo E6600
ASUS P5N32-E SLI nVIDIA nFORCE 680I
ProMOS 4GB DDR2 800
EVGA GTX 560Ti
CoolerMaster CAC-T05-UW CENTURION 5
ANTEC TP3-550 550W
Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW
Soundblaster X-FI XtremeGamer
WinXP SP3

Win 7 Box: (thanks to kramer!!!)
Intel Core i7 3.06 GHz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 770
Corsair Carbide 400R Case
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

Flight Gear:

Cougar Hotas S/N 26453
CHPro Rudder Pedals

#3592287 - 06/15/12 05:59 PM Re: Help!!! LB2 won't run.... [Re: Recluse]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,368
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,368
England, UK
I hear ya, and I tried no-end of anti-malware programs before I found out about, first, Spybot S&D and later, MalwareBytes. Most of the programs I tried said that various system files were infected and one had an obsession with Windows Media Player, always saying that core files were infected. Of course, I just ran with it several times thinking they knew best... only to end up with broken programs and system functions.

#3594923 - 06/20/12 09:24 PM Re: Help!!! LB2 won't run.... [Re: Recluse]  
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 897
Phoenix Offline
Member
Phoenix  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 897
Hi Reculse,

Good to see LB2 is still working for you.

Quote:
Guess I will just rely on my periodic MalwareBytes scans for protection.


For whatever my opinion is worth to you, I seriously wouldn't recommend doing that. MBAM was never designed to be used as standalone antivirus (devs admit as much here ), and an active scanner is a necessity for any online machine. I'd use an AV that has a working "exceptions" or "ignore" list, and that has some method of easily deactivating the active scanner while you're doing CPU/disk-heavy things.


#3594970 - 06/20/12 11:07 PM Re: Help!!! LB2 won't run.... [Re: Phoenix]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,320
Recluse Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Recluse  Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,320
Randolph, NJ
Your opinion is in the majority for sure, but, honestly, I have run without an active virus scanner for many years relying on the protection afforded by being behind a router. The only major malware infestation I have had resulted from my own stupidity in installing stuff I should have been more careful with and one very malicious web page. YES, perhaps having had an active scanner would had prevented that, but as a risk/benefit ratio, my strategy has been largely successful.

When I had the previous version of ADAWARE actively scanning, it never found anything but false positives.


Long system spec sig follows:



XP Box

Core2Duo E6600
ASUS P5N32-E SLI nVIDIA nFORCE 680I
ProMOS 4GB DDR2 800
EVGA GTX 560Ti
CoolerMaster CAC-T05-UW CENTURION 5
ANTEC TP3-550 550W
Samsung Syncmaster 2253BW
Soundblaster X-FI XtremeGamer
WinXP SP3

Win 7 Box: (thanks to kramer!!!)
Intel Core i7 3.06 GHz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 770
Corsair Carbide 400R Case
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

Flight Gear:

Cougar Hotas S/N 26453
CHPro Rudder Pedals

#3596776 - 06/24/12 09:44 PM Re: Help!!! LB2 won't run.... [Re: Recluse]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
AV8R Offline
Senior Member
AV8R  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
Southern California USA

@Recluse...
"..look me up, I' ll fly with ya....". Top Gun

LB2 still runs a few of my PCs


AV8R

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Grouch (Joker Parady)
by Arthonon. 10/19/19 02:19 PM
Nike vs B-17
by KraziKanuK. 10/18/19 08:30 PM
Grouch
by Chaz. 10/18/19 01:49 PM
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0