Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3565808 - 05/02/12 12:42 AM I'm old  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,575
Desert Eagle Offline
Master of the Weird
Desert Eagle  Offline
Master of the Weird
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,575
Portugal
http://i.imgur.com/rT1m0.png

DEVICE=C:\Windows\HIMEM.SYS
DOS=HIGH,UMB
DEVICE=C:\Windows\EMM386.EXE NOEMS

@echo off
SET SOUND=C:\PROGRA~1\CREATIVE\CTSND
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 E620 T6
SET PATH=C:\Windows;C:\
LH C:\Windows\COMMAND\MSCDEX.EXE /D:123

old_simmer


2010-oo All Your rights belong to Me

By reading this You acknowledge that Your body and soul, including all your worldly possessions, are now property of this poster. Any unauthorized use of them will be punished.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3565815 - 05/02/12 12:56 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,555
VF9_Longbow Offline
Hotshot
VF9_Longbow  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 5,555
Tokyo, Japan
troll alert

#3565818 - 05/02/12 01:14 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
NavyNuke99 Offline
One Man Wolfpack
NavyNuke99  Offline
One Man Wolfpack
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
Raleigh, NC
Yeah, I saw that earlier. And no, if you think about it, it's not necessarily a troll. Windows XP came out in what, 2002? And it didn't include any way to access the DOS shell without bending over backwards and jumping through a flaming hoop while muttering an incantation in Sanskrit. It's not too hard to believe that kids who are now posting on Reddit have no idea what DOS is.

Also DE, you forgot the most important command (though not necessarily for DOOM):

C:\mouse


" And any man who may be asked in this century what he did to make his life worthwhile, I think can respond with a good deal of pride and satisfaction: 'I served in the United States Navy.'"- John F. Kennedy

"NUKE-ular. It's pronounced NUKE-ular."- Homer Simpson

AMD FX-8350 Vishera @ 4.0 Ghz
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2GB
CM Storm Series Trooper
Samsung 840 series 500 GB OS/ Game drive
WD Green 2TB Media Drive
Thermaltake Black Widow 850W PSU
#3565820 - 05/02/12 01:24 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,575
Desert Eagle Offline
Master of the Weird
Desert Eagle  Offline
Master of the Weird
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,575
Portugal
I'm really getting old! duh


2010-oo All Your rights belong to Me

By reading this You acknowledge that Your body and soul, including all your worldly possessions, are now property of this poster. Any unauthorized use of them will be punished.
#3565821 - 05/02/12 01:26 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,363
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,363
Navy, I don't think you meant to say DOS shell, because that in itself was a GUI for DOS.


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
#3565832 - 05/02/12 01:42 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Freycinet]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,541
piper Offline
Veteran
piper  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,541
Raleigh,NC
Originally Posted By: Freycinet
Navy, I don't think you meant to say DOS shell, because that in itself was a GUI for DOS.


No, I think the way it was architected, DOS shell is correct. And GUI stands for "Graphical" User Interface - which DOS was not.

..I remember playing around with .bat files trying like heck to get EF2000 to run faster....

#3565835 - 05/02/12 01:49 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,828
Boilerplate* Offline
Viceroy of Huntly
Boilerplate*  Offline
Viceroy of Huntly
Hotshot

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,828
Virginia, USA
One of the releases for Jane's ATF included an apology regarding DOS only compatibility. I recall having to shell out to DOS as well to run the game with a special .bat script. That was under Win 95.


It's a Game. smile
#3565845 - 05/02/12 02:15 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,868
Duchess Offline
(Formerly Joe Stallin')
Duchess  Offline
(Formerly Joe Stallin')
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 3,868
Ontariariooo
I remember trying to get Aces over Europe to run...

Needed a high amount of Main memory, I had so many separate boot disks. Hard to believe it's all in the past.

#3565846 - 05/02/12 02:15 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,541
piper Offline
Veteran
piper  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,541
Raleigh,NC
I bought, but could never get Jane's ATF to run..really torked me off too.

btw, Happy Birthday Boilerplate! Hope your having a good one.

#3565848 - 05/02/12 02:22 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
NavyNuke99 Offline
One Man Wolfpack
NavyNuke99  Offline
One Man Wolfpack
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 5,699
Raleigh, NC
I meant DOS command line, actually... Brain fart from studying C all day. banghead

As I recall, Win 98 was the last (major) release that was actually built on DOS, whereas from XP onward, the only way to get to a command line prompt was via starting in Safe Mode.

I remember my grandfather and I spending the better part of a spring break one year trying to get Falcon 3.0 to run from a boot disk, and having to tweak the autoexec.bat down as much as possible.


" And any man who may be asked in this century what he did to make his life worthwhile, I think can respond with a good deal of pride and satisfaction: 'I served in the United States Navy.'"- John F. Kennedy

"NUKE-ular. It's pronounced NUKE-ular."- Homer Simpson

AMD FX-8350 Vishera @ 4.0 Ghz
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 @ 1600
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850 2GB
CM Storm Series Trooper
Samsung 840 series 500 GB OS/ Game drive
WD Green 2TB Media Drive
Thermaltake Black Widow 850W PSU
#3565850 - 05/02/12 02:26 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,828
Boilerplate* Offline
Viceroy of Huntly
Boilerplate*  Offline
Viceroy of Huntly
Hotshot

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,828
Virginia, USA
Gawd..

Although these games were fun, it could be incredibly frustrating to run them. So much trial and error. mad

BTW Piper.. thank for the B-day wishes. smile


It's a Game. smile
#3565851 - 05/02/12 02:28 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19,581
Raw Kryptonite Offline
Beat the Kobayashi Maru
Raw Kryptonite  Offline
Beat the Kobayashi Maru
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 19,581
MS
There were no video games prior to Windows, everyone knows that.


·Steam: Raw Kryptonite ·MWO & Elite Dangerous: Defcon Won ·Meager youtube channel
·Intel i5-9600K ·EVGA GTX1070 FTW 8GB ·EVGA CLC 120 Cooler
·16 GB Patriot Memory VIPER 4 3000MHz ·GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO WiFi Mobo
· CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540 case ·BenQ BL3200PT monitor
#3565855 - 05/02/12 02:41 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Raw Kryptonite]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,828
Boilerplate* Offline
Viceroy of Huntly
Boilerplate*  Offline
Viceroy of Huntly
Hotshot

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,828
Virginia, USA
I believe with the advent of Win 95, there was a transition period where many games written for DOS were challenged to run under a Windows only. The were many heartbreaks going on.


It's a Game. smile
#3565956 - 05/02/12 10:20 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,156
Destructis Offline
Hotshot
Destructis  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,156
Anne Arundel County, MD
Alrighty then, who remembers memmaker?


Life is tough. Life is tougher when you are stupid. - John Wayne
#3565975 - 05/02/12 11:24 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 7,033
komemiute Offline
Hell Drummer
komemiute  Offline
Hell Drummer
Hotshot

Joined: May 2009
Posts: 7,033
Feck, do I? I feel like I WROTE IT! biggrin


Click to reveal..
"Himmiherrgottksakramentzefixhallelujah!"
Para_Bellum

"It takes forever +/- 2 weeks for the A-10 to get anywhere significant..."
Ice

"Ha! If it gets him on the deck its a start!"
MigBuster

"What people like and what critics praise are rarely the same thing. 'Critic' is just another one of those unnecessary, overpaid, parasitic jobs that the human race has churned out so that clever slackers won't have to actually get a real job and possibly soil their hands."
Sauron
#3565980 - 05/02/12 11:35 AM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,900
Gopher Offline
Senior Member
Gopher  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,900
Midlands
memmaker was useful for the games that supported the higher memory addressing, but rather useless for those that didn't.
Apparently there is a boot disk in this house somewhere that has a boot menu which optimises memory allocation per game. I must find that a some point and image it...

Reminds me of a nostalgia trip I went on a few days ago. Elite 2: Frontier - an entire galaxy on a disk, and each system has just the same cardboard character as an NPC in morrowind or oblivion - but 4000 times smaller, and still somehow more awesome...

#3565989 - 05/02/12 12:00 PM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,561
Recluse Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Recluse  Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,561
Randolph, NJ
In the dawn of Internet gaming I remember being in a squad flying Jane's ATF/NATO Fighters DOS version. We were using a freeware IPX emulator KAHN (an alternative to the much fuller featured KALI) over 28K modems. It required loading a complex network stack and carefully crafting the autoexec.bat and stack loading .bat files to leave enough memory for ATF to run. I think ATF required a huge amount of conventional RAM (over 500K!!!!!!!) so it was always a struggle. Once a satisfactory arrangement was found, it was shared around and revered.

Voice chat??? HAHAHAHAH not even a dream at that point. Text Chat through KAHN shell and the in game interface, squadron meetings via IRC channel.

Sometime later, an Internet friend and I did each buy the same brand of DSVD modems so we COULD actually have voice chat when connected with ATF/NATO DOS. He lived on the West Coast and I on the East Coast, and we also played around with various phone company plans to moderate the Long Distance charges.

I remember dragging my Gateway Tower to a Falcon3 LAN party once as well, scrounging up a network card from work and struggling to load the required driver stack. Finally got connected and ended up frying my modem in the process.

Good Times!! Good Times!!

Then ATF GOLD came out with native TCP/IP connections... Roger Wilco arrived for voice comms and the whole 'game' changed radically.






Last edited by Recluse; 05/02/12 12:01 PM.

Long system spec sig follows:






PowerSpec G436
Lian Li ATX 205
MSI Z490 Plus Motherboard
Intel Core i7 10700K 3.8 GHz
32 GB RAM DDR4 1600
Nvidia RTX3070

Windows 10 Professional 64 Bit

Flight Gear:

Cougar Hotas S/N 26453
Thrustmaster RCS Rudder Pedals

#3566056 - 05/02/12 01:53 PM Re: I'm old [Re: NavyNuke99]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 926
Urban Furball Offline
Member
Urban Furball  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 926
Qld. Australia


One Flash.......and ur Ash!!
#3566059 - 05/02/12 02:16 PM Re: I'm old [Re: Desert Eagle]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,907
kilosierra Offline
Member
kilosierra  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,907
The very north of Germany
Oh yeah,

the "fun" of high-loading as much as possible to squeeze every single bit out of the main-memory, because game x needed at least 617k or something. I don`t know, how many boot-disks I had floating around.


i7 6700k @ 4,5 GHz
GTX1070
Asus Z170 Pro Gamer
16 GB RAM
500 GB Crucial CT500MX200 SSD
Toshiba DT01ACA300 HDD
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450 LED
W10 64
#3566097 - 05/02/12 03:20 PM Re: I'm old [Re: Duchess]  
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
Clydewinder Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Clydewinder  Offline
Mach 2 Infrared Orangutan
Hotshot

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 6,788
New Berlin, WI United States
Originally Posted By: joe_stallin
I remember trying to get Aces over Europe to run...

Needed a high amount of Main memory, I had so many separate boot disks. Hard to believe it's all in the past.


I had the same problem, and that was the first or second game I ever bought for PC/DOS...so AOE was the game that taught me how to juggle memory managers, mouse drivers, and CDROM drivers to get that 614K that AOE need. Even the order of loading the drivers made a difference. What a pain in the A.

at one point I called sierra/dynamix for help and they mailed me a boot disk - of course that didn't work either! LOL


Robots are stealing my luggage.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Gas prices going up
by wormfood. 05/14/21 06:52 PM
Mid-Air Collision in Denver, No Injuries
by Arthonon. 05/14/21 12:59 AM
Hey, Bitcoin, Elon doesn't like you.
by Mr_Blastman. 05/13/21 02:34 AM
I'll be damned !!
by NoFlyBoy. 05/11/21 07:13 PM
RM Jet Suit Boarding
by Red2112. 05/08/21 02:07 PM
Idiot for the day
by rwatson. 05/07/21 10:55 AM
The cost of Epic free games
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 08:28 PM
That mettalic smell you feel is actually yours !
by Blade_RJ. 05/06/21 05:15 PM
Shiny American Rocket, cheaper by the dozen
by Nixer. 05/06/21 12:48 AM
House of the Dragon
by PanzerMeyer. 05/05/21 05:45 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0